We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in the center of the city on the budget” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palas
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Banja Luka
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Staying in the center of the city on the budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel Palas is located in the very center of Banja Luka and is very easy to get around main sights in the city. Staff of the hotel is very pleasant and friendly. It is older building and rooms are furnished in that manner but they are clean and comfortable. Main reason of my stay in this hotel is its location, price of the hotel and staff of the hotel that is always welcoming and helpful. It is pleasant for short stays and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luljeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    7
    10
    8
See reviews for
3
2
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

its a good hotel with a , kind reception . English spoken .its better to choose the highest rooms . its very well placed just in the very central town Very clean . but avoid pizzeria Leonardo beside . VERY deshonnest and hostile reception

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annacoluthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

It is worth to stay in this historical hotel, in your visit to Banja Luka. Here is the capital of Republika Srspka. Through officially you are in Bosnia Herzegovina, Banja Luka is the capital of the state of Bosnian Serbs. You may stroll on the streets and find sightseeings that only a capital may offer to its visitors. Parliament, presidential house, government bulidings, national museum, and other important sites.
Situated just in city centre Hotel Palas is an opportunity to walk. Start by visiting the orthodox cathedral of Christ the Saviour. Unique is the futuristic design of the catholic cathedral, that should no way be missed. Don't miss also the city fortifications, a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

i got a room looking over the main street. room was large and very clean, good bed. as the hotel is very central, it can be loud due to many people in the evening and motorbikes on the street. but the price for this large room was really good and the people at the reception very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The few we saw of the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great - very central with several cafes along side of it. It looks as though it's been done up recently or at least the public areas have. The actual room was spacious enough (three single beds) and reasonably clean, but the bathroom was definitely past its prime! The cracked tiles in the shower and dirty grouting was off putting and it was difficult to slide the shower door shut as the plastic panels were loose and very worn.

We stayed on a Friday night and our room over looked the car park which was full of locals revving their car engines and partying until late. The disco too pounds through every floor until very late as well. I certainly didn't feel as though I'd had a good night's sleep.

The breakfast was nice enough and the service reasonably good.

I think I'd be inclined to try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: I suggest you ask for a room that doesn't over look the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

I have to say my first impression was that this was a hotel on the point of closing down - many of the facilities the guidebooks say it's supposed to have didn't seem to be working any more (e.g. no restaurant; if there was a fitness centre I have no idea where it is). Looking at it further it might just be being renovated - the other half of the same block on the street was covered with scaffolding advertising a 'Hotel Plaza' in the same design as the Hotel Palas logo.

Top floor rooms are very small indeed and you also have the low attic roof to cope with so there isn't much space to move around in. The windows had old wooden blinds which I struggled to roll down without snapping something off - in the end I just gave up - light sleepers will want to pack an eye mask. Bathroom was quite small and the grouting and shower stall probably needed to have been replaced at some point.

nb some foreign laptops may not accept the hotel wireless internet connection although I was never able to find out what the problem was. This is irritating although there's an internet cafe on the first floor of a shopping centre across the road if you get really stuck.

On the plus side you're well in the centre of town, the staff do their best to help and the rooms are very good value. I have to say I didn't notice any noise from the nearby disco at all - possibly it's closed? - or from the plumbing.

Not sure I'd stay here again though - Hotel Bosna 5 minutes' walk up the road seems to be in much better shape although does cost slightly more.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajevo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in.
The rooms are very small, beds tiny, heating almost not existing, and the water is running all night long, so it is impossible to sleep.
The only good thing about it is its location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banja Luka hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banja Luka hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jelena
Hotel Jelena
#1 of 9 in Banja Luka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Viktorija
Hotel Villa Viktorija
#2 of 9 in Banja Luka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cezar Hotel
Cezar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Banja Luka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bosna
Hotel Bosna
#4 of 9 in Banja Luka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vidovic
Hotel Vidovic
#5 of 9 in Banja Luka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Vila Vrbas
Hotel Vila Vrbas
#3 of 9 in Banja Luka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palas

Property: Hotel Palas
Address: Kralja Petra I Karadjordjevica 60, Banja Luka 78000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Republika Srpska > Banja Luka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Banja Luka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing