We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Barbque in Wisconsin ?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse

Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve breakfast and lunch and are knowen for our omelets, potato pancakes and all our smoked meats and fish
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Barbque in Wisconsin ?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Praised by my brother, the best BBQ in 400 miles, but a 5 hour motorcycle ride to find out ? I will do this trip again soon . Imagine real BBQ in WI. No sauce needed here. Everything we had was fresh. The ribs were meaty, and done just right, but what about the brisket ? The brisket is their shining star. Stack's in KC has nothing on this restaurant. And the staff were very friendly, & accommodating. I would go back just to laugh and joust with the staff. Sincerely if you are looking for the best BBQ around, head to Alma WI. and follow your nose to a great find. Pier 4 Café.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service and awesome potato pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice view of the river. Very friendly staff and a larger than expected menu selection. Potatoe cakes are worth a return trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikenMary08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgjacksonmn
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ on the river road!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Homey, culture soaked ambience and dining right on the river. Burgers and fries for the traditionalists seemed OK, but we went straight to the smokehouse specialties - Brisket and pulled pork with a basket of custom sauce choices. Simply Fabulous! And the mixed berry bread pudding - to die for - especially with a drizzle of maple syrup. I especially loved the hanging duck boat and decoys! A nice treat on the way north from Winona! And did I mention that five adults got their fill for under $50!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jgjacksonmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad burger”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Disapointed in the burger and was sick with 10 minutes of eating it. They do not give the attention to the full menu. The pork is it...if you love really strong smoke taste this is the place. Me not so much. I ordered a burger it's my way of testing a restaurant. If they make it homemade, fresh, and with love, If i enjoy and do not get sick... Its a bonus. My stomach is the test of good or bad in our family. This was bad and cramp space.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sooverit03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service , location and food!!!! So extremely friendly for our big group breakfast! We only waited 15 minutes for an outdoor seat and were greeted with smiles from all!!! What a nice change!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LocntryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing