We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great River Road Wine Tour Lodging”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Door Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Door Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Baraboo, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great River Road Wine Tour Lodging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was truly a fantastic find! Kathy made my girlfriends and I feel right at home after a long day of touring wineries. Loved the accommodations, garden, firepit, and overall ambiance. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBoldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richland Center, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Blue Door Inn was a perfect stay! We planned a weekend girlfriend getaway to attend the Great River Road Wine Trail and stayed here. Aside from the fascinating history of this building , we found the owner, Kathy to be a terrific hostess. The rooms were beautifully decorated maintaining the integrity the history of the building, the rooms were cozy and the beds were comfortable. Looking forward to planning my next stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place was absolutely amazing!!! My girlfriends and I stayed as our halfway point for the June Bloom wine tour and Kathy, the owner, was so wonderful and so hospitable. She made our trip that much more special. The beds were perfect, the rooms spotless and the kitchenette suite was a great place to gather. I would recommend The Blue Door Inn over and over again. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1punkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

WoW! We have stayed here a couple times and each time has been wonderful! The owner, Kathy is so sweet and will tell you the history of the place if you want and will leave you to quiet time if you want. We stayed in the Stone house apartment this time! It is beathtaking! The old charm of this apartment is simply amazing. So romantic we ended up playing hooking on monday and spent the night to extend our weekend. The pictures don't do it justice. Alma is such a wonderful little town and it is topped off with this great little place. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our Stay at the Blue Door Inn was from the 16th thru 19th of May, we stayed on the 2nd floor of the Inn. The Accommodations were very Clean and the Hospitality was out standing
Thank you for a great weekend, we will be coming back, Highly recommended.
Thank you Kathie

Room Tip: Both first floor and Second Floor they are both great. We loved the Atmosphere was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our stay at the Blue Door ended too soon! We had the entire main floor for the weekend and had a wonderful time. The accommodation were clean and charming and location was great (if only the train would wait until 8am to start running. Make sure you understand the front rooms can hear the trains and they are loud trains). We enjoyed the patio and watching the eagles soaring overhead. We utilized the grill and full kitchen one night. Rooms are large and Kathy has done an amazing job at restoring this property. Coffee, juice, yogurt, fresh bakery items and fruit were delivered outside the door each morning and they were tasty.

We visited Stockholm and Pepin this visit which is a must. The art and shops and Gelly's in Stockholm and Harbor View Cafe in Pepin. The weather was beautiful! It was a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corofin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Kathie was a gracious hostess. The Blue Door Inn is well appointed and is exceptionally comfortable. The bed was excellent and the room very nicely furnished, warm and inviting.
Breakfast was delivered outside the door in the morning and was quite pleasant - muffins, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and tea.
HIghly recommended!

  • Liked — The charm, comfort and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Our room was the one closest to the street and railroad tracks - if thats a bother for you, be sure to ask Kathie for a room further back in the building.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cfreeland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
20.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
25.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
21.3 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
24.7 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
20.8 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Inn

Property: Blue Door Inn
Address: 331 S Main St, Alma, WI 54610-7715
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Alma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the 19th Century & small rivertown atmosphere of Alma, Wisconsin on the Mississippi River. Blue Door Inn is housed in one of Alma's oldest buildings, circa 1853 to 1875. Bed & Breakfast providing a continental breakfast during the week and a full breakfast over the weekend. Lodging options range from a choice of suites to full apartments at the Inn. Cottage Rooms are in a separate building and offer two queen size beds and shared bath. Two 65-foot outdoor porches. Two decks. Patio with barbecue gas grill, pizza oven & fire pit. Mississippi River views and great gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing