We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South of France decor on the upper Mississippi is a bit of heaven”
Review of Hotel de Ville

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Ville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
New London, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South of France decor on the upper Mississippi is a bit of heaven”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Hotel de Ville in Alma, Wisconsin is nestled on the Main Street of a vibrant river town with a staff that offers strict privacy or open discussions of life and times on the river. This is my third stay at the hotel, and I should have written three years ago. Each experience has been completely fulfilling. A suite last year was newly decorated, as the owners have renovated several circa 1900 buildings. We thoroughly enjoyed an English garden outside our back door. This year, we stayed in the Eagle's Nest, across the street and right on the river. Yes, there are eagles. It's tough when the bedding is so luxurious you don't want to get up and look out the window!
We had oodles of options of things to do, from outdoor hiking, biking, swimming, etc . to a plethora of artisans and specialty shoppes. Fine restaurants and small town bars coexist and the food variety is welcome. Great getaway for anyone with teens or older. My teen enjoyed the DVDs available in room, and again, the bed was hard to give up in the morning! Kudos to the owners and we'll see them again soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSchneider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Our stay at the Hotel de Ville was wonderful. Jeff was an excellent host and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He upgraded our room to accommodate an older traveler and gave us great restaurant and shopping tips. The hotel building has been beautifully renovated and the garden is magnificent. We were not at all bothered by the train which runs right through the town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilkRoadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This was our second trip to the Hotel de Ville in Alma. Our third trip is coming up this April in 2010 and we cannot wait to get back!!! We were absolutely astonished at this wonderful, most comfortable place on our first trip. We stay in the Swan Suite, which is on the River/Train side of Main Street in Alma. It is so wonderful hearing and seeing both the trains and boats as they go up and down the Mississippi Valley through Alma. The owners are most gracious and have decorated the suite with the most continental of furnishings. We could live there forever, but go home to Minneapolis when our time is up, just exclaiming how wonderful it was here. On top of the beauty of Hotel de Ville (along with the Fire and Ice coffee/treat shop and the most fascinating garden this side of Europe!), there are the very interesting local attractions--including Buena Vista Park (with breathtaking views of the Mississippi Valley!), Lock and Dam No. 4, Wings Over Alma, Reick's Lake Park, Unique Staircases to explore Second Street above Main Street and the Old Alma Cemetery. You can walk to your heart's desire up and down Main Street, exploring this great old river town of Alma. Dan and Jeff, the owners, are gracious hosts in this Shangri-La place, which takes our breath away every time we visit. You must go there and spend some days and nights taking all of this in, since it is truly a great place to visit and stay. Then, you can rave about it to your friends and relatives, just like we always do!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retirement65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York - Manhattan
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2009

I flew in to meet a new client from southern Minnesota who wanted to develop property in Wisconsin. Not being the area I found this hotel and the pictures looked exquisite.

After meeting my client and checking in the host was more than helpful. He helped us with our bags, gave us recommendations for food, and the home made iced cream was to die for.

The room were immaculately designed. You feel like you are in the Ritz Paris. My client felt well looked after and enjoyed himself.

I would love to come back just for a holiday. There is a lot of great design and the hotel owners did everything themselves. As someone who works in property development, this hotel is something to pay a visit to at least for a cup of coffee if you are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pologuyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I know that one day this will be merely an amusing story that we can chuckle over, but for the foreseeable near future just call me disappointed-and were it not for the sheer ridiculousness of it all I would not be able to access my sense of humor and would simply be seething.

First of all, this is not a hotel or inn proper. It is a series of three buildings, one of which is literally feet away from speeding freight trains that blast through at all hours of the night. I would say that it was fortunate that we were housed in a building across the street, but not only was it clearly a "work in progress" (replete with paint buckets and sawed-off lumber in the halls), but it was also above their cafe/ ice cream parlor that creates a great deal of noise on the weekends and a continual aroma of espresso wafting into the rooms.

While their backyard garden is lovely (as much as I could gather from a late Autumn stay), the rooms are a mishmash hodgepodge that seem to celebrate eccentricity rather than cohesively create an authentic experience through consistency in period and design. I don't mind shared bathrooms in a small inn, but there are simply too many people sharing limited facilities, including the friends of the innkeeper who walk in and out seemingly at will. This also calls to mind the very limited security-there is not a lock to be found anywhere on the property.

My biggest gripe stems from the innkeeper himself. We arrived at 2 pm on a Friday, yet clearly "Happy Hour" had started for him far, far earlier in the day. While he was very welcoming and affable, it was clear he was quite inebriated; slurring his words, walking clumsily, etc. This might make for an amusing anecdote were it not for the fact that he and a few of his aforementioned cronies spent the evening continuing to imbibe in the backyard, which even with closed windows we could hear well into the night.

Between the lack of security , unprofessionalism and noise we decided to leave Saturday morning and switch to a national chain motel in nearby Wabasha MN for the second night of our weekend trip. But here is the punchline: The Innkeeper was nowhere to be found, we started trying to search for him at 8 am and continued until noon, with a few activities and breakfast in-between. This included multiple calls to his cell phone (apparently the only way to contact this inn). We gave up and never heard back from him, and over a month later still have yet to pay-but do not feel bad as it was a horrible experience. Alma is lovely and we may try again in the spring at a different inn or B&B.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PurpleMenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteldevillealma, Owner at Hotel de Ville, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
I have had two responses disallowed byt Trip Advisors for being, in my eyes, too informative. I am forced to stick to the scewed facts in the review. I am unable to comment on who wrote the review or why. The reviewer states that there were no locks on the doors. There is a dead bolt on the main door and an 1867 vintage key in the bedroom door. He makes reference to the lumber in the halls. I would be willing to bet that he was looking into an unfinished room on another floor of the Hotel. The reviewer says that the owner (refering to Jeff) was drunk. In the 17 blissful years we spent together prior to his death I had never seen him drunk. Finally, the Fire and Ice ice cream and coffee shop opens at 11 am. a guest would have to go around the side of the building to avoid the staff as most guests would walk through the lobby which is the shop. That he did not pay for the room he slept in speaks volumes. Every other review is glowing. I work tirelessly to run the tightest ship in the area and have been very successful in doing so. I am thrilled that the majority of our business is from guests who return often and write glowing and honest rewiews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We arrived on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. One of the owners, Jeff, offered us accomodations in their Eagle Suite. It was a lovely restored home right on the main street in town. We had gorgeous views of the river as well as the downtown area. The suite had 2 bedrooms and a huge bathroom upstairs and a living room and kitchen on the main level. We enjoyed the coffee & ice cream shop across the street "Fire & Ice" as well as the luscious European garden in the back. We had a fabulous time in Alma ~from the Mad Baker Bakery to the Red Ram Bar~ a completely relaxing weekend. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I have tried on several occassions and over a period of 2 years to contact the Owner of the Hotel DeVille, which has a lovely website and all the things that I would enjoy.. the least expensive room is $95 and we wanted 2 nights... the only way to contact them is via telephone or email.. which you leave a message in hopes they will call you back.... they NEVER have!! Too bad they dont or must not want our business, we will stay elsewhere. This is a LOVELY town!! it is quaint and full of history, shopping, entertainment, great food etc.. I would like to see this town offer a hotel downtown with their own bathrooms at a reasonable cost.. fancy isn't necessary, as you dont spend all day in your room... not in this town... it is way too nice out there exploring to stay indoors!!

Helpful?
4 Thank yearlytraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteldevillealma, Owner at Hotel de Ville, responded to this review, May 8, 2010
Jeff rarely answers his phone unless he is sitting in front of his reservation book. He and I are often busy running the Hotel de Ville, making up 13 beds and cleaning as well as operating Fire and Ice, our ice cream and coffee shop and keeping up with our garden. We do appreciate the huge amount of return business we have from our many guests who are thrilled with the great rates we are able to offer buy doing most all the work ourselves. If you do call the hotel number do leave a message and or send us an email to request a suite. Jeff will contact you, usually within 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
20.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
21.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
21.9 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
68 reviews
23.8 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
22.6 mi away
Draft Horse Inn
Draft Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Ville

Property: Hotel de Ville
Address: 305 N Main St, Alma, WI 54610-7713
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Alma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de Ville is located right in the town of Alma Wisconsin which is listed on the National Historical Register. The suites and rooms are appointed in period antiques with a french accent. They are the finest in this part of the State. Our guests love our French formal and Italianate gardens as much as they love our pillow top queen or king mattresses. All Suites have air conditioning which is not the norm in Alma. The stunning Empire Room restaurant is on site and is a destination in itself. Hotel guests are always first in line for reservations. You can enjoy a beer or cocktail on our patio. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing