We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Hospitality & the Gem of Alma”
Review of Hotel de Ville

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Ville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“True Hospitality & the Gem of Alma”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

First I want to say, Dan (owner) went above & beyond to make our stay in Alma memorable. We had planned to stay at another B&B in in town when the home proved to be less than what the web site (or reviews) stated (I'm being nice here). Earlier that day, while checking out the town, I wandered into the Fire & Ice (Ice Cream / Coffee shop). I had seen the web site and wanted to see the garden behind the building. The owner, Dan, was very friendly and encouraged me to check out the garden and answered my questions about the town. It was his friendliness and genuine warmth that led me back to the ice cream shop when our original plans failed. As my husband was looking at the map, to see how fast he could get us out of town, Dan was salvaging our trip and showing me the Hotel di Ville and the beautiful Swan Suite. It was amazing. The suite has old world elegance and charm with all the today's comforts. Its just beautiful and very comfortable! Another cool part about this Inn is that the train track runs right behind the building. We really loved being that close to the train and the river. The only thing that could be better is if there was a porch on the back of the building so we could sit out there (perhaps, with a glass of wine) and watch the train. The train noises were charming and something we really enjoyed. I did make that suggestion to Dan, so perhaps we will see that on our next visit :) . And if you do come to town; grab a few beers and dinner at the Double Barrel Bar across the street. Very nice place; great food and friendly people. Needless to say; our stay in Alma started out rough but ended up very enjoyable and I can say we will be back.

Room Tip: If you like the sounds and sites of a working river and train track stay here. If you don't lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diney521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    9
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
35
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here in wintertime and it was a such a peaceful, relaxing stay. Even though not much was going on in town at that time, we loved spending time in our spacious room, watching the eagles soar by and listening to the train. A wonderful place to decompress at a very reasonable price. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J05186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place is a gem, if you are comfortable with old, slightly shabby yet elegant, historic buildings, full of personality. If you like the standard sterile hotel chains this is not for you. The rooms are spacious and imaginatively decorated with antiques, the beds are very comfortable with lovely linens, and the views...the views! Outside to the front is the Mississippi. Outside to the back is an enchanting garden, with fountains trickling through the night. The owner, Dan, is one of a kind too - very enthusiastic, helpful, eager to please. The trains? Well I love trains, and the sound of the whistle and then the cars creaking through (sometimes at breakneck speed) was, to my mind, romantic. After the third of fourth train I barely woke up, just turning over, smiling to myself and then returning to a peaceful slumber. Enjoy it - you will never forget this place - it's more than a hotel, it's an experience! No swimming pool or fitness center. Are you kidding???

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Visited Alma with family for a birding event and stayed in the Garden Suite. This two bedroom apartment is amazing! So spacious and elegantly furnished, with lots of artful and comforting touches. The courtyard and European style gardens provide a lovely surround for this special and nurturing environment. Dan's warmth and commitment to offering a quality experience was apparent from our first contact. Try it! You'll like it:)

Room Tip: The Garden Suite lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
357 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Garden Room is an apartment. Two bedrooms, a full kitchen, living and dining rooms, an enclosed front porch and one bathroom. The back of the room overlooks the beautiful gardens. Dan has done a beautiful job with the gardens and it's worth a stop just to see them; even if you don't book a room. There's a coffee and ice cream shop under the hotel and the back doorway will take you to the gardens. Dan is very accommodating and gave us suggestions for dining. The only downside was the railroad trains across the street. They woke me up several times during the night because of the rumbling and horn blowing. I guess some people don't mind hearing trains but they are a bit too close for my comfort. If you don't mind train noise, you'll be just fine!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The rooms were spacious and gorgeous and the atmosphere was fantastic. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0adGlide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We visited the Hotel de Ville for the second time in the past year and will definitely return often. The accommodations exceed the standard hotel room in many ways. We brought friends along this time and they were very pleased with their suite. We'll recommend this lodging to everyone we know!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstaylor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
20.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
21.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
21.9 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
23.8 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
22.6 mi away
Draft Horse Inn
Draft Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Ville

Property: Hotel de Ville
Address: 305 N Main St, Alma, WI 54610-7713
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Alma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de Ville is located right in the town of Alma Wisconsin which is listed on the National Historical Register. The suites and rooms are appointed in period antiques with a french accent. They are the finest in this part of the State. Our guests love our French formal and Italianate gardens as much as they love our pillow top queen or king mattresses. All Suites have air conditioning which is not the norm in Alma. The stunning Empire Room restaurant is on site and is a destination in itself. Hotel guests are always first in line for reservations. You can enjoy a beer or cocktail on our patio. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing