We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donato Pampa tours, dirty, scary and squalid building site”
Review of River Yacuma

River Yacuma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Donato Pampa tours, dirty, scary and squalid building site”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

if you have seen the movie Deliverance.... now imagine that in construction. There was no-where to sit except our bed or the dining table, the resort was in construction. There were holes in the floor of the dining area and the walkways between the areas. to get to our room we had to walk through the dining area, and it was dirty really dirty, the floors had not seen water in years and our room was covered in Bat faeces. The beds were unmade and so we were given sheets to make our own beds. During the night the bats flew around our room and you could hear the faeces falling on the floor. We spent the first of our 2 nights huddled together under the mosquito net, with torches and insect repellant handy listening to the bats flying round our room and shitting on the net and the floor. Be aware I had paid u$d1170 for this 2 night 3 day trip. The next morning we had had enough, we moved far away from this disgusting dump.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tomrixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    33
    13
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Indigena Tours”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

As with everyone else we did a fair bit of research for the Pampas tours but settled on Indigena having had them recommended by three separate friends.

They were awesome. The lodges were basic but good and very clean. The staff were friendly and the food was amazing.

We had the best guide we've had of three recent tours (Galapagos, Ecuadorian jungle, and Pampas). Domingo was amazing. He spoke excellent English, was very good at explaining everything and pointing out all of the wildlife around us. He was great at slowing/stopping the boat when we wanted to take photos but as soon as he could see we were done he'd move on. He clearly enjoys his job and that made it an excellent experience for all of us.

The only reason I haven't given Indigena 5/5 across the board is due to the transport. Yes the roads are bad an it is difficult to be at all comfortable generally, an for me the issue wasn't so much the age of the car. My issue was that one had seats which faced inwards, rather than forwards, the seats were exceptionally uncomfortable and they can fit eight people in the back and then you have no room, nothing to hold onto and are thrown around all over the place. We were lucky to only have six of us in the back so we could hold on. I felt like i'd been in a spin dryer by the end of it.

So overall, perfect tour....just need to sort that one car!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellerS1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indigena good, but no different to the cheaper companies...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from having a great time out at the pampas. One thing we would say however is its difficult choosing a company. We went with the more expensive (900Bs) and branded company indigena which although ticking all of the boxes appear not to be worth paying double for (were offered the same itinerary though a competitor for (484Bs). All of the companies seem to have the same itinerary and basic accommodation after speaking to fellow travellers at the sunset bar you are taken to (only place for a beer on the tour but peak hour for mosquitoes!). Bring a book as although there is plenty to do there is a lot of spare time to relax. The old 4WD that ran us to Santa Rosa broke down when coming to pick us up as well, replacement vehicle was a public mini van packed fullof locals. Instead of a 3 hour wet and bumpy drive back to rurre it was a 5 hour trip after a 3 hour wait on the riverbank, there was little communication with us when this event occurred which was disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
“be careful with choosing Pampas tour companies!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent some weeks in Bolivia during this March,2013... going here and there. And in our tour to Pampas,we had a really bad experience ,especially with the company we went with. We had such a disappointing experience that I think I should have chosen another agency. We started the tour late and not as the company said (09:00am). Then, we got a poor english spoken guide and to be honest the all group thought we will have a english speaking guide as Dolphin tour ( travel=?)had promised us. In the tour the guide didn't explain or at least give us information, the guide just said words yelling such as Capybaras!!...or... Monkey!!!! pointing at the same time. unpleasant. when we came back from pampas We asked to the assitant at Dolphin's office why we didn't get a english spoken guide but she couldn't even understand what we said. I think we missed the opportunity to see a lot of wildlife and it is sad. Pampas itself was good, but we regret having hired Dolphin Travel's service!

Foreste

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank foreste u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Pampas tour with Indigena”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've given this a Very Good rating rather an an Excellent rating as we paid 900Bs and I'm not sure how different the 800Bs or even the 600Bs tours were from ours, as everyone does the same thing.
Saying that, the service we got was really good, so I would definitely recommend Indigena as a safe choice.
The lodge was basic, but clean with good mosquito nets, the food was really good (and there was so much of it), our guide Domingo was really good and the rest of the staff at the lodge were friendly too.
The journey by jeep to the river is bad regardless of the vehicle you go in due to the condition of the road, but I would say that our jeep seemed to be one of the oldest vehicles on the road (perhaps an advantage to booking with newer tour companies may be that they have newer equipment?)
We saw loads of wildlife (caimans, monkeys, storks, piranhas, anacondas etc) and our guide was very knowledgeable and made sure we could all see where the animals were.
A nice touch at the end of the tour was that we were given a necklace as a souvenir and got a glass of iced coke when we got back to the office (which was very welcome after the return jeep journey).
One bit of advice is to bring long sleeved, lightweight, light coloured clothing and loads of repellent. I didn't get bitten, but covered up well and covered myself in repellent, even under my clothes. Others had hundred of bites as there are A LOT of mosquitos, especially at dusk and when you go into the bog to look for anacondas.
And also, whilst the lodge seemed very safe there were no locks on the doors, but they could be locked with padlocks so might be worth bringing one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Yacuma also viewed

 
Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
 

Been to River Yacuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing