We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Curichal Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Safari(Rurrenabaque)
View Hotel
Hotel Oriental(Rurrenabaque)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Hotel Rurrenabaque(Rurrenabaque)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel El Ambaibo(Rurrenabaque)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
48
30
21
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
30
21
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolpub quiznice atmospherehammock areadont expectthe perfect place to stayhome away from homecold beerawesome placehot dayssimple breakfastwho caresjungle tourin townrooms are cleanboth nightsprivate room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 131 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed there for one night only before leaving for a tour in the jungles.
It's a nice place overall. There is no location which is actually bad in Rurre since it's a small town, but it's a bit far from the center.
The showers were broken and with no hot water when we were there, the restrooms were smelly and not at all clean.
The staff was pretty nice though not helpful- when we asked them which agencies they recommend/work with they weren't willing to give any answers.
The place, if I recall correctly, is a bit more pricey than others in Rurre and for the same price you can get a room in a small hotel which will generally be better.
Our room didn't offer a much needed AC.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The owners were really friendly and spoke English. There was a playstation, DVD player and a pool table and a bar area, terrace area and hammock area. The rooms were clean and the fans worked really well (and were quiet!). We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom, there are 3 shared bathrooms which was sufficient. There is no glass on the windows just mosquito nets, but our room (7) was far away from the communal areas so was quiet. Breakfast was ok, the croissants were really nice and there was bread, margarine, jam and juice. The coffee was bad and the tea was cinnamon flavoured, but there was also cocoa which made up for that. It's a 15 minute walk to the main bars and restaurants although there are shops and eateries very close to the hostel too. It was really good value for money - we paid 112Bs a night for a double room with a shared bathroom.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the quietest double room (shared bathroom) as its furthest from the communal areas.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed three days at the hostel and it was definitely one of the best experiences in hostels, the staff is very friendly and the food excellent, the breakfast is varied and fresh, the atmosphere is incredible rurrenabaque and more if you have a place like this to stay, I recommend it, but a bad thing is they are always full so you have to make reservations "important", and it is difficult to find a bed.

Room Tip: book is very important
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 194Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Clean rooms,great hammock area,really nice bar,staff very helpful what else can I say I had the best time there and I was lucky to taste the amazing croissant from the best French bakery,definitely I'll come back to this place to enjoy of the new aquatic bar soon!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleydysnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

location: 5=10min to nice bars etc.
nice bar in the hostel
nice and friendly staff
nice courtyard
Pagoda with hammocks
beds compy
water pressure could be better

forgot my ipod in the hostel. Owner sent it to my hostel in la paz by plane for free

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traffic2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews