We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here. deceptive ads. your stuff will get damaged or stolen.”
Review of Hotel El Ambaibo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Ambaibo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rurrenabaque
Reviewed November 4, 2009

the travel agency (olympia travel) in La Paz said that their information was up to date, but not so. (incidentally, this Travel Agency offered no solutions when I told them today of our unfortunate experience.) we supposedly had included in our services airport pick-up and return at completion of our stay, welcome drinks, and the Ambaibo Hotel advertises having a great Italian-French cuisine based restaurant--which is not there. Nothing proved to be true of what the Hotel Advertizes. We found that nobody picked us up on arrival nor took us back to the airport on departure, nobody offered welcome drinks, and there was no restaurant on site. Worse, we found that someone had entered our room and mishandled video cameras and left them damaged. Somebody also left a red worm (lombriz de california) near the bed one morning, which is not native of the area. The hotel owner commented that he had brought worms from another region for fishing, so we assumed it must have been his daughter who was playing with our things and leaving the worm as a strange surprise for us to find on returning from breakfast. When we approached the owner and manager about this, they offered no solutions, just said we had to check-out early when our flight was scheduled for 5pm! Avoid this place; take care of your belongings elsewhere. Best case scenario pay 20 bolivianos to use the pool, but bring a towel because they are too cheap to provide one.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pazyharmonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2008

The Swimming Pool and Hotel Ambaibo is a small hotel with a pool of 22 m. long by 10 and 15 m. wide.
The nice is the pool,that is surrounded by palm trees,there are fourteen varieties of palms Amazon in a large garden.
There are two Blue Parrots "Papagayos" and three toucans in full freedom.
The the drawback of having this open field is does there are not many rooms and these are small.
This Hotel is located in center of Rurrenabaque, and you can use only the pool, or going to eat in the restaurant Juliano´s, this restaurant with a Tunesian ! cook is a part of the Hotel Ambaibo and is a higly recommended restaurant with french and arabian cuisine.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jose Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Graphicube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Isaac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
2  Thank italianoenoruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rurrenabaque
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
#1 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal El Lobo
Hostal El Lobo
#3 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Curichal Hostel
El Curichal Hostel
#2 of 14 in Rurrenabaque
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serere Eco-Reserve
Serere Eco-Reserve
#1 of 14 in Rurrenabaque
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalalan Ecolodge
Chalalan Ecolodge
#3 of 5 in Madidi National Park
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Colina Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ambaibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ambaibo

Address: Av. Santa Cruz | Rurrenabaque-Beni-Bolivia, Rurrenabaque, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Beni Department > Rurrenabaque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rurrenabaque
Price Range: $65 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Ambaibo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambaibo Backpacker Hostel has every comfort for travelers who like to experience an adventure in the jungle of Bolivia - Rurrenabaque and return to the comfort of a pool.You can take some delicious exotic drinks. Take a few moments at the bar and enjoy the delicious Mexican food, unique in Rurrenabaque. Having a wifi fast service to communicate with your friends and show your photos.Meet new people and spend unforgettable moments. Reminding the tours and adventures lived.We offer:- Swimming Pool- Exotic Garden with Birds- Restaurant- 2 Bars- Grill Station- Wifi InternetBreakfast included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel El Ambaibo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing