We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hangin' with Tuk in the Jungle - Great Experience!”
Review of Hotel El Ambaibo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Ambaibo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rurrenabaque
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A very fun backpacker hostel in the jungle with a friendly Toucan, who serves as a mascot and wanders around the property. Staff was very helpful and pool is by far the top feature at this hostel. Room was a bit dated but comfortable enough. Price point is reasonable, especially with pool features. Would return to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ward13ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 36 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

amazing pool, amazing rooms incredible new sheets, amazing outside bar, amazing garden, incredible friendly staff, the breakfast was great!! OMG the beds!!!!!!!! just amazing, and ofcourse TUKI!!! THE TUKAN :)
I want to come back soon
the best experience in my trip, the hole lux of a five stars in a backpacker price!!!!!
congrats

Room Tip: just ask for ambaibo backpackers Hotel in rurrenabaque beni
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharyty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

First you the notice is the swimming pool, it is huge for a place with only 5 rooms. Hotel is more expensive than average backpacker place but we thought we would pay extra for the pool, it was very relaxing after coming back from the pampas tour. The rooms are basic, with a poor shower & poor lighting (needed a torch) but they are clean. The wifi only exists in the lobby area. When it comes to the staff, found opposite extremes, some really helpful whilst others totally unhelpful. This hotel could be so much better but personally I would stay somewhere cheaper & pay to use the pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms, the one at the end seems the biggest & most comfortable for 3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canarytraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaibo, Owner at Hotel El Ambaibo, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

The hotel has now a complete new management and staff. We could already improve a lot of the former problems. Thanks for critic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose to splash out and stay this hotel after completing our pampas tour. We were drawn in by the advertisement for fast wifi and the luscious pool. We were wrong.. Although the pool was refreshing the Internet hardly existed! Our room was basic with a shower that only dribbled at the best of times. Staff appeared disinterested and unhelpful. For a hotel of this price we were very disappointed!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaibo, Owner at Hotel El Ambaibo, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

The hotel has now a complete new management and staff. We could already improve a lot of the former problems. Thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Cons: The bedroom was fairly run down. The sheets were thin, the towels had seen better days.
Pros: Clean and quiet at night. The pool entirely made up for whatever the bedroom was lacking. Hot shower.

My husband and I prolonged our trips to spend 2 days splashing in the pool. A few days in cold La Paz, then eaten by mosquitos in the jungle - it was extremely pleasant to arrive at this hotel and enjoy the cool water and relax in the sun.

Only the rooms on one side of the pool seemed to be in use. The other side had no front walls, and we got the impression that they were doing construction work of some sort (remodelling perhaps?). The restaurant was not open for dinner, but we did enjoy a nice breakfast. On our day of departure we had to leave before breakfast, but the hotel was nice and prepared a bag with some juice, fruit, crackers and yoghurt that we could have at the airport.

We had good service, and enjoyed our stay here - and highly recommend the pool :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakaduen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

the travel agency (olympia travel) in La Paz said that their information was up to date, but not so. (incidentally, this Travel Agency offered no solutions when I told them today of our unfortunate experience.) we supposedly had included in our services airport pick-up and return at completion of our stay, welcome drinks, and the Ambaibo Hotel advertises having a great Italian-French cuisine based restaurant--which is not there. Nothing proved to be true of what the Hotel Advertizes. We found that nobody picked us up on arrival nor took us back to the airport on departure, nobody offered welcome drinks, and there was no restaurant on site. Worse, we found that someone had entered our room and mishandled video cameras and left them damaged. Somebody also left a red worm (lombriz de california) near the bed one morning, which is not native of the area. The hotel owner commented that he had brought worms from another region for fishing, so we assumed it must have been his daughter who was playing with our things and leaving the worm as a strange surprise for us to find on returning from breakfast. When we approached the owner and manager about this, they offered no solutions, just said we had to check-out early when our flight was scheduled for 5pm! Avoid this place; take care of your belongings elsewhere. Best case scenario pay 20 bolivianos to use the pool, but bring a towel because they are too cheap to provide one.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pazyharmonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

The Swimming Pool and Hotel Ambaibo is a small hotel with a pool of 22 m. long by 10 and 15 m. wide.
The nice is the pool,that is surrounded by palm trees,there are fourteen varieties of palms Amazon in a large garden.
There are two Blue Parrots "Papagayos" and three toucans in full freedom.
The the drawback of having this open field is does there are not many rooms and these are small.
This Hotel is located in center of Rurrenabaque, and you can use only the pool, or going to eat in the restaurant Juliano´s, this restaurant with a Tunesian ! cook is a part of the Hotel Ambaibo and is a higly recommended restaurant with french and arabian cuisine.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rurrenabaque
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
#1 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Curichal Hostel
El Curichal Hostel
#2 of 14 in Rurrenabaque
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal El Lobo
Hostal El Lobo
#3 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Serere Eco-Reserve
Serere Eco-Reserve
#1 of 14 in Rurrenabaque
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalalan Ecolodge
Chalalan Ecolodge
#3 of 5 in Madidi National Park
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ambaibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ambaibo

Address: Av. Santa Cruz | Rurrenabaque-Beni-Bolivia, Rurrenabaque, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Beni Department > Rurrenabaque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rurrenabaque
Price Range: $65 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Ambaibo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambaibo Backpacker Hostel has every comfort for travelers who like to experience an adventure in the jungle of Bolivia - Rurrenabaque and return to the comfort of a pool.You can take some delicious exotic drinks. Take a few moments at the bar and enjoy the delicious Mexican food, unique in Rurrenabaque. Having a wifi fast service to communicate with your friends and show your photos.Meet new people and spend unforgettable moments. Reminding the tours and adventures lived.We offer:- Swimming Pool- Exotic Garden with Birds- Restaurant- 2 Bars- Grill Station- Wifi InternetBreakfast included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel El Ambaibo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing