We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding view but needs some work”
Review of Hostal Intikala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla del Sol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Intikala
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after hiking from the north side of Isla del Sol. The email communication was prompt-although I don't think advanced booking is necessary here or anywhere on the south side. The room key situation was interesting with just a pad lock securing our room. The place seemed like it was in repair and our room could have used a coat of paint and some new floors. The cleanliness was decent although not overly clean, a few dead flies here and there. There was no mirror in the bathroom but that wasn't a big deal. Breakfast was average. On the plus side, our hostess was very friendly and the views were outstanding! Make sure you have US cash because that's all she accepts.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Quinoacurrybowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 74 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

The views from the deck and balcony are superb and I found the rooms to be totally adequate. Beds were comfy and the hot shower was a blessing. True the door to the bathroom didn't quite close but no big deal.

The included breakfast was more than sufficient and better than most hostels.

Only complaint is that I thought it was a little overpriced, at 80B's

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The view was simply gorgeous. The place seems to be under construction or something (?). The room was adequate, but really lacking in furniture - no closet/hooks/coat racks/towel racks or furniture other than bed and bedside tables. We had a tour guide who handled the formalities for us, so we can't actually speak to the attitude of the staff, except to say that they were willing to give us glasses to take to the room for our wine. There is a charming little girl who enjoyed interacting with the guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSetATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have spend two night on this wonderful island, one night at Inti Kala, unfortunately they were booked out for my second night. but they helped me to find another hostal.
I have enjoyed the sunset from their massive deck and the view on the lake is just undescribable.
The rooms are spacious with private bathrooms, couloured in warm orange and very clean. I can highly recommand this hostal! Guides seem to stay here also with their guests, I eperienced them to be very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zauberberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Inti Kala is rated in the Lonely Planet as one of the better "mid range" options, but sadly I feel that's long out of date. In 2009 perhaps this was one of the few hotels with a nice view, and the building was in better shape, but since then dozens of newer places have popped up while Inti Kala has literally been crumbling.

To be fair, there is a lovely view from the terraces that run along the western side of the building. We had a happy hour or so sitting on the terrace with a beer watching the sun set.

But other than the view, the place is not nice.

For a start it's really run down. Peeling paint, mold, broken light fittings, rickety beds, stained bedding and rough old towels. The bathroom door would only open half way before jamming, and the latch wouldn't hold it closed. Luckily there are various bits of timber, bricks, tiles etc lying around, so I easily found a rusty nail to hold the bathroom door shut. I really hope this building rubble is because they're doing some repair work as the place is just falling apart.

Security is also a concern - we looked at several rooms and didn't see a single one where you could lock the doors from the inside. The downstairs rooms only seem to have one door, which is secured by a padlock from the outside. With the upstairs room we ended up taking, you could lock the internal door into the hotel, but the door to the terrace wouldn't stay closed by itself and had no lock. We were provided with a tree stump to hold the door shut and discourage intruders.

The "hot" water just isn't hot. The little South American electric showerheads simply don't have the power to heat water that's been stored outdoors in near freezing temperatures (this is true of almost every hotel on the island - if you value hot water look for solar/gas).

The food in the restaurant was OK (the usual bread & jam breakfast, dinner is a local set menu with a choice of chicken, meat or omlette), but I suspect the bread we were given for breakfast was leftovers from the people before us, and we finished most of our breakfast before clean cups were brought out for coffee.

At the heart of it, the hotel's issues seem to boil down to the fact that the staff simply don't seem to care. Their attitude to us ranged from indifferent to rude, and you really get the impression they just don't like running a hotel. Everything we asked (i.e. checking in, dinner, an extra blanket, breakfast, checking out) appeared to be an inconvenience to them. It's no wonder the place is falling down as I can't imagine these staff lifting a finger to maintain it.

Don't waste your money. Stay elsewhere for half the price, and if you want to check out the view then eat dinner at one of the nearby restaurants with an almost identical view (or simply wander in and sit on the terrace, the staff wouldn't notice).

Room Tip: If you must stay here, insist on one of the upper level rooms with a door leading out to the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviiidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Not sure what positive reviewers liked about this place, unless it was the view. No water and no power for most of our one night stay, and a staff that was desultory and even nasty at times.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I tried to book this place through www.boliviatravelsite.com for new year's eve 2011-2012.

The travel agent booked the place and I paid via Paypal on Nov 12. One week later, we were contacted by the travel agent because the administrator had decided that he was going to host a party during new year's eve and hence, WE WERE INCREASED THE PRICE PER ROOM, AFTER HAVING PAID AND SECURE THE BOOKING.

As this didn't make sense, I cancelled the reservation and went to Phalla Khasa where we were robbed 120 USD in the rooms.

Bad experience at Isla del Sol. In general, my experience and that from all the tourists we came across was that you are never certain on how much you are going to spend at the island.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank Aivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla del Sol
9.8 mi away
Las Olas
Las Olas
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
533 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel La Cupula
Hotel La Cupula
#2 of 13 in Copacabana
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecolodge La Estancia
Ecolodge La Estancia
#1 of 20 in Isla del Sol
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Tawri
Hostal Tawri
#1 of 2 in Comunidad Yumani
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de la Luna
Casa de la Luna
#4 of 20 in Isla del Sol
58 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Wara Uta
Hostal Wara Uta
#5 of 20 in Isla del Sol
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Intikala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Intikala

Address: Yumani, Isla del Sol, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Isla del Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Isla del Sol
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing