We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake view // super friendly family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla del Sol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palla Khasa Ecological Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Isla del Sol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake view // super friendly family”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We hiked from north to south and right before getting to the village at the southern tipp we found this cute place. We stayed in one of their cabins, which are newly constructed (not all paved yet) and have superb views of the sunset (didnt know they are recommended in LP)

Food in their restaurant was excellent - best trout on our trip (better than in the famous places in copacabana).

Super cool: the family running the place (which is actually a farm!) are super nice. They offered us to take their private boat back to copacabana (they chartered it to transport stuff). It was a speedboat costed 5 soles more than the normal ferry but was much faster. Nice deal :-) So we ended up going with one of the ladys of the family back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    83
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
137
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is about the farthest from your arrival point as you can get (there are several places to stay within 10 minutes of the dock). So plan on about a 45 minute (straight!) uphill walk to get there, but that being said, it is the perfect place to start walking the loop around the island! The food is excellent, our room was only o.k... bad lighting and no heat.. it rained alot so the grounds were a little muddy, as some landscaping is still needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyrxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The 20 min walking from Yumani are super wort it. Peaceful place with a lovely view over the lake from the room and the restaurant ( best trout fish of our trip). Very nice and friendly staff, we wished to have spent more then 1 night! The room was big , well decorated with hot shower!
Maybe it's not the cheapest place in the isla del sol but it is definitely worth the money!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alwaysdiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were there just for one night and we enjoyed it, the view from the hotel is amazing. Despite of the staff is very friendly, they charge you for everything, even when I asked for hot water for our "argentinian mate" I had to pay 10 bolivianos and it's just hot water, they could give this for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VERPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Palla Khasa has a great view of lake titicaca - but to be honest most places on the island have a great view. The cost is not worth it as the service is definitely below par. There are many many other options on the island that are substantially cheaper. We went there for NYE and were told that there would be a NYE dinner for $95US which we gareed to. I thought this was including accomodation & for both of us. It wasn't. And on an island where the average meal costs $5US it was a total rort. So we asked to miss the dinner & just stay in the hotel. They then told us the accomodation costs would be double. So we looked for alternatives & asked them to let us check out. They then told us that as we hadn't given 3 days notice we would have to pay 50% of the accom & dinner. This had never been mentioned previously & is not the norm. We'd given 24hrs notice & said that we would be happy to pay the 10% you normally pay in the event of a cancellation. No deal. We ended up staying, paying the double price for the accom & missing the party. The cost of $45USD a night was supposed to include a 'grande desayuno' - we only got something resembling that on the last day. I have no idea why we didn't get the same food on our other days. The biggest problem occured on our last night there, they brought us hot water bottles because it was bitterly cold. Except the hot water bottles must have been old because mine burst, all over my legs the mattress & blankets soaked. When I told the staff & showed them the bottle they mumbled sorry & that was it. I was amazed. I slept in my sleeping bag on top of a wet mattress. I could've been badly burnt & they just didn't care. The guy then proceeded to haggle with me over the exchange rate when settling up. All up I really wouldn't bother with this place. The view is good but the service was terrible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

In order to spend a special New Years we were happy when this hotel confirmed on the phone that we could get the last room for their special New Years night offer. 45 USD per person was the price we booked the room for. When we arrived at the hotel (after the last ferry left the isla del sol) suddenly the price was 90 USD per person. After we managed to negotiate the price down to 60 USD we were looking forward to the "special event" the hotel promised. Unfortunately the promises could not live up to reality we even felt lied to in several aspects. 25+ people said the hotel manager would come at night - 7 were there and we had the feeling that we did not get the last room and the hotel was not fully booked (against what the owner told us before). The promised all inclu buffet at night and in the morning turned out to be very basic food and we had to pay for water, wine and soft drinks. Overall a very disappointing experience and we would not recommend this hotel to anybody as the owners play their own kind of game.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad bolivia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here in January and thoroughly enjoyed it. The view is breathtaking, the staff so friendly and helpful. We loved the food, the fires at night and the tea outside in the afternoons. We stayed 4 nights and were sad to leave. Hiked around the island in the day and relaxed at night over good food and cards. Really worth hiking that little extra distance when you first arrive!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla del Sol
10.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
566 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecolodge La Estancia
Ecolodge La Estancia
#1 of 19 in Isla del Sol
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Del Sol
Hostal Del Sol
#4 of 4 in Isla del Sol
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de la Luna
Casa de la Luna
#4 of 19 in Isla del Sol
52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Jacha Inti
Hostal Jacha Inti
#7 of 19 in Isla del Sol
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palla Khasa Ecological Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palla Khasa Ecological Hotel

Property: Palla Khasa Ecological Hotel
Address: Isla Del Sol Parte Sur | Yumani Camino Norte, Isla del Sol, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Isla del Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Isla del Sol
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing