We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t expect to receive what they promise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Selva Resort - Yungas
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coroico
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I went there with my family to enjoy a relaxing long weekend all together, but it only got worse and worse. When we arrived, first we discover that the 'studio' wasn't clean and doors couldn't be close, the beds were old, following, we received the new that swimming pool wasn't warmed up and it was cold to jump in the open ones. At night, the hotel had a reservation for 300 additional people and had no more than 15 people (in total at the hotel). So, we had to wait for 1 hour to have breakfasts, lunches and dinners. On the top of that some people jump into the swimming pools without proper clothes. Everything was too full and definitely far from relaxing. For two consecutive days, we didn't have warm water to have a shower.

I won't recommend the hotel if you expect a high quality service and facilities (for which you pay as a resort) but go if you want an average service

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Henrylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Rio Selva Resort - Yungas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

The room was very clean The staff was great and they provided us with excellent service.
We enjoyed our stay and I am considering staying again in the very near future .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miketrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Had the pleasure to stay twice at Rio Selva Resort twice, with a year in between. First time as a honeymoon trip, second time with additional family members.

Rio Selva has done an excellent job with the surroundings, the garden area and pool-areas are really nice and perfect for relaxation. And the natural surroundings with the green mountain side and the monotone noise from the river, simply turn on the relax-gene for me, who normally have a very busy every-day. The location for this resort is unique.

Most rooms are really nice and clean. Yes, the rooms at the river are the nicer and the sound from the river is better than any sleeping pill for me.

The food and service at Rio Selva is OK. Not top notch and not a catastrophe. You can get the help and service you need, but you should not expect 5-star service level. But if you talk nicely with a positive attitude to the staff, you will get smiles and help. Mobile phone coverage and internet is close to non-existing, which is perfect for me, since I then have the perfect excuse to be un-available.

The couple of times, I have stayed at Rio Selva Resort, have been memorable and pleasurable, and it has something, I have not found elsewhere. And I am a very frequent traveller of the whole world. I love staying there, and I am looking so much forward to going there again, hopefully later this year. I can definitely recommend Rio Selva Resort at The Yungas.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flenser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I believe that when we stayed at the hotel, the service offered (for a named "resort") was not that good. I went with friends for a nice stay, bit disappointing. The gardens and so on are really nice and the place gives you the nice experience of a "jungle", but most of the things in the hotel were not available. Like the hydromasage and the bar at the outdoor swimpool were not possible to use and nobody wanted to make it available. The worst was when we tryed to get the sauna at the in door swimpool. It was sucha a struggle! We had to complain many many times until we could get it on, the personal was really unfriendly and a bit rude.
The cottage and so on was clean and the lunch and breakfast were really good. The place is good, difficult to get if you don't have a car. I am not sure if I would get back there to spend the night, maybe only for lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girltraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Let me begin by saying that we live in La Paz and have stayed at Rio Selva resort several times previously with generally positive experiences. This most recent stay, however, was a disaster.

We should have seen the writing on the wall when on arrival there were no smiles in reception, barely a simple "hola". The registration slip was simply thrust into my hands across the desk. Once completed, we had to ask several times for the employees to help us with our bags to the room. They just didn't get it. And, then the fun really began. We had reserved a corner unit (Studio 4) with a balcony overlooking the river. Instead, they tried to put us in the room opposite that room, across a breezeway, which looked back at the reception area. Only after being a bit aggressive back at the reception desk, they "agreed" to give us Studio 2, also on the river, but not with the more desirable corner location. (We had reserved two nights and the next night we were transferred into 4.)

From there it was pretty much downhill. Out in the pool area each afternoon, we actually had to go looking for someone to serve us beverages. (By the way, the hotel was at about 10% or less occupancy... I think I know now why...) Then, we had to go to the front desk to ask for someone to meet us at the towel room. When he finally arrived, I asked for a couple of towels at the doorway. He motioned to me to go around to the window to ask for a towel and wouldn't even look at me otherwise. It was like a Saturday Night Live skit.. Also, the sales office in La Paz had assured me wi-fi was available in reception, but on arrival I was told a parrot had chewed through the cable and that I would have to pay to use the lobby computers at $2/hour -- high rates for Bolivia, but more importantly, I would be unable to complete any online work I'd brought with me on my laptop. (Much to my wife's delight!)

The service was pretty much like this the entire time we were there... it was if the staff were avoiding us. And that included the manager who only made eye contact with us once or twice, and not once uttered a word. He spent most of his time walking around self-importantly or hunched over another plate of food. In fact, at check out, he was no where to be seen as I calmly read a litany of complaints to the reception clerk. Even when I told the clerk I would be posting this negative review, all he could do is shrug.

One of the employees did confide to me that the staff was generally unhappy since the arrival of the current manager last September. That coincides with the time of our last stay when things were somewhat normal service-wise.

So, if you are considering a visit to the beautiful Yungas, consider a hotel in Coroico or Chulumani. Not as fancy, perhaps, as Rio Selva Resort, but for those of you who prefer being treated like a guest rather than as an inmate, it would be a better choice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank imoretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Not to be visited if you expect to sleep at all. We were two families, 4 adults and 6 children ages 7 to 12 staying September 14 and 15th of September, 2007 in two Departmentos. We paid U.S.150 per night per Department which included Buffett meals. Juice was include, pop was doulbe price. The capacity of the Resort is approximately 300 people and has many functions as a family Resort including day care, special children pools and play areas. On Friday night some 150 people arrived from Entel [ the Privatized Government telephone company who had a sort of survivor game / challenge seminar including teams with police whistles. Our Departmentos looked directly onto [less than 50 feet away] their activies and main pool complex. No other rooms were available to move to as all was full and we had prepaid at their office in LaPaz. Part of their seminar was no sleep was allowed, so they had the whole Resort turned up to the maximum for raucous music. Complaints to the hotel got the response that this was part of their program. Seems the people operating as employees were extremly great but that the owners / managers are after something different than a Resort. There are more than 4 meeting rooms each with a capacity of 200 to 400, there are not less than 8 bars located through out. New construction is going on adding an eight story Timeshare complex of probably some 120 additional suites. You cannot enter the grounds with your vehicle and cannot bring any liquids for your use iusing their fridge. All items are 100 to 200% marked up.
Food was good to great [except for for inedible trout on Friday] Desserts were outstanding. Only white wines were a Bolivian and Italian poor quality plonk and not cold unless left in ice for an hour.
This Resort has obviously very recently changed hands / management. It is a very nice Resort and the employees were fantastic. Donot stay here because they have a different agenda than you might expect. Nobody in our party slept and then you have kids who did not holiday because of no sleep. The Resort is sandwiched between the River and the Mountain slope so it is laid out on a very narrow strip. I have travelled around the world and have completely circumnavigated it 9by Air0 this is by far the most insane operation for an expensive Resort that has so much going for it. I visited Coroico some 12 years ago and little has changed with but a little more congestion on the narrow streets.. The new highway does not go directly thru Coiroco and bypasses it basically, you have to take a Deviso indeed to go there (whereas the Carretra Antigua or "Death Road" went directly thru Coiroco 12 years ago)

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Crazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
14  Thank Cecilia Cristin... Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coroico
5.0 mi away
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#4 of 4 in Coroico
87 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel El Viejo Molino
Hotel El Viejo Molino
#1 of 4 in Coroico
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rio Selva Aranjuez
Hotel Rio Selva Aranjuez
#33 of 78 in La Paz
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Saracena
Villa Saracena
#1 of 3 in Coroico
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
EL Encanto Sorata
EL Encanto Sorata
#1 of 3 in Sorata
3 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Bonita Coroico
Villa Bonita Coroico
#2 of 17 in Coroico
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Selva Resort - Yungas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Selva Resort - Yungas

Address: Huarinilla Nor Yungas, Coroico 9999, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Coroico
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coroico
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Selva Resort - Yungas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Selva Hotel Coroico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing