We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very cosy and welcoming guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Florian Shkodra Guesthouse and Hostel
Ranked #1 of 29 Shkoder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
“very cosy and welcoming guesthouse”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

florians place is great! you will stay in one compound with the family and the other guests, making your stay a very memorable and familiar experience! we all had dinner together, which was prepared by the family only using self-grown ingredients. we played with all the animals and strolled around in the gardens! we only had time for a one night stay in shkodra, but i recommend taking your time and spend a couple of days to relax :)
highliy recommended for couples/families or small groups!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenni1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    53
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
66
73
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Florian and his guesthouse are amazing! you stay in the countryside with a real Albanian family. Food is included so you can try the local favorites and its all locally grown, delicious and vegetarian, even home-made wine! Florian is more than willing to show you around shkoder and arrange travel and accommodation in beautiful nearby Theth. I would definitely recomend this guesthouse to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Actually, I come to Shkodra just for to transfer from Albania to Montenegro.
And when I arrived, it rained heavily....
But everything became amazing and wonderful when I was in Florian Guesthouse!
The owner and his family members are friendly and nice. They prepare real Albanian food and everything is homemade make me feel really amazing. Everyone ate together so that you can experience the real Albanian life. Because of the trip schedule, I stay only one night here. But trust me, this is the best experience what I have in Albania! I think if you stay more longer, you will not only love the guest house and also all the things in Shkodra. Shkodra is worth you to stay long time. Beautiful countryside,breathtaking lake... This guest house is very very special than others. Talk more will not be better that you come yourself and enjoy it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann191283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Florian Shkodra Guesthouse was, as all the other reviews have pointed out, a great place to stay.
I stayed there for about two days in late June / early July of 2012, after which I went a little over the border to visit and stay in the Montenegrin beach-resort town of Ulcinj (where most of the people actually are ethnically Albanian) for about 1.5 days. After my thoroughly pleasant jaunt to Ulcinj, I came back to stay at the Guesthouse for another 24 hours or so.
The Guesthouse was great -- the price was reasonable, the food was good and plentiful, the accommodations were decent and the hosts -- Florian and his family -- were really nice and interesting to talk to. Florian deals the most with the tourists, as he is apparently the only one who knows English (though I spoke to him fairly extensively in my intermediate-level Albanian) and, in short, I had a great time there. The other members of his family constantly wanted to feed me :-)
Perhaps my favorite thing about staying there was that included in the price (I think around 18 - 20 USD in local money) was the opportunity to take one of the bicycles in the Guesthouse's very pretty vineyard-style courtyard and go for long afternoon rides into the city, where I did a lot of exploring and took zillions of photos.
The other couple of guests who I encountered there were generally cool (Florian arranged with us the time that we'd have a common and sumptuous dinner) and Florian was genuinely a nice and interesting guy more than willing to offer you his (well-informed) opinions on his city, country and the larger world around us.
On top of all of this, the accommodations were, as I already mentioned, quite good, with an excellent wi-fi connection and nice, spacious rooms with comfortable beds, cable TV and clean bathrooms which had well-functioning modern toilets and showers with lots of hot water.
I lived in Tirana (the capital of Albania) more-or-less continuously from late August of 2011 through early July of 2012, and I can say that I liked Shkoder (and other cities like Berat, Korce, Pogradec and Sarande) more than Tirana. I will probably return to Albania around May of this year and, if I do, I will definitely head off to Shkoder (not more than 2.5 hours away from Tirana) and stay with Florian and his family at their guesthouse again.
This place is not to be missed !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77AJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Florians during my walking trip through Albania and it is the guesthouse embodiment of Albanian hospitality.Hidden behind a metal gate and a painted sign on the wall of a lost backstreet is the oasis of Florians' family house and garden. I spent 2 really relaxing days enjoying the peace and quiet of the garden and it's grape-vine ceiling. In the daytime his mother and father are making homemade wine and raki from the grapes and in the evening I was treated to homegrown and freshly cooked dinner and the chance to sample the wine. All the time hearing fascinating stories about Albania's history, people and troubles. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling nearby. A lovely haven from which to explore the vibrant and wonderfully chaotic city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was there in April 2012 for two nights. A very warm and cordial atmosphere. Florian, the ownwee, was very helpful, showed and explained my everything I wanted to know. I spend the mornings and evenings in the living room with his family. We had dbreakfast and dinner together. The most food (vegetables, meat and eggs) was from the family´s garden itself ore their animals. Even the bread was made by them. It was the only time I spend together with a real Albanian family in theier home. I felt very taken care by them. Thank you. If I go to Albania again, I would highly recommend Florians guesthouse to all who are in Skoder.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a really unique place to stay. Pretty much everything they cook is grown in their own garden, and the family are really welcoming. We watched them producing home-made grappa and they even cooked a whole lamb on a rotating spit. I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants to see the 'real' Albania - and Florian is really knowledgable about the area as well as the history of Albania. Hopefully I'll make it back to Shkodra some day!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shkoder hotels
4.1 mi away
Hostel Shkodra Lake KM Zero
2.2 mi away
Hotel Colosseo
Hotel Colosseo
#1 of 7 in Shkoder
114 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#3 of 7 in Shkoder
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk
3.7 mi away
Lake Shkodra Resort
Lake Shkodra Resort
#1 of 37 in Shkoder
133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#4 of 29 in Shkoder
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florian Shkodra Guesthouse and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florian Shkodra Guesthouse and Hostel

Property: Florian Shkodra Guesthouse and Hostel
Address: Reparti Ushtarak, Shkoder, Albania
Location: Albania > Shkoder County > Shkoder
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Shkoder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse and hostel is located in amidst orchards and vineyards but only 2km from the centre of Shkoder. Florian and his family will make you welcome during your stay. Lunch and dinner are offered; Albanian cuisine from locally grown produce. On request, we offer tourist walks with horse or we can show tourists the nearby mountains, rivers, lakes, sea and museums, castles, different historical places in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Florian Shkodra Guesthouse and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing