We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk
Ranked #2 of 29 Shkoder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Someren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Really nice (looking) hotel near to the center of Shkoder. Very friendly personnel. They were very helpfull in arranging trips nearby Shkoder and the linguistic skills of the owner are incredible. You feel like being in a museum, but that doesn't bother you of having a nice and clean room and eating in a very nice, traditional restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdalfawaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    78
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
95
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I spent 2 days and one overnight in the Resort, being positively surprised with its uniqueness and location, at the central part of Shkodra city in Albania. At the entrance of the Museum Hotel, I met the owner, Mr. Gjergj and her charming and very polite lady, Manager of the Resort. As a very busy businessman, the first thing I asked was if they have internet access. Fortunately I learned immediately that the internet access covered the whole Resort. Normally, at the further stage of my first "survey" was to check their rooms and to tell you frankly I was impressed with the authenticity and comfort in their rooms. After the booking, sitting on their veranda, I felt hungry and wanted to ask for their menu. Immediately, besides the garcon, the owner appeared and proposed a set of freshly prepared traditional food. Besides the excellent service and hospitality, I loved their food, starting with the hot starter, in olive oil baked cows cheese, following with fresh mixed salad and main dish, a mixture of fresh baked beef meet with mixed vegetables. At the evening I joined a special dinner with my VIP guest from USA, and both of us could not stop enjoying a wonderful atmosphere and excellent service. In the next day, the early morning after the good breakfast, the marvelous lady, Manager of the Resort offered us a fresh Shkodra Macchiato, with her charming kindness. We paid the bill, being completely satisfied with the ratio value-for-money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zekë Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you find yourself in northern Albania, plan a stop at the Hotel Tradita. This establishment, built as a restoration of a home established in the 1600s, is unique to most hotels (if not all) in the region. The restaurant has been in operation for some time from what I understand, the hotel portion is relatively new. The owners handle most everything themselves. I was welcomed with a nice bowl of grapes and fresh figs (the fig tree is on the property) upon arrival. The room I had lacked AC but a fan was provided which helped. The amenities in the room are quite basic, and the TV was not working (but there had been a power cut so that might have impacted the TV system). I ate both dinner and breakfast there and enjoyed the traditional food and wine for the evening meal and the fresh fruit preserves at breakfast. This establishment deserves the support of travelers so that this kind of business can grow and flourish in Albania as it opens up to more travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLadyOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The building is a restored traditional house typical of the North of Albania. It houses a collection of tools, everyday objects and costumes from the region, which itself makes a visit worthwhile. The food is also traditional; the meat comes from a huge open barbecue. The place has a small number of rooms which are large and comfortable, although somewhat basic. The owner and the staff are all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huemul_Suizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monemvasia, Greece
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Gjon welcomed us to the Tradita on a rainy day in April. We had a little trouble finding the place, but the tourist information office in the central square of Shkoder offered directions, and the local traffic cops gave final directions to the place. The house is a beautiful traditional Ottoman family complex. Gjon is a woodworker and all-around craftsman, and when we arrived he was working on an antique door. He has a passion for Albanian history, and his hotel reflects that in the decor of the rooms, the public spaces, and especially the restaurant. Some examples of traditional dress are displayed in the main building, which is as much museum as hotel lobby and old photographs and antques line tha walls. Our room was of a modest size, with a big bed, even a small table and chairs, a dressing table and wardrobe. Everything about the place feels homey and old fashioned. The food in the restaurant was some of the best we had in Albania. Everything is cooked over an open fire, even the large sheets of pita-like bread. Breakfast was delicious fresh bread with homemade fig jam and butter, with very delicious fresh coffee. The wait staff were very friendly and helpful. The local wine was superb. The room rate was very reasonable. I can't imagine a better hotel for northern Albania. Congratualtions to Gjon Gila and family!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Convinced by my internet research I spent some days in the nicely designed, centrally located hotel Tradita. It is furnished in very rustic style , with split-level spacious rooms that are very quiet, since the restaurant and cafeteria are situated in different buildings.There are often concerts or celebrations in the evening with local musicians and the owner has collected very interesting objects of local history and culture. The only setback for me was that the rooms are not suited for staying in cold weather.So , all in all , a very recommendable stay for summer vacations

Room Tip: all the rooms look nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadhitter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

the worst hotel i have been, untreated , rude officiels , the lamp in my room did nor work after i complained 3 times then came and changed the light bulb. In the evening i ask the night . kl. 01.30 i asked the night watchman for an cold beer, he said he is busy, when i went out and looked through window he looked the porn movie on internett, therfor he was busy, after 30-40 minutes he came with an unopened bottle of beer was lukewarm. Next time i will not stay there for free.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dardaneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shkoder hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colosseo
Hotel Colosseo
#1 of 7 in Shkoder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#3 of 7 in Shkoder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#4 of 29 in Shkoder
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Red Bricks Hotel
The Red Bricks Hotel
#3 of 29 in Shkoder
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florian Shkodra Guesthouse and Hostel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kaduku
Hotel Kaduku
#5 of 29 in Shkoder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk

Property: Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk
Address: Street. Edit Durham No. 4 | street. Edit Durham No.4, Shkoder 4001, Albania
Location: Albania > Shkoder County > Shkoder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Shkoder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradita Geg & Tosk Hotel and Restaurant, is located in Shkodra city. It is an old traditional house dating 1694, a nice traditional place, surrounded by an ethnography which Mr. Gjon Dukgilaj successfully transformed into a restaurant and hotel. Built with typical elements such as stones and wood, the interior is furnished, decorated with the old authentic objects and traditional costumes from the area. Seasonally the owner transforms the complex into a museum in order for the clients to enjoy the Albanian culture atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing