We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good commercial hotel”
Review of Butrinti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Butrinti Hotel
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Saranda
Evanston, Il
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Good commercial hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were on a month-long tour of The Adriatic and Albania/Macedonia with Adventures Abroad. We stayed here two nights. Our room was large and modern with a balcony overlooking the Adriatic and Corfu. Our one complaint: regulating the air conditioning. We spent a miserable night freezing and my husband subsequently got a terrible cold. The view was outstanding and as long as you don't look at the squalor and substandard, overbuilding that defines Saranda (and Albania as far as substandard, ugly buildings) it is a great place. Unfortunately we had a sun-filled room which showed that the floor hadn't been vacuumed in a long time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
17
33
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

...all this tip, if you chose to be at the sea view rooms! For us means a lot this hotel as we have been many times in different decades, different political system sure different ages. Now we found a total other hotel after the old one has been refurbishment several years before.
Rooms are not that special, but good clean and bathrooms are acceptable, but all this part not for 5 stars hotel. Our last stay; just two nights!! Personally I do not compare the hotels where we have been, everyone has it's own characteristics. Other side it can not be fare comparing country to an other country. Breakfast for example can not be the same British one as in Malta or Croatia, but still this was a plenty breakfast. Stuff is correct in a way, but just because the Mediterranean temperament can be more warmer to the customs. The pool ( the only one outdoor because they do not have indoor one) was lovely. They gave also towels for the pool. Other hotels in Saranda ( not absolutely ) are not doing it. Sauna and other SPA are poor and you need to order several hours before. The front sea side on the other side of main road is not part of the hotel. We have used Ksamil about 10 km far south of the town for the beach. Was great and season we have been it has just started the summer season.
A la carte food is also a good choice and prices are reasonable. Sure are also other opportunity in town but not that good as in Butrinti restaurant. The only one who can effort same quality food is the restaurant "Paradise" just in the left side of the hotel right to me main front road. We considered this trip as the best in last several years for short vacations.

Room Tip: Sea view the upper floors!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed one night having travelled from Corfu .Room available immediately,even though ot was only about 10.30am.Hotel did not seem to have many guests,Room basic but comfortable.Great view.AC was really good and needed!!Lovely breakfast.Paid 152euro for the night. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joankelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The room had a wonderful sea view. Rich breakfast, friendly staff. Big and clean swimmiing pool.
Should have an indoor swimming pool like all 5 star hotels.There was only a very small jacuzzi.
The club and the piano bar were never open. There was no prive beach for the hotel.
If you lost the swimming pool towel had to pay 60 euros!!!!!

Room Tip: sea view room was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Let me start with all the good things about this Hotel.

It is excellent situated very close to the centre of Saranda and just in front of the see – only a small road separates it. The view from our room was lovely – overlooking the bay and with a good view to Corfu.

We had a really big family room for 4 persons. And the air conditioning was well functioning.

There were free access to the Internet in the lobby area – not in the rooms.

The pool is very good – clean and relatively big. There is no private beach for hotel guests.

Parking is easy and safe just outside the hotel.



Now let me comment on why I only give the hotel 3 stars. That has mainly to do with the service which wasn’t terrible bad but yet not what is normal for a 5 star hotels with a relatively high room price. Let me give you some examples.

The room was booked for a family with 4 persons. Arriving we found only 3 towels to be used by the pool. We therefore asked in the reception for a 4th towel – but that was not possible to get. We just took one of the normal white towels from the bathroom instead. No big problem – but why not just give us the 4th. towel for pool use?

When cleaning the room – they did not change used glasses – and they constantly only gave us towels and bed linen as if we where only 2 persons in the room.

The first evening we expected that they would turn the sofa into a bed for the children by themselves – as they do in all other hotels when they know that the room is booked for 4. But, we had to ask – maybe fair enough – but it seemed as if it was a little inconvenient to them that they really had to do it. (Looking at me as my teenage son can do when I ask him to remove his laundry from the floor in his room).

Both my husband and I felt that the receptionists had an attitude as we were there for them – and not the opposite.

The breakfast was not a 5 star hotel breakfast. Compared to northern and mid Europe standard I would give it 3.

All in all it seemed as if the hotel had passed it’s area of glory – and maybe that’s the reason why there were not many guests staying at it - although it should be high season in July.

The good thing about the few guests was that you almost had the pool for yourselves. And it was very easy to get an elevator – it was almost always waiting for you on the floor where you had used it your-selves last time. But on the other hand it gave the hotel a sleepy, abandoned image – as if time stood still.

A member of my family thinks I should rate the hotel with 4 stars – but with my heart I can only give it 3 when I compare service to price. It did not have a warm atmosphere – or an exclusive style or something else that could justify more than 3.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MMODenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed for only one night, in the off season. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool was not filled maybe for some maintenance before the high season. The breakfast was not very good though. The view is exceptional and the room was clean and spacious. The fitness center was not in a good shape, but the sauna was ok. There is internet connection in the business center, but there is no wifi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank noushaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

I imagine this hotel is a lovely in the summer. We treated ourselves to one night at the end of our trip to southern Albania and were looking forward to the swimming pool and sauna. Oh the heartbreak of trotting along to a swimming pool (looks divine in all the pictures) to find a total absence of water! And the sauna was shut too. We knew it was off season (22 degrees and glorious sunshine...) before we booked but still expected water in the pool. Oh well, Saranda's a lovely town and we enjoyed our stay all the same. There's a great restaurant across the road called Paradise where we had a very good lunch.

The hotel is situated at the east edge of the town on the coastal road to Butrint. We arrived early and were allowed to check in early. The staff were very professional, spoke several languages and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were the chain-hotel sort, fairly well kept but not really 5-star standard. The bin in the bathroom seemed to have been broken to pieces for a while, one of the skirting board panels was hanging off and there was an empty beer can in one of the drawers. Buttons in the lifts were broken and, returning at night, we found our hallway completely dark and couldn't find the light switch.On the plus side, our bathroom had a power shower with a screen, the bed was very comfortable and the TV had the Albanian Nostalgic Cinema Channel (film buffs might consider it worth paying extra to stay here just for this). The balcony was a good size with a sweeping view over the bay.

At breakfast we were the only people in the dining room (I suspect we may have been the only people in the hotel) but our professional well-trained waiter worked really hard to make sure we had a wonderful meal experience. The filter coffee was the best we'd had for weeks and we were brought delicious omelettes, toast, sausage, Albanian feta cheese, yoghurt and two types of fresh sponge cake. When we asked for orange juice it arrived freshly squeezed with cocktail straws. Breakfast left us happy and with a positive feeling about the hotel. However, there are better value options in Saranda.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClairkeithTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saranda hotels
8.7 mi away
Kompleks Joni Hotel
Kompleks Joni Hotel
#22 of 42 in Saranda
5 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Brilant
Hotel Brilant
#1 of 42 in Saranda
250 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Bahamas
Hotel Bahamas
#4 of 42 in Saranda
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Saranada
Grand Hotel Saranada
#12 of 42 in Saranda
54 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Jaroal
Hotel Jaroal
#5 of 42 in Saranda
58 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Sky
Hotel Blue Sky
#11 of 42 in Saranda
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butrinti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butrinti Hotel

Property: Butrinti Hotel
Address: Saranda, Albania
Location: Albania > Vlore County > Saranda
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Saranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Butrinti Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butrinti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing