We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaonia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Saranda
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A fantastic hotel in a beautiful setting. Very clean and well designed. Perfect location, high quality service, fantastic room, hotel staff made real efforts to make the stay a pleasure.We will Definately be back there next year. I brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonidas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
41
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great time, everyone was very polite, the reception was very helpful to everything that we needed. The rooms were cosy, clean kai the sea view amazing. Right in the hart of the town so you could go to many beaches on foot. Worth going and we absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xristina i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A friend booked our room should have been room for 3 directly on the front facing the sea.
We got two twin rooms side of building with just a glance of the sea.
The room was ok but The Air conditioning was noisy and did not work right.
The drawers and base of wardrobe was filthy i had to clean with facewipes..The shower glass was very dirty and half the shower glass partition was missing. The tiles were very dirty we tried with a scourer to clean it and struggled. I took dirty cloth to reception and complained Still no one did anything about cleaning this.
The complimentary breakfast did not exist you have to pay for it
The hairdryer did not work in our room had to keep running to my brothers room to dry my hair.
I reported it but nothing done.
The toilet in reception /bar area had no running water at the sink. so unable to wash hands after using toilet.
Cleaners came to clean room 3pm in afternoon when we were trying to sleep. They actually came did full clean while i was trying to sleep.Mopping around my bed. We were nt pleased at all.

Room Tip: I was not happy with the hotel. Maybe the room we should have had would have been better. Room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A decent clean hotel with friendly helpful staff. Most importantly it is strategically located at the heart of the townn and the harbour. We visited early November and there was ample parking space literally in front of the hotel, but I suspect this may not be the case in the summer

Room Tip: Top floors offer greater views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnYannopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great location next to the beach promenade. We were just on an overnight trip from Corfu, but decided to stay another night. The room was actually much nicer than the one at our hotel on Corfu. Nice view from the balcony (facing the Ionian Sea), comfortable mattresses and a well functioning AC. Both the ferry terminal and the "bus station" is within 10 minutes of walking. Breakfast was included and chosen from a menu. Not all the staff speaks English, but that was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tokyotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Kaonia in Saranda for five nights. I chose the hotel following a number of glowing reports on this site. We paid 50 Euros per night for a double room including breakfast.
The hotel is well located in the centre of town and has parking outside. The staff were friendly enough but spoke limited English. Our room was basic but clean and had what we needed (ie: shower and air conditioning). Breakfast was average and comprised coffe, eggs (fried or omelette) and bread/jam.
Overall, I thought the hotel represented value for money and would recommend it to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is good for Albanian standards which is why I gave it an overall rating of "Very Good" but let's not kid ourselves and say its great. It's very basic. We had 2 rooms over 3 days (35 Euros for a double per night). The first room (room 28) did not have dark curtains over the windows or shower walls or even a curtain, so we were up...early also because of the road noise. Having had a similar shower in Albania we figured it was standard but when we switched rooms, we learned that we had been given the crap room. So avoid 28 or any other room where there isn't a shower stall or dark curtains. In general, the mattresses are hard, the sheets are clean but a tad worn, and the pillows are fuller but firm. The location is very good, the AC is strong, and the wifi works well which are all pluses in my book. Breakfast is included but is again basic - toast, cheese, and maybe an egg. It's up to you if its worth waking up for.

The staff aren't surly but not exactly pleasant. That's not to say they won't help you if you ask but its not overly friendly.

Just be aware that you should not book through any site other than their own because we saw prices that we above what the hotel was listing.

All that being said for Saranda and Albania this is a good hotel at at good price.

Room Tip: Not room 28!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingBugGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saranda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brilant
Hotel Brilant
#1 of 40 in Saranda
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jaroal
Hotel Jaroal
#6 of 40 in Saranda
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agimi Hotel
Agimi Hotel
#5 of 40 in Saranda
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#3 of 40 in Saranda
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Eda
Hotel Porto Eda
#10 of 40 in Saranda
96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seaside Saranda Hotel
Seaside Saranda Hotel
#17 of 40 in Saranda
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaonia Hotel

Property: Kaonia Hotel
Address: Lagja Nr.2 , Rruga Jonianet, Saranda 1677, Albania
Location: Albania > Vlore County > Saranda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saranda
#4 Best Value Hotel in Saranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaonia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is perfectly located on the seaside promenade and only minutes from all the action. The doubles at the front have really large balconies and million lek?? views, framed by awnings made of a fabulously kitsch 1950s-style patterned fabric. The hotel does have a generator but don't make the mistake of rising early and attempting a shower before they've turned on the hot water. Mind you, this only happened to me once and it was in mid-winter when I was the only guest. Breakfast is included in the price, but like most Albanian hotels it's pretty basic. Other small niggles included a couple of dodgy power sockets and curtains not heavy enough to block out the morning sun, but despite this Kaonia is a great place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaonia Hotel Sarande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing