We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly, sociable and homely feeling hostel.”
Review of Hairy Lemon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hairy Lemon Hostel
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Set on the 8th floor of an apartment block - it really is just an apartment with bunk beds in the rooms.

Breakfast pancakes are included in the price which is much better than you get in most places.

The staff were all really friendly and couldn't have been more keen to help where required. Little extras like snorkels to borrow and free drink on arrival was a nice touch.

Rooms were really clean. I stayed one night in private apartment (across the road) this was good value but very basic - I prefered being in the dorms.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajs202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Firstly interesting location , top floor of an apartment building but don't let that put you off. The guys there are really accommodation organised a night at one of the local beach bars which was a good crack. Rooms clean interesting triple bunks though and could do with a few more power sources! WiFi was free and the bathrooms were well furbished. If i was ever in sarande again I would come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdwhite89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is such a great hostel, the hosts Mika and Gabriel are so relaxed and welcoming, nothing is a problem. One of the friendliest hostels i have ever stayed in. Great location, amazing view, good wifi, book exchange, free pancake breakfast and lots of information about getting around. Clean and great social area and balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

On the 8th floor (wrap around balcony) and near the beach. Hosts Mika and Gabriel provide a handy map and know how to get you to all the main tourist places. It is intimate and friends are made quickly. Being away from the center of action is relaxing. Great convenience store and fast food steps away from the hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived in Saranda at 3:30am, and although we had emailed Gabriel, the owner, about our early arrival we expected to wait outside until one of the hostel workers woke up. However, when we arrived one of the workers was awake and waiting to let us in. After a long day of travel, that was the greatest thing anyone could have done for us. The room was clean and had a beautiful view of the sea, and the free pancake breakfast was the perfect way to start our day. Whether you're just passing through, or plan on spending a few nights, The Hairy Lemon is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a great time here. It was the perfect end to our trip through the Balkans.
Mika and Gabriel, the hosts make you feel very welcome, have much local knowledge and are eager to help in anyway the can. We listened to music, had raki and played cards in the evenings.
It was like staying with friends.

The place is clean, great views (its on the 8th floor) Kitchen well stocked, great shower, good wifi, a computer, loads of travel information. beds are comfy, and the whole atmosphere is great. Oh the breakfast is fresh pancakes and the are YUM.

I would defo recommend this place and was sad to leave

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marekmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff were cool, the location is only 20-30 metres from the beach! and the balcony view is heaven. its a Nice clean & social hostel and there is a good kitchen you can use.
What a great country and city! Love Albania.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnjoyTheWorldToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranda
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maestral
Hotel Maestral
#8 of 42 in Saranda
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Erdano
Hotel Erdano
#22 of 42 in Saranda
13 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Jaroal
Hotel Jaroal
#6 of 42 in Saranda
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Iliria
Hotel Iliria
#63 of 92 in Saranda
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Epirus Hotel
Epirus Hotel
#32 of 92 in Saranda
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hairy Lemon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hairy Lemon Hostel

Address: E Arberit Street, 8th Floor | Koder, Saranda, Albania
Location: Albania > Vlore County > Saranda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Saranda
Price Range: $57 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Heaven were a hostel, Sarandas ‘Hairy Lemon Hostel’ would be it! Our accommodation is set in a modern apartment building, that’s central, Just a few minutes walk and you’re bang, smack in the middle of where its at! Should you need to cool off, we’re just 20 metres from the sea. Tastefully stylish throughout, with a chill-out area to meet everyone and hear tales of …. well, nearly truths! Relax on one of our balconies and make sure the sun goes down! Enjoy the stunning views across the sea to the beautiful island of Corfu to round off a splendid day of adventure. We have the comfiest hand-crafted beds, so gooood… only the smell of freshly brewed coffee could tempt you from your cocoon! All excuses aside, we have a fully equipped self-catering kitchen, where you can show off your gastronomical delights! And a barbeque spot, especially for seafood hotties. We’re a small, cosy hostel, perfect to mix and mingle with our friends from around the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hairy Lemon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing