We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location with good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Station Hotel Kokura
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Top location with good breakfast”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Wonderfully located as it's the hotel nearest to the JR Station so the tired traveller only has to walk a few steps before getting into the hotel. Rooms are plain, small but adequate and the most memorable thing about the hotel is the very good breakfast of both local and international items. There was the excellent kurobuta bacon (ran out due to its popularity and replenished with sausages later) and maitako, a morning curry and potato salad , yoghurt, fruit and a lovely walnut bread. Coffee was good too. It would have cost 1,500 yen on its own but included in the roomrate, it's great value.
Also near to the Shopping Streets but it being a Sunday we found it difficult to get lunch there as many of the restaurants there were full. Finally managed to get a place at The Family Restaurant in one of the malls but service was haphazard and the food quality nothing to shout about. Hotel near to places of interest in the central area including Kokura Castle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesphynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    126
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
11
44
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Paz
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Small room with a strong smell to cigarette smoke. Clean but not extremely clean. It is right in the Station of Kokura, that's great if you are a newbie in Japan travelling by train and you have a long trip like I do when I get there. There are a lot of places to go eating around the station and two blocks away you can eat a great dish of Fugu for 60 US$... Nevertheless, if I come back to Kitakyushu, I would look for other options

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I just spent 10 days in this Hotel. Very conveniently located hotel near many restaurants and has several itself. Very quiet and really clean and really helpful staff. As an airline pilot I wish my company would use hotels of this standard.24 hr cafe and bar a bonus.

Room Tip: north side to get city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clearbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Kitakyushu Kokura was my first stop of my 12 days Kyushu trip.I arrived at Kansai Airport early in the morning.After a few transfers( via limited express train and Shinkansan),I managed to arrive Kokura before 3pm.
The hotel was directly link to JR and monorail station.I booked in advance of 30 days at the rate of 11000Yen Twin room with breakfast for 1 night stay.My room was located at 8 floor, facing the main road (view of the monorail).Room was big,clean and comfortable,bath room was supplied with all necessary toiletries.Room was bright, big enough and supplied with 2 sofa chair and a coffee table which I hardly found for JP hotel
The buffet breakfast was okay,not much variety but still acceptable.There are few restaurants located inside JR station shopping plaza.
This hotel have a great locatioas as it conveniently located at Shinkansen station.

Room Tip: Book early with Station Hotel Kokura own website to get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed here for a night only. Small rooms, overlooking the rail lines. The buffet menu for the breakfast was small and food was okay. Conveniently located at the station. Not many restaurants around and the cafe at the ground floor was not bad for a quick bite, but not enough for a full dinner. Its fine for a nights halt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

The hotel is new and rooms are clean. I stayed with my 1.5 year old son and neither me nor him could stop looking out of window - just below us was a shinkansen station with constant arrivals and departures (the windows are noise proof so it was quiet inside), cars a bit further and a very busy strait with lots of cargo ships going back and forth. To the right there was a beautiful coastline and industrial panorama to the left (sumitomo metals or something like that).

I haven't tried their breakfast unfortunately as there are plenty of shops downstairs in the station itself and in nearby streets.
I stayed in a few various hotels in Japan in different regions and cities and this one was one of the best -so I'm giving it 5 dots.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitakyushu hotels
Kokura Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura
#3 of 64 in Kitakyushu
279 reviews
Nishitetsu Inn Kokura
#4 of 64 in Kitakyushu
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Hotel Mojiko
#1 of 64 in Kitakyushu
298 reviews
Kokura Station
APA Hotel Kokura Ekimae
APA Hotel Kokura Ekimae
#14 of 64 in Kitakyushu
79 reviews
Kokura Station
Comfort Hotel Kokura
Comfort Hotel Kokura
#8 of 64 in Kitakyushu
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel Kokura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel Kokura

Property: Station Hotel Kokura
Address: 1-1-1 Asano, Kokurakita-ku, Kitakyushu 802-0001, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Kitakyushu > Kokura Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kitakyushu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Station Hotel Kokura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Station Hotel Kokura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Kitakyushu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing