We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Interesting Japanese History” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mojiko Retro

Mojiko Retro
Book In Advance
$40.42*
and up
Kitakyushu Rickshaw Tour
Ranked #1 of 151 things to do in Kitakyushu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting Japanese History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visited the place where Albert Einstein stayed during his first visit to Japan in 1943. The house is now a seaman's club/association. It did not matter whether Einstein stayed there or not because it did give a good glimpse of a typical visitors lodge during that era with antique looking furniture, wash basin and stand alone bathtub. It was a good walk into the past.

The town of Mojiko is called "retro" because it is now only a place of interest for visitors - the streets were fairly empty except for lots of tourist walking around. I am told that the locals do not live in the town center but in the outskirts. Mojiko was once a booming trading port for ships but now it is a relic of its past glories. Strolling through the streets give you a sense of past history.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gemsfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    259
    84
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was daytime so it was fascinating view because I saw the place like in England. But it was only the few restaurant. I was with my Japanese friend and a Filipino woman. They tour me around. The place is cool and that time there was a lot of people because there were a summer break. There was a live band to see for free and it's medley songs that they played. There's a lobby for view the place, I mean at the top of the tallest building. We went there and had our drinks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetche27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place in modern Japan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

really unbelievable you could find this place in modern japan era, This was old harbour of Kita kyushu and now they renovating the place as tourist attraction, you will fine very delicious japanese cuisine, and they keep the harbour office, custom office, old train station, many interesting place to visit and many restaurant, One restaurant they serving noddle in hot roofing tile, and once you eat , you take soem and deep to special sauce, this is special menu for winter time.

I visit this place in winter 2012, and rain whole days, so I could visit much but is very interesting, if not in rain you could walk around old city.
You could reached the place easily by train from Hakata stotion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ong_giri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Lovely Port area for a stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited in February 2013. The walk around Mojiko Retro was lovely. The afternoon was a bit crisp as it was winter, but we were rugged up and the sun came out to greet us. We visited some of the shops on the waterfront. One special place we stopped at was a shop that had aquariums where you sit on a bench, put your feet in the water and let the fish nibble away your dry skin! Especially good for rough heels. It was truly a new experience. This area is really lovely to relax and enjoy a drink or a meal. I would love to visit again for a longer time as we were only there one day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Just-Julie-Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
293 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Charming Port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

All the attractive spots are within 10 mins walk from station.
An enjoyable excursion despite travelling time is 75 mins from Hakata.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GGHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojiko Retro also viewed

Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture
Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture
 
Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture
 

Been to Mojiko Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing