We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food.”
Review of Skaliwag's

Skaliwag's
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Algoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

enough said, this place is great. I would definitely go here again. I just wish they got people in and out faster.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GMB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    25
    11
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great food and friendly service. The Romaine Salad was perfect, and the Scallops were tender and delicious.Well worth the price! They are planning an expansion and we hope they maintain the fun and easygoing ambiance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husker
1 review
“PassinThru”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great place, high quality food, excellent service, atmosphere tops, prices a bit high. Although people at the motel did not mention Skaliwag's, I read the reviews and had to go. Good conversations eating at the bar. As one guy said "How'd you stumble onto this place?" Had to tell him about TripAdvisor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhereNext2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off-Putting Phone Call”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We heard a great deal about the amazing food at Scaliwag's so decided to call with a few queries. The person answering the phone was impatient, rude and acted as if she'd never had an inquiry about vegetarian options. This encounter was so off-putting, we opted not to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“skaliwags”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent quality food and service at reasonable prices. Romaine salad is awesome. Every dish had great flavor and wait/bar staff was very friendly and accommodating. Ambiance is not what you would expect for $20+ entrees but they do call it a dive bar. Definitely on the high end for prices in Algoma but overall solid place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Link1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skaliwag's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing