We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Smelly, Rip Off”
Review of Algoma Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algoma Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Algoma
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stopped here on our vacation traveling through Wi. The room had a terrible smell, The carpet was stained and dirty, The beds are rock hard and we both tossed and turned all night. Everything in this room reeked. This is the worst motel I have ever stayed at. I would not recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

This could be a GREAT place, located right on the beach of Lake Michigan. But the rooms are so old and SO dirty, and moreover, SO OVERPRICED that I doubt we will stay here again. The carpets were filthy. Broken Venetian blinds on the windows, old bedding, sagging beds, cheap, filthy dirty tables -- one table in our room would not have sold for 50 cents in a garage sale it was so bad. For the prices they charge, the rooms and furnishings could really stand to be updated...or at least cleaned. Not happy campers.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thebirdguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I usually ride my bicycle to Door County each summer. Algoma is one of my usual stops. I usually stay in a different (very basic) hotel, but because my wife driving along with me this year I decided to try the Algoma Beach Hotel since she loves the water. I saw all the bad reviews but booked it booked it any way.

Is it a basic, older hotel that could use some TLC? Yes. But, our room was spotless with a water view and deck. The room was not huge but plenty big for the two of us. The bed was comfortable. The "breakfast" is not a reason to stay here.

Our weather was fabulous so we enjoyed the beach, the water and the water views from our deck until dark.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a water facing room with a deck. Its worth a few $$ more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilladj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is awful! The room was smelly when we walked in. We weren't even sure if the sheets were changed, there was a pile of sand next to the t.v. so they didn't clean very good. The towels were grungy and had stains on them, no hair dryer. This might be a good place for fishermen who don't care but not for women. Roudy people in the halls later at night. They sure must have changed since some of these reviews because they didn't offer juice until 8 in the morning or the other breakfast items, staff wasn't very friendly. About all that was good about it was the view. Will definitely not be coming back here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chambord1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was a "spur of the moment" decision to stay here as we had changed our minds & decided to travel around door county for two days instead of just one. Our room rate was $146.00 and we were told it was last room. We walked in and put down some things and immediatedly went to dollar store. I had to wipe down entire room with bleach wipes (that I really bought for home) I noticed we only had 1 bath towel. there were fly nests in the corners by the door. the bathroom overhead fan was so full of dust & things I don't even know how it could run. Furnishings old and dirty...Do yourself a favor...Pass this one by...fast!!!

Room Tip: This is the first time I have ever gotten a truely rotten room however I will never accept a room ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at the end of the season (late Oct) and had a dog, but the rate for 2 nights was still $250.00! The room was clean, but that is about all that I can say about it. Oh, and the view of the lake off the deck was nice. The blanket/sheets were thread bare, mattress very uncomfortable, towels were also thin. There was no coffee pot in the room (had to walk to the office for coffee...easier to drive to the MacDonald's down the street). The furniture was vintage 1960 and the chairs had holes in them. No shelf in bathroom to set toiletries on. When the heat went on it there was a loud pounding sound that keep us awake all night!
I would not stay here again. Spend a few more bucks and go further up the peninsula to a nicer place with amenities

Room Tip: stay in the 2 story part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianneFlossmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Clean rooms but only very basic and small. The towels had shreds and holes. The tv channels could only be adjusted down - had to turn off tv to get higher channels. The front desk clerk could use some professional customer service training.

Room Tip: If you want to pay more you can get a lake view room which would probably be better than overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algoma
17.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
537 reviews
15.6 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
331 reviews
19.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
0.9 mi away
Harbor Inn Motel
Harbor Inn Motel
#3 of 3 in Algoma
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
at the Waters Edge
at the Waters Edge
#2 of 3 in Algoma
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma Beach Motel

Address: 1500 Lake St, Algoma, WI 54201-1402
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Algoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Algoma
Price Range: $71 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Algoma Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Algoma Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma Beach Hotel Algoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing