We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bare Bones" motel”
Review of Algoma Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algoma Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Algoma
Flossmoor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Bare Bones" motel”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at the end of the season (late Oct) and had a dog, but the rate for 2 nights was still $250.00! The room was clean, but that is about all that I can say about it. Oh, and the view of the lake off the deck was nice. The blanket/sheets were thread bare, mattress very uncomfortable, towels were also thin. There was no coffee pot in the room (had to walk to the office for coffee...easier to drive to the MacDonald's down the street). The furniture was vintage 1960 and the chairs had holes in them. No shelf in bathroom to set toiletries on. When the heat went on it there was a loud pounding sound that keep us awake all night!
I would not stay here again. Spend a few more bucks and go further up the peninsula to a nicer place with amenities

Room Tip: stay in the 2 story part
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneFlossmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
27
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Clean rooms but only very basic and small. The towels had shreds and holes. The tv channels could only be adjusted down - had to turn off tv to get higher channels. The front desk clerk could use some professional customer service training.

Room Tip: If you want to pay more you can get a lake view room which would probably be better than overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Algoma hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this motel after a few days with the Grandkids "phew!" We needed it and this was the perfect place. Its on beautiful lake Michigan with a wonderful big beach. Plenty of fire pits with with comfortable chairs to unwind in...and the view breathtaking! We are average joes so the room was a little pricey for the quality of the room, but the sounds and view of the lake make up for it. Staff was very friendly. Town was small but nice to bum around in. Very Romantic and chillaxable!!! We'll definitely be back. Also a cute 9 hole golf course in Alaska not too far away.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the south end have a stairway right out to the lake. But this was the first time here a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustedmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our family has been coming here for years. The rooms open out onto the beach for beautiful sunrises. Firepits and Adirondeck chairs are scattered on the large beach for relaxing. It's a great place away from the hustle & bustle of Door County, but still an easy drive to get there.
There are a few rooms with kitchenettes, so you really don't need to leave the premises.
For a peaceful, relaxing time this place can not be beat!!

Room Tip: only take a beachside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mharti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

our room overlooked the beach, it was so nice to leave the windows open and hear the waves. the room itself was average motel quality, comfortable beds, thin towels, small refrigerator, OJ, coffee and packaged sweet rolls in the morning. we needed to be in the Algoma/Kewaunee area, for several days, so this worked very well for us. However being able to go out and walk on the beach directly every morning was just lovely. Sandy beach, just a few alewives (you have to know this is Lake Michigan, and small dead fish wash up on shore some), they supply materials for camp fires...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viroqua
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

After a lovely busisness trip to the Algoma area in August, I was looking forward to my September trip. I checked in on the first night of a week long business trip. I brought most of my food for the week with me to save money and time. I only stay where I have a refrigerator and microwave available. I put my food in the frig and went to sleep. I woke up in the morning to find the food frozen. Frozen boiled egg for breakfast? Frozen or thawed salad for lunch? When I told the desk clerk (desk staffed in a.m. only while I was there), she was sympathetic and said she'd check with the manager what she could refund me. The next morning the manager told me the owner told her there was nothing that could be done. She could not give me a number for the owner so that I could speak to him directly. She invited me to write a letter to the motel addressed Owner (I did not do this). I was very disappointed my wasted food, time and money was "nothing."

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contentViroqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auxvasse
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We recently traveled to Wisconsin for the first time. We were seeking a personal, cozy, quiet place where we could just relax. The Algoma Beach Motel was perfect! There was always ample parking space, rooms were clean, halls were quiet, the view of Lake Michigan from our balcony was AMAZING! We were able to go out onto the beach at anytime and get a chair to sit in and enjoy the view. Everything you need for a quiet family vacation can be found in the charming little town of Algoma. When we wanted to explore we headed to nearby Door County to tour the lighthouses, museums, and shops. Our family would definitely recommend this motel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum29670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algoma
17.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
19.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
at the Waters Edge
at the Waters Edge
#2 of 4 in Algoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Beach Harbor Resort
Beach Harbor Resort
#10 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
10.0 mi away
Harbor Lights Lodge
Harbor Lights Lodge
#2 of 2 in Kewaunee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma Beach Motel

Property: Algoma Beach Motel
Address: 1500 Lake St, Algoma, WI 54201-1402
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Algoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Algoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Algoma Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Algoma Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma Beach Hotel Algoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing