We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps a biased review, due to my love of shrines”

Ise Shrine (Ise Jingu)
Ranked #1 of 81 things to do in Ise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perhaps a biased review, due to my love of shrines”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are they typical traveler with not much knowledge on shrines (same situation with cathedrals in Europe), it might be 'just another shrine' to you besides the fact that is it placed in an incredibly tranquil and beautiful forest. I, on the other hand, really enjoyed it since I was studying it anyway. It's one of the most sacred shrines in Japan (with Izumo Shrine) and you can tell: I was basically the only tourist that I could see. Everyone else was there I'm presuming as a pilgrimage, and they were all Japanese. It is clearly a sacred place. When I went, the new shrine (build next to the old one every 20 years) was in the process of construction, so it was interesting to see the two next to each other. It has a sacred, quiet feel, so I would necessarily recommend bringing children or immature people when others are trying to pray.

I think you should definitely go if you're good with the train and bus systems (because I'm not kidding when I say it's in the smack dab middle of desolate Japan), and want to enjoy a full day of traversing the countryside. Luckily, Meoto Iwa (Wedded Rocks) are relatively near by bus, as is a nice little village area for shopping/touristy things.
!!!! One more thing-- the bus taking you around the shrine and nearby areas stops around 6pm...so you better make sure you leave before then..or else you'll be stuck wandering around in the rain with no one to help like I did. FUN!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenh9229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,312
    531
    97
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ichinomiya, Japan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The home of Japanese people's soul”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

You will encounter various aspects of Japanese people who is visiting this Shinto-shrine. The walking from the Shinto gateway at the entrance to te inner shrine takes long but is comfortable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Masahiro_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The sight around the shrine is stunning! Very easy to get there by bus either from Ise-shi or Ujiyamada Station. Just next to the shrine is the Okage-Yokocho (Old Town - feels like you're back in time) where you can spend some time eating and buying souvenirs. 3 times daily there's a drum performance. Absolutely recommend this for a one day trip from Nagoya!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Ise, Amaterasu, mirror”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is The Jingu that reigns supreme over all other jingu in Japan.
This is the Jingu that is said that housed the Sacred Mirror which lured Amaterasu from her self imposed exile in a cave. (its a long story, if you are interested in Japanese mythology, read it up)
The Japanese believes that a spirit resides in everything, mirror, nature and all. The spirit is often refer to as Kami.
Shinto is a religion that worships that belief and is indigenous to the Japanese.
The Jingu in Ise is dedicated to the worship of Amaterasu, Goddess of Sun and the universe.
The Japanese believes the Emperors of Japan are direct descendents of Amaterasu.
To reach this sacred ground, alight at Jr Iseshi. From there, the outer Jingu is easily accessible on foot.
I would recommend a night stay as it would be a waste to rush through this place. It has much to offer in terms of sight and shopping.
From the Geku, the Naiku is about 6 km away, walkable if you are not carrying your bags and luggages and If you are not in a rush for time.
I opted for the walk, it is free and I can use the walk as an excuse to eat as much as I want later.
You will not be able to see the actual shrine as it is too sacred. The Shrine is fenced and security patrol the site to ensure no one tries to flaunt the rule.
From what I can peek and derived from my peeking, the real Jingu is nothing frivolous or pretentious. So simple and basic is the structure that it calls your attention. Brown and gold, wood and thatched reeds. No colorful ornaments, no elaborate carvings to feed our visual greed. Only the calmness of the nature as one with the Shrine.
The Naiku is rebuilt every 20 years as a part of the Shinto belief in death and renewal and the impermanence of life. The spot is chosen next to the site of the current shrine.
After you had your fill of sacredness, you can next proceed to the shopping streets where you must try the Ise Udon. It is a refreshing change from the normal udon. By the way, you cannot find Ise udon that taste like Ise udon in other parts of Japan.
Pearl is also a must buy item. Cheap (not dirt cheap but still a steal) and beautiful..
I would definitely visit this place again, for the udon, the pearl and of course the Sacred mirror in the Jingu.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bakatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Best place for Hatsumode, the first temple visit for the New Year”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Visiting one of Japan's most sacred places beginning of the year traditional welcoming of the new year was a very wonderful experience...But word of caution too is that visitors at this season would be at its peak...The place is so sacred you are not even allowed to take pictures even the gate of main temples...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NeilHTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ise Shrine (Ise Jingu) also viewed

Ise, Mie Prefecture
Ise, Mie Prefecture
 
Ise, Mie Prefecture
 

Been to Ise Shrine (Ise Jingu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing