We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
26
43
11
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
26
43
11
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2017

The hotel is located up on a hill over looking the bay. It was raining when we arrived so the sky was pretty dark. A guy from the hotel was bringing umbrella to help us unload our luggage. Check in was efficient as always been in Japan. A lady carried the luggage for us, and explained to us the information needed to know in her limited English.

I reserved a spacious western-Japanese style room on the top floor, with twin bed and tatami living room. We had our dinner inside the room, with raw ise lobster and abalone. In hotel web pages it said the meal was with top class food and not big portion. After the meal I do not find it small portion any way. I agreed that the food was very good. Onsen area is spacious and modern. There are also massage loungers available at the rest area. A restaurant open until late in case you are hungry.

We had the breakfast in the function room-turned restaurant, a very sumptuous meal. The menu is not a written menu but a drawing. We had a coffee at the grand lobby after breakfast. There is also a garden with foot spa, and a pool for summer months.

Overall it is a fine hotel where I will return.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

Location is picture perfect on a beautiful peninsula near Toba. Ryokan style hotel.
The main issue for us as non-Japanese speakers related to the communications around dinner arrangements. When we arrived we were given vouchers for dinner(we thought) and breakfast. We had read about the wonderful food so we’re looking forward to the multi course dinner. When we went down to the relevant restaurant, as directed by the front desk, the waiter placed a bowl of udon noodles with sauce in front of us. Then we sat, and sat, and sat for 30minutes and no-one came back to give us another course, or ask if we wanted another drink or something else to eat. The waiter seemed to be wandering off to water indoor plants elsewhere and there was no one else. Eventually we went to find her and discovered after much use of Google Translate and another staff member that the voucher was for just a bowl of udon noodles. We managed to order some fried chicken for an extra charge. No apology from the waiter . No chance to try the wonderful seafood multi course meal that everyone raves about.
In the morning we raised this with the front desk and received a brief apology and not much else. The manager wouldn’t come out of his office when we asked to speak to him and the poor front desk person looked embarrassed by their lack of response.
While I appreciate that our lack of Japanese is not their problem, it would be better than they either stop marketing themselves to non-Japanese speakers and/or provide a simple explanation of the dinner arrangements on paper in English.
They got 2 stars rather than 1 only because the location is beautiful and the room adequate. Customer service leaves a lot to be desired when communication goes wrong.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank JstcaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

We stayed in this Ryokan for a night. There was hotel shuttle from the Toba Kintetsu station and took about 10 mins, very near. The checkin service was good. The room was very spacious with excellent sea view. The indoor and outdoor onsens were really great and spacious. The onsens were big enough for many people to enjoy together and was different from smaller family-like onsens. You can have your own quiet time. The dinner was served in room and was really delicious, with lobster, tasty sashimi and other seafood.

There was a garden in the hotel where we walked around and enjoyed foot onsen in the garden. Worth trying.

Overall, this was a really pleasant stay and will definitely come back to this hotel again when in Toba next time.

Some tips and hints - If you want to store luggages at Toba Kintetsu station, there are a lot of lockers, even for bigger luggages. However, sometimes bigger lockers at station may be all occupied and you can try the Marina Terminal, which is only 8-10mins walk. The Terminal has a lot of lockers, newer, cheaper and less fully utilised.

Room tip: Room with sea view
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tony268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel. The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated. The check-in process was efficient and we were escorted to our room with twin beds. The room was spacious and clean. As we arrived at the hotel at around 7:30 pm, the only dining facility available was the one at the basement and we had ramen that was of average standard.
The hot spa facility was good and relaxing.
We were impressed by the service and the quality of food we had for the Japanese breakfast that was really tasty. (we had Japanese breakfast in other hotels before and the standard of food was just average with preserved food). The staff were very attentive and we enjoyed the breakfast, appreciating the tranquil atmosphere and the food inside each tiny dish.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
海の蝶, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryoso Uminocho, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2015

Much of thanks for your coming and staying.
During being busy, thank you very much for writing comment.
We are very relieved at this stay's being comfortable for you.
And we are glad to receive many praises.
Thanks and Gratefully.

Now, We'll also make an effort toward improvement of service.
When you coming to Ise, please use our hotel by all means.
We waiting sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews