We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average not so bad but not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kamakura Prince Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamakura
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“average not so bad but not so great”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked a room called "mystery room" for 12600 Yen. The room we got was ocean view.
The parking was easy to find and the check-in was smooth.
The room was nice and clean.
One thing about Prince Hotel franchise is their lack of decent room service.
An overall average stay. Not so bad but not that great.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank fortysomethingmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    151
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
95
98
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wonderful quiet but elegant place near Shichigarama beach. The staff were respectful and indulgent and the room was excellent. The desk clerk even came after us, and bowed. Do Bill's for breakfast across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRWINK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Travelers have been going to Kamakura and Enoshima for hundreds of years and there are many old woodblock prints showing their view of Fuji from the place where the Kamakura Prince hotel is now located. All the hotel rooms face the beach and the (potential) view of Fuji. Fuji, however, is fickle, and sometimes appears, floating above the clouds... and sometimes doesn't! We were fortunate to see it the first morning of our visit, but it disappeared that afternoon and didn't come back. However, in compensation, a Japanese raccoon did appear outside our balcony next morning. The hotel is on the side of a hill, and I believe, in response to other comments, that earth-holding plants rather than a garden, have been planted there to prevent landslides.
The amenities,rooms, Japanese restaurant, breakfast were all great. The price seemed a little high for a hotel that did not have an onsen or public baths.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiriamGNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

While our room was not as large as those of some previous reviewers, it was perfactly adequate by Japanese standards. The view from our window on our first day was non-existent- we were totally fogged in, and thus were somewhat baffled as to why so little effort has been made to provide a pleasant garden outside the breakfast restaurant because this must happen regularly. Breakfast itself was a caffeteria-like affair, requiring diners to fill a tray and take it to their table. On our arrival we were confronted with a list of things that we were forbidden to do, such as wearing swimsuits in the hotel and wearing yukatas outside our rooms- we found this particularly strange , as other places we have stayed at encouraged us to wear their yukatas everywhere as a form of advertsisng. We wanted to get some laundry done, and was told this was not possible, and that there was no nearby laundromat, yet we found laundry forms and bags in our room, filled them in and had our clothes taken away, only to have them returned the next day, unwashed, with no real explanation, so we washed what we could by hand, and hung it outside to dry, which was probably also forbidden. We also found it most difficult to procure an iron and ironing board! On our second evening and morning we were rewarded with views of the elusive Fuji and thus appreciated the hotel's panoramic windows.Despite other reviewers stating that no nearby restaurants are open on Momdays, we found that Double Doors is open from 11-11, 7 days a week. We also had a very pleasant dinner at Bills- homesick Aussies and Kiwis must try the superb pavlova!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandora1japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you are going to Kamakura, this hotel is well worth a splurge. The rooms are huge and extremely comfortable, and the views absolutely cannot be beaten. The hotel itself has nice amenities, and it is very nicely located. If you do not have a car, there is a train station nearby that is nicely convenient for exploring the entire area (the hotel has a shuttle service for this as well).

I found the food at the hotel to be outstanding, and the service was topnotch.

One tip, take the time to stroll up the coast highway from here as there are a number of shops and restaurants that are fun to discover and explore. Had I not done that, I would not have been able to call home to friends in California while having drinks at an absolutely wonderful Tiki Bar I stumbled across!

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room, and spend time just drinking in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The rooms are not at all plush, although they are large by Japanese standards. What you are paying for is the ocean view, which is lovely. It's not a quiet beach view, though, which is what I was led to expect by other reviews and the hotel's website. Instead, you overlook the train tracks and a well-traveled street, and then the beach.

The on-site French restaurant, Le Trianon, also has a beautiful view over the ocean, as well as good food and terrific service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tumblingwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the Prince and loved every bit of it. The rooms are simple, very elegant and extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was adequate in size and spotless. The best thing about the room, actually, about this hotel, is the view. From your room you see the ocean, Enoshima and its island and Mt. Fuji, if it's not clouded. And all rooms face the ocean, so you will get a fantastic view wherever you are!
The breakfast buffet is nice, it has both Japanese and Western style options, and the dining room has a spectacular view of the ocean as well, very dramatic!
The staff is helpful, not all of them are fluent in English, but there is always someone at the reception who speaks good English, so we had no problem at all communicating.
The hotel is a short walk from the picturesque Enoden train, and there is a supermarket and various restaurant up the hill from the Prince Hotel. The hotel is not in downtown Kamakura, it's a few Enoden train stops away, which is actually better because Kamakura has nice temples, but the city per se is not particularly attractive.
Tip: we visited several temples, the best garden and views are in Hase-dera, a temple in Hase, close to the great buddha, don't miss it!!

We had a lovely stay in Kamakura and this hotel made the trip even more unforgettable!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myosotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamakura
0.9 mi away
Kamakura Park Hotel
Kamakura Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Kamakura
117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Kamakura Ofuna
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mets Kamakura Ofuna
Hotel Mets Kamakura Ofuna
#4 of 16 in Kamakura
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaihinso Kamakura
Kaihinso Kamakura
#5 of 16 in Kamakura
33 reviews
2.8 mi away
8hotel
8hotel
#3 of 16 in Fujisawa
98 reviews
1.5 mi away
WeBase Kamakura
WeBase Kamakura
#2 of 20 in Kamakura
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamakura Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamakura Prince Hotel

Property: Kamakura Prince Hotel
Address: 1-2-18 Shichirigahama Higashi, Kamakura 248-0025, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Kamakura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamakura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamakura Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamakura Prince Hotel is located right off the shore of Shichirigahama beach, which is a part of famous "Shonan" area of Sagami Bay. We have 98 rooms all facing towards the ocean, you can see two of most famous Japanese landscape Mt.Fuji and Enoshima Island right out of your window. Kamakura is also known for being an ancient capital. There are various shrines and temples including Kotokuin for you to visit. We have a 1,140m2 banquet hall Shichirigahama, which can be divided in to 6 sections may be used for wedding, party, convention, international conferences, and more. So please enjoy romantic seaside view and tour of ancient Japan, when you visit us at Kamakura Prince Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamakura Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamakura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing