We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy traditional homestay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamakura Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kamakura Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cosy traditional homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Cosy guesthouse run by a few young locals. Although their command of English was very limited, they were all smiles always and made us feel at home. The staff also made an effort to remember all our names even though we were only staying for a night. The guesthouse is walkable from the train station and there are bus services nearby. If you prefer, the guesthouse offers bicycle rentals too (we get a day’s rental for free). We stayed in a private room for 4 - the guesthouse was very clean and had a well equipped kitchen if you want to cook your own meals (there is a 24-hours supermarket just a stone’s throw away). There is a traditional ‘irori’ (Japanese sunken cooking hearth) in the common area too. I guess the only downside is that there is only 1 shower room in the guesthouse. There are 2 toilets - a common one downstairs while the one upstairs is catered for ladies only.

Room Tip: If you intend to stay here, be mindful that this place is NOT a hotel, so do remember to bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank painaulait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamagesu, マネージャー at Kamakura Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Thank you for your stay at Kamakura Guesthouse!
We are happy that you had a good time in our guesthouse. We hope to see you again.
You are always welcome! We are looking forward to it.
I appreciate your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    40
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
10
88
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are seasoned travellers to Japan, and have only ever stayed in a hotel for one night. This hostel was an amazing experience. We stayed for four nights and every night was different. On our first night a group of young Japanese people (including the hosts) shared a meal with us (nabe) and we all contributed to the cost. This very traditional style hostel with a cooking fire in the middle of the room, where just about anything that was cooked was shared with someone, was clean, comfortable and friendly. If you are a westerner be aware there are no frills, but the best cultural experience can be had.

Room Tip: This accomodation is separate male and female dormitory style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamagesu, マネージャー at Kamakura Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you for your stay at Kamakura Guesthouse!
We are happy that you had a good time in our guesthouse. We hope to see you again.
You are always welcome! We are looking forward to it.
I appreciate your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a Friday night during a beach weekend to Kamakura. It is clean, the rooms get nice and cold with the AC which is important in the summer, the beds were fine, and the host was very very nice (although spoke very limited english). Best part is the price, 3000/person. Be aware this is more of a hostel than hotel, shared bathrooms and 3 bunkbeds in each of the 2 rooms (which we were not aware of), but it ended up being fine for us for 1 night. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennyoswalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamagesu, マネージャー at Kamakura Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you for your stay at Kamakura Guesthouse!
We hope to see you again.
You are always welcome! We are looking forward to it.
I appreciate your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were NOT fortunate enough to get the experience in staying in this old heritage building as we missed out on one booking for one person on the second night booking and the guest house was full.
However, what truly captured our heart was the fact that the staff went all the way out to find us another place and make sure we were rightfully taken care of. This is truly the japanese style hospitality that we dont find back home. 5 stars to the guest house and 2 thumbs up for all the staff. you had made our visit to the guest house very special. we will come back for sure.

Room Tip: book early esp for the peak seasons. ~ during festivals i spring when the sakura are in full bloom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarawaklaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamagesu, マネージャー at Kamakura Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you for your stay at Kamakura Guesthouse!
We are sorry that we don't have any room available the second night.
We hope to see you again.
You are always welcome! We are looking forward to it.
I appreciate your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Few young people run this guesthouse with dedication and friendliness. Not all of them speak good English, but after a moment you start to communicate without any problem. Every evening they prepare a dinner for everyone (you can also help/learn cooking) - you contribute 500yens and eat with everyone. I recommend this as: 1. you don't eat alone, 2. you have a chance to try Japanese home made food, 3. you get to know also the locals who tell you everything you want to know about Japan. You can also go with the owner to meditate to the ZEN temple (it's an amazing experience, but wear something warm!). Kamakura is lovely and there are numerous temples, all accessible by bike. The Guesthouse itself is very clean, ladies only room upstairs, big bathroom (for everyone) downstairs, well equipped kitchen. The only minus - you have to take a bus from Kamakura train station, but the driver will tell you when to get off and where to go. No breakfast is served.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiderBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamagesu, マネージャー at Kamakura Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you for your stay at Kamakura Guesthouse!
We are happy that you had a good time in our guesthouse. We hope to see you again.
You are always welcome! We are looking forward to it.
I appreciate your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great place in Kamakura. My wife and I stayed here for one night passing through. Great affordable place with easy access to train lines. Segregated rooms and dorm style. Bring your own towel and ear plugs as some folks snore. Perfect for backpackers and meeting other travelers in a fun relaxed environment. Great FAST wifi too.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everynametaken079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamagesu, マネージャー at Kamakura Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you for your stay at Kamakura Guesthouse!
We hope to see you again.
You are always welcome! We are looking forward to it.
I appreciate your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Enjoyed this friendly guest house every bit of the two days I stayed. All of the accommodations were every thing you could ask for. Very clean and quite with a great price. If you like wood structure you will enjoy the beautiful wood work throughout.The commons area was a great place to share food,drink and conversation while practicing Japanese/English. A real Japanese home atmosphere with the cutest children. The owners went out of there way to give an authentic Japanese experience with an early morning visit to the temple in Kita-Kamakura. I am looking forward to visiting this guesthouse in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamagesu, マネージャー at Kamakura Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you for your stay at Kamakura Guesthouse!
We are happy that you had a good time in our guesthouse. We hope to see you again.
You are always welcome! We are looking forward to it.
I appreciate your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamakura
1.6 mi away
Kamakura Prince Hotel
Kamakura Prince Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kamakura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Kamakura Ofuna
1.7 mi away
Kamakura Park Hotel
Kamakura Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Kamakura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hokke Club Shonan Fujisawa
2.2 mi away
Kamejikan
Kamejikan
#3 of 14 in Kamakura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Sacra
Villa Sacra
#8 of 14 in Kamakura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamakura Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamakura Guesthouse

Property: Kamakura Guesthouse
Address: 273-3 Tokiwa, Kamakura 248-0022, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Kamakura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty lodging in Kamakura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kamakura Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kamakura Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing