We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bamboos and Green Tea”

Hokokuji Temple (Takedera Temple)
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.89*
and up
Private Half-Day Muslim-Friendly Tour of Kamakura
Ranked #3 of 175 things to do in Kamakura
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bamboos and Green Tea”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

One of the most popular temples in Kamakura. It does get crowded. Plan your visit wisely to make the most of your visit. This tiny temple is famous for its Bamboo Garden. It is so beautiful to walk on the paths. But the highlight of the experience is to have a bowl of Matcha green tea while you enjoy the view of the garden. To enjoy the tea, make sure to purchase a ticket at the entrance when you are paying for the visitor fee. It was 700 yen (200 for the temple, 500 for the tea) when I visited in April of 2013.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    162
    34
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“You can't miss Hokokuji (Bamboo Temple) if you visit Kamakura”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hokokuji (Bamboo Temple) is my favorite place in Kamakura. The bamboo grove here is so beautiful. Hopefully, you will get here when it's not crowded (avoid visiting here during the Golden Week, for example). You want to spend time in the grove, stopping often. You should sit and drink a cup of Japanese bitter green tea - you need to buy the ticket at the entrance.

If you visit Hokokuji in spring, you will find fresh bamboo shoots.

It's a bit of a hike from downtown Kamakura (about a mile from Tsurugaoka Hachimangu). You can take a bus or a taxi, of course. If you walk, you might want to try a quieter back road.

If you come to Kamakura to get away from the busy days in the big city like Tokyo, you can't miss Hokokuji!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TKHershey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“2-4-1 Temple”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I would have to say this is one of the temples you have to see before you leave... there is another temple literally around the corner from this one (Jomyoji)!!! The price for the green tea there was pretty high tho @ 1000 yen compared to the 500 yen for the entrance and and green tea at this temple. I went during the winter time i plan to go again during the spring time and see what else these 2 temples have to offer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love the bamboo forest”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The temple is quite cute, but the best thing was the serene inspiring Bamboo Garden, and walking along the meandering path through the "forest" to reach the cute little teahouse where you can get a bowl of macha. This was my favourite sight in Kamakura - aside from the awesome sunset on Kamakura bay!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CatOng-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“The best temple in Kamakura”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a special place and I have been here many times. It is not the most popular temple mainly because it is away from the main tourist area and the opposite side of the town from the Daibutsu / Big Buddha and Hasedera.

This is a working temple and they have zazen sessions here every Sunday morning. As a zen temple it has the simple style that we (Westerners?) expect from a Japanese temple. One the last day I visited I walked up the gentle slopping path to the entrance and could hear sutra chanting. It was not, as I expected, monks doing their duty but a father teaching his two young daughters how to pray in front of the altar. An ordinary working man in construction workers clothes with two little girls in the their 'Sunday' best.

This part of the temple is free but you have to pay to enter the bamboo garden - if you do not see the garden you are missing something truly special. The bamboo are mature and massive. You walk through the cool green (and I would love to see this in the snow) towards the sound of a waterfall. This is where the hermit who founded the temple hid from the busyness of Kamakura.

There is place here to sip green tea and watch the water fall and garden. This is not a tea ceremony experience but the tea is included in the entrance price, you hand over your ticket and they will give you a number. When you tea and sweets are ready they will call your number in Japanese. Sip and soak in the peace.

(I have said there is wheel chair access - there is for the main temple but there is a very small set of steps to get up into the garden.)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokokuji Temple (Takedera Temple) also viewed

Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
 
Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Hokokuji Temple (Takedera Temple)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing