We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Terrace the square Hitachi
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels / Ryokan in Hitachi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not to bad”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

As others have reported rooms are a little on the small side and a little dated. Otherwise very clean and tidy. TV has one channel that is in English although a little difficult to find. In room mini fridge was useful for keeping drinks in. Bed was great and room quiet so slept well (7th floor, end of corridor). Very good internet access in room (20meg up/down) using small wireless router available from reception. Didn’t have any problems with aircon as reported by earlier traveller.

Most reception staff have some grasp of English so check in/out no problems. Breakfast buffet good with western choices. Evening meal ok but limited English menu. If you fancy a decent curry go across the square to the A-N Kitchen who speak English and have an English menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
square日立, 支配人 at Hotel Terrace the square Hitachi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
We have some double rooms which is spacious than single rooms.
Double rooms have a bigger bed,too.
I hope you should request one next stay.
Thank you for your coments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    42
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Whenever I travel to Hitachi City for business, I stay at the Hotel Terrace (formerly Hotel Nikko) - it's a pretty standard Japanese hotel in that the rooms are really small, and the bathrooms look like they were manufactured as a unit and dropped into the rooms.

The breakfast is great, with both western and Japanese options. I love how they have curry every day.

The internet is wired only, which is a bit cumbersome, as the cable provided is short so you can really only use your computer at the little desk table they have in the room.

Be aware that only the rooms on the end are double beds (meaning a large bed) - most of the rooms are furnished with twin-sized beds, and that is what will come standard unless you specify on your reservation that you want a big bed!

There is no fitness center option, unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaP588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
square日立, 支配人 at Hotel Terrace the square Hitachi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Wi-Fi is available at all rooms in our hotel now.
you can also use it at the lobby at 1st floor.
Thank you for your helpful coments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Room was clean with massage chair. Breakfast is good and Internet connection is available in room via the connection cable. It is located near a basement supermarket and local shopping and eateries. The bus terminal is about 5 mins walking distance away. Nice and quiet place. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmsg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitachi, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Will never stay again - This mediocre hotel has now instituted a policy from April-September - room air conditioning is shut off from 1 AM- 4 PM everyday!!! For your money you get to wake up at 5 AM each day totally drenched in sweat!!! Having to take cold showers every morning just to cool down. Complained, but go nowhere with management - only "it's policy".
Well, my "policy" is to only spend my money where people provide good service - I have already told my company management at big "H" to stop referring this hotel to company people and customers.
When you treat customers like this you get what you deserve.

Room Tip: find another hotel and stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m-r a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I can see the point about Russia, it looks like a communist apartment block next to a factory from the outside. Room was just OK as was breakfast. It's a bit expensive (and expensive area) for such an out of the way place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Nice. Reminded us of the Soviet Union in its own charming way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank returnthefarimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The hotel is clean and perfectly adequate for a few nights in Hitachi City. It recently changed owners and seemed a little less organized than when I visited earlier in the year. Good walking distance from the train station and a good neighborhood to talk a walk around - restaurants are nearby. Bring a book; there are no English speaking TV stations.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golforharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hitachi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wing International Hitachi
0.0 mi away
Toyoko Inn Hitachiekimae
Toyoko Inn Hitachiekimae
#4 of 26 in Hitachi
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hitachi Plaza
Hotel Hitachi Plaza
#7 of 26 in Hitachi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amimoto
Hotel Amimoto
#8 of 26 in Hitachi
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hitachi Hills
Hotel Hitachi Hills
#12 of 26 in Hitachi
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Route-Inn Hitachitaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrace the square Hitachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace the square Hitachi

Property: Hotel Terrace the square Hitachi
Address: 1-20-3 Saiwaicho, Hitachi 317-0073, Ibaraki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Ibaraki Prefecture > Hitachi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels / Ryokan in Hitachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrace the square Hitachi 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Terrace the square Hitachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing