We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
6
22
15
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
22
15
5
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2017

The hotel is by the picturesque Lake Hamana. This is a traditional style Japanese hotel and quite an experience for the uninitiated.
We enjoyed the experience, be it the room with floor seating, the tatami style beds or the hot spring baths after which one could enjoy a refereshing drink, or the customary multi-course dinner meticulously prepared and presented.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

The staff at this hotel went above and beyond to provide an amazing service. The food is delicious. The rooms are authentic and if you get a chance to stay at a room with a private osen, it is worth it.

If you have never been to Hamamatsu, this place is great to visit and stay for a couple of days.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Luna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016

My room was rather fun as it involved sliding lots of shoji. The sleeping area was quite large and there was a separate sitting area which could be partitioned off. The tatami was very comfortable, and the staff kindly put it down while you are at dinner. The AC worked only in the sleeping area, but provided pleasant sleeping temperatures. There is a nice outdoor onsen. The set Japanese dinner and breakfast are very good with lots of variety. WiFi only works in the lobby.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

This is a traditional Japanese hotel. The check in was done by our tour guide. The owner of the hotel introduced herself to us and welcomed us. The rooms are neat and clean. The mattress was on the floor as was the custom in traditional Japan. The traditional Japanese Kaiseki banquet dinner is an experience one should not miss. You can also soak in the therapeutic waters of a spa bath. Your birthday suit is your bathing suit. The hospitality was excellent and the view of the lake from my bedroom window was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 615Sudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2015

This Onsen has so much unused potential. Firstly, they have to ban the use of smoking inside the premises or at least dedicate a floor to smokers. We were located next to a heavy smoker group and all the smoke just flew into our room, also our tatami smelled heavily like smoke from the previous user. Knowing that our son is very allergic to smoke, it was quite unpleasant to deal with.

Secondary, the bathroom floor shows signs of age and could use some maintenance. Other than that the rooms were nice and spacious. The view on the lake and mountain was spectacular.

Lastly, the food for dinner is great, we opted to buy the eel for dinner and it was fantastic. Breakfast is served in a cafeteria, which had so much potential. The doors were closed blocking off the entire view of the lake and mountains ... so sad, as you were left sitting in between four wall without a view. My suggestion, open up the area and let your guests enjoy the precious view you have to offer!

Overall not a bad stay, but because of the smokers allowed, it ruined our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kleine-genieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews