We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Overnight”
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Situated right in the state park next to the Hawks Nest overlook of the New River Gorge, this is a great place for an overnight stop along Route 60, or if you are doing a rafting trip. Don't expect a National Park style lodge like in Yosemite or Yellowstone, this is basically a 60's motor lodge with a knockout view. Don't let that stop you from staying here, though. We had a deluxe suite, which is well worth the extra money. It had a bedroom with two queen sized beds, a sitting area with a TV and fireplace, a balcony overlooking the New River, and a large picture window next to the beds overlooking the forest. The one bed is directly next to the window, which gives this bed a "bed in the trees" kind of feel, which is very cool. The room looked recently renovated, and maybe it's just becuase we were tired, but the beds were very comfortable. The youthful staff were eager to please and can point you to some good hiking. There's an outdoor pool that was closed for the season but looked nice. We did eat in the restaurant, and though it was a bit overpriced for this area the food was respectable enough. A complimentary breakfast is included, we did not partake of it so we cannot comment on it. It was advertised as continental. Here's a tip for a relaxing day: see the entire New River Gorge at river level and the Alleganies by taking the Amtrak Cardinal train from Montgomery to Clifton Forge, VA. It makes for a great day trip.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SheriffBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
54
59
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed in a king corner suite for two nights, which we thought was worth the extra money. The views of the gorge from our room and the dining room were superb. Thanks to a tip from the desk clerk, we walked down the rail trail from Ansted. It was beautiful and not difficult. The breakfasts (included) were very good and the other meals were average. One night we drove into Fayetteville for dinner, since the lodge didn't serve liquor and we were in the mood for a beer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alive2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alma, mi
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

On our recent trip I was trying to find interesting stopovers to break up the driving. The area around Hawk's Nest State park is best known for the great river rafting - but even if that's not your purpose, a night at the Hawk's Nest Lodge is still nice. We had a corner room on a higher floor that had a great view from two sides. The pool was nice, and the overall setting was quite relaxing. The only downside was that the restaurant was, in terms of both food and service, pretty poor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We tried to get a room but they were booked. We called at the last minute and they had had a cancellation. We are soooo glad that we stayed here. It is an older lodge but the bedding and carpet had been updated and the room was very clean. The front desk staff were excellent. The view off our balcony was awesome. Nice pool. They offer a complimentary computer to use in the lobby with internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

I was travelling through southern WV the night the big snow storm hit (12/18/09). When I heard the highways southbound were blocked I decided to go the the Lodge at Hawks Nest and enjoy the views versus fighting the storm.

Also, I had heard the Restaurant was under new Management as of early November and was anxious to see if it had improved. I had dinner the first night and it was excellent. I had the Filet special. The next morning I went to the restaurant for breakfast.They offered a full Buffet and a Deluxe Continental Buffet. I had the full Breakfast Buffet. Eggs, cooked apples, home fries, bacon,sausage, pancakes with hot maple syrup, biscuits, gravy..... The food was "home cooked" and the vegetables were very fresh. Excellent.

The restaurant was excellent during this visit. That was the only thing I did not like about the Lodge before. I will be staying at the Lodge more now in my travels through southern WV.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasternTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Had our 3rd annual three day visit here, 11-13 - 11-16, meeting with friends from Ohio. Another great visit! Lodge staff, including Park Rangers, could not have been nicer! The entire lodge is now non-smoking, making the stay even more enjoyable. Restaurant food was good along with the service. A word of caution - if you travel to Gauley Bridge, be very aware of their speed trap!! 29 in a 25mph zone cost us ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAJarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALDWELL
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2009

I was at the lodge with a group using the conference room. All was well until we went to the restaurant for supper. The food was gooe when we finally got it. There was only 1 waitress for more then 10 tables. She was expected to wait on tables bus tables and collect the money. She was working her butt off. The restaurant management said not one would come in to help her. Then hire new help! I am sure in the whole county of Fayette County there must be someone who would like to earn extra money before Christmas. I feel very sorry for the waitress! The management needs to get their act together!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RwayneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
209 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
23.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
3.1 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Property: Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawks Nest State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in Hawks Nest State Park and offers breathtaking views of the New River and Hawks Nest Lake. The lodge offers three styles of accommodation. Standard rooms offer a choice of woodland or gorge views. Corner suites provide a seating area and balcony overlooking the canyon with a picture window facing the forest. The deluxe suite offers two rooms, two balconies facing the forest and front of the lodge and a fireplace for cozy relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing