We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“OUR 3RD ANNUAL VISIT TO HAWKS NEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OUR 3RD ANNUAL VISIT TO HAWKS NEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Had our 3rd annual three day visit here, 11-13 - 11-16, meeting with friends from Ohio. Another great visit! Lodge staff, including Park Rangers, could not have been nicer! The entire lodge is now non-smoking, making the stay even more enjoyable. Restaurant food was good along with the service. A word of caution - if you travel to Gauley Bridge, be very aware of their speed trap!! 29 in a 25mph zone cost us ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAJarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    63
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
49
52
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CALDWELL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I was at the lodge with a group using the conference room. All was well until we went to the restaurant for supper. The food was gooe when we finally got it. There was only 1 waitress for more then 10 tables. She was expected to wait on tables bus tables and collect the money. She was working her butt off. The restaurant management said not one would come in to help her. Then hire new help! I am sure in the whole county of Fayette County there must be someone who would like to earn extra money before Christmas. I feel very sorry for the waitress! The management needs to get their act together!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RwayneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC/ Nothern VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in August 2009. Even though it was raining and misty for most of our stay (only stayed one night), the view was gorgeous and our room was lovely. We loved being on the lower level and sitting outside under the balcony. Unfortunely, the tram was closed when we were theere but we drove to the overlooks and hiked around and just enjoyed the quiet. When we came back, we decided to brave the lodge restaurant. It was the only time my husband has ever complained about his food. It was simply horrible and way overproced. It was basically microwave diiners. My husbands chicken was as hard as a hockey puck. Simply awful food and no apologies from the waiitress.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

The lodge has great views of the gourge, the rooms a little dated but were clean, the resturante was nice and prices were moderate. The hic-cups were as follows: from the balcony, each room has a great view unitl your try and sit in a chair. Then all you see is top 10 inch wide railing, the ironey of this has us laughing for several times during the trip. The second issue is the non-smoking policy. The entire lodge (including the room balconies) is non-smoking not just rooms. This fact is not well publicised. No liquore licence at the lodge so BYOB

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clyde21222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineralwells WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We absolutely loved the area, not much to do but enjoy the outdoors. It was very peaceful, none of the workers at the lodge were bothering us. The View from our upper room was spectacular!! Had some rain, but still had a wonderful time. However, only one complaint about the lodge was, it had no water pressure for the showers...probaly because the place was a little outdated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wvjeffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

After spending a noisy night at Pipestem State Park (McKeever Lodge), we headed to Eagles Nest, which overlooks a 600’ gorge on the New River. The lodge is smallish (only around 35 rooms) and the amenities few (wifi, outdoor pool and tennis are about it). But what it lacks in amenities, it makes up in solitude. We were amazed on our August Friday night stay that the place was sold out – it was so quiet and peaceful. Unlike the noisy lodge at Pipestem, the staff at Eagles Nest “enforces” a 10 PM quiet time, but it had been so quiet all day that we hardly noticed. The dining room offers reasonable fare for dinner and a free continental breakfast. For $25,you can take a tramway down to the river and a boat ride to view the famous Route 19 New River Bridge, which is the “tallest suspension bridge in the western hemisphere.” The park itself is kinda scattered along the highway, so don’t miss the Eagles Nest overlook ¾ mile west of the lodge and the beautiful Cathedral waterfall about 6 miles west, just as you enter the town of Gauley Bridge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Do not get a room on the 2 lower floors if you want to see the gorge from your room. The views are blocked by brush and there is no elevator to those floors.The restaurant had prices of a 4 star restaurant but the food was bland and thrown together.The staff was going through the motions of service but showed no real concern to help. The room was very nice and the surrounding area was beautiful. I wish that the state park department would sell it to some big name hotel chain that could make this diamond in the rough the hotel it could be.
Cons
No elevator to lower 2 floors. Wireless Internet was not working, Restaurant was overpriced for TV diner quality food, View of canyon view was blocked by overgrowth. Front desk personnel were polite but not helpful.
Pros
Location. Nice pool. Quality rooms

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
23.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
20.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
18.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Property: Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawks Nest State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in Hawks Nest State Park and offers breathtaking views of the New River and Hawks Nest Lake. The lodge offers three styles of accommodation. Standard rooms offer a choice of woodland or gorge views. Corner suites provide a seating area and balcony overlooking the canyon with a picture window facing the forest. The deluxe suite offers two rooms, two balconies facing the forest and front of the lodge and a fireplace for cozy relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing