We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn New River(Fayetteville)(Great Value!)
$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Summersville)
$85
$76
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Summersville)(Great Value!)
$85
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Summersville)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$98
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
49
76
32
12
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
76
32
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjet boatnew river gorgeforest viewelevator accessdining room was closedoutdoor poolbalconies overlookingmotorcycle tripwest virginiascreen doorgreat trailstram ridehiking trailsfree continental breakfasthawks nest state parkbed was very comfortablewaffle maker
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 170 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in August 2009. Even though it was raining and misty for most of our stay (only stayed one night), the view was gorgeous and our room was lovely. We loved being on the lower level and sitting outside under the balcony. Unfortunely, the tram was closed when we were theere but we drove to the overlooks and hiked around and just enjoyed the quiet. When we came back, we decided to brave the lodge restaurant. It was the only time my husband has ever complained about his food. It was simply horrible and way overproced. It was basically microwave diiners. My husbands chicken was as hard as a hockey puck. Simply awful food and no apologies from the waiitress.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

The lodge has great views of the gourge, the rooms a little dated but were clean, the resturante was nice and prices were moderate. The hic-cups were as follows: from the balcony, each room has a great view unitl your try and sit in a chair. Then all you see is top 10 inch wide railing, the ironey of this has us laughing for several times during the trip. The second issue is the non-smoking policy. The entire lodge (including the room balconies) is non-smoking not just rooms. This fact is not well publicised. No liquore licence at the lodge so BYOB

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clyde21222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We absolutely loved the area, not much to do but enjoy the outdoors. It was very peaceful, none of the workers at the lodge were bothering us. The View from our upper room was spectacular!! Had some rain, but still had a wonderful time. However, only one complaint about the lodge was, it had no water pressure for the showers...probaly because the place was a little outdated.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvjeffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

After spending a noisy night at Pipestem State Park (McKeever Lodge), we headed to Eagles Nest, which overlooks a 600’ gorge on the New River. The lodge is smallish (only around 35 rooms) and the amenities few (wifi, outdoor pool and tennis are about it). But what it lacks in amenities, it makes up in solitude. We were amazed on our August Friday night stay that the place was sold out – it was so quiet and peaceful. Unlike the noisy lodge at Pipestem, the staff at Eagles Nest “enforces” a 10 PM quiet time, but it had been so quiet all day that we hardly noticed. The dining room offers reasonable fare for dinner and a free continental breakfast. For $25,you can take a tramway down to the river and a boat ride to view the famous Route 19 New River Bridge, which is the “tallest suspension bridge in the western hemisphere.” The park itself is kinda scattered along the highway, so don’t miss the Eagles Nest overlook ¾ mile west of the lodge and the beautiful Cathedral waterfall about 6 miles west, just as you enter the town of Gauley Bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Do not get a room on the 2 lower floors if you want to see the gorge from your room. The views are blocked by brush and there is no elevator to those floors.The restaurant had prices of a 4 star restaurant but the food was bland and thrown together.The staff was going through the motions of service but showed no real concern to help. The room was very nice and the surrounding area was beautiful. I wish that the state park department would sell it to some big name hotel chain that could make this diamond in the rough the hotel it could be.
Cons
No elevator to lower 2 floors. Wireless Internet was not working, Restaurant was overpriced for TV diner quality food, View of canyon view was blocked by overgrowth. Front desk personnel were polite but not helpful.
Pros
Location. Nice pool. Quality rooms

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews