We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Old State Park.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice Old State Park.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hawks nest had pretty views but we were expecting a little more from this park.It is a lot smaller than Babcock S.P. but does have some good activities.There are lot's of steps but it is worth it.The view of the bridge was hard to see.We chose to hike down to the bottom which was very steep & a little slippery.One of our family members fell & I came close.I would still recommend it if you are able but watch out for the poison ivy it is everywhere! We took the tram back up (4$ round trip or 2$ one way).The Tram was scary!!If you are afraid of heights I would skip this!They also have Jet boats at the bottom.There are lot's of trails to hike.Overall we liked Hawks Nest & would recommend it if you are in the area but did prefer Babcock S.P.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bluekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
49
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
246 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After traveling many miles in the car, we were rejuvenated by the quiet atmosphere of the Hawks Nest State Park Lodge. The view over the river from the lodge's patio was calming as we watched a long train cross the river on the bridge below. We enjoyed walking down the nearby trail to get a better view of the cliffs and the river. Dinner in the restaurant was okay--we certainly didn't want to get back in the car to find another place! Our suite was large and the beds were very comfortable. There was a coffee maker to help us get started in the morning and a little balcony where we could have a quiet reading place. Continental breakfast was included--it was adequate but nothing special. For an extra fee, a cooked breakfast was available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongIslandMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This park is very pretty but the lodge is old and outdated. The rooms and bathrooms are small, no hairdryer or coffee maker in the room. The free breakfast is one of the worst I've had. Didn't even want to chance it for any other meal - go to Fayetteville - 15 to 20 minutes away to Pies and Pints or to Adventures on the Gorge resort - Chettys has good wings on Monday nights and burgers and sandwiches. Sit outside and enjoy the view. If you go west from Hawk's Nest entrance you will soon come to the overlook and park gift shop. Hwy. 60 that runs in front of the lodge is a scenic road and Hawk's Nest is at MM 104. Around MM 95 there is a lovely waterfall that you can walk up to and take photos. It's just past the sign that says welcome to Gauley Bridge (not a bridge but a town) on the right side. No signage about the waterfall, we almost passed it but were actually looking for it so we were able to slow down and get into the parking area. After visiting this waterfall, if you keep going west to about MM 92 you will be in the next town of Glen Ferris and there is a small, old power plant on the river. Park in the parking area for Kanawha Falls and there's another wide, short set of falls to view from the riverbank. The Scenic Hwy. 60 brochure I had picked up said there were 12 waterfalls in 5 miles but that they were seasonal. I guess we were there in the dry season.

Back to the lodge - functionally obsolete if you ask me - a true waste of design but, I guess they built things differently back then. Trails near the lodge weren't well maintained or marked. We're hikers so we appreciate signage, distances, etc. Not much of either and not many other great hikes in the area except for Kaymoor Mine Trail. Two nights here and we were gone.

Room Tip: Rooms have the old style metal key with the plastic fob. Even rooms with a "view" don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendasauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Personally, our family adores Hawk's Nest. It is old school, nothing fancy, ultra affordable - the views around Hawk's Nest are unbeatable, lots of beautiful places to walk, and a nice, basic outdoor pool. The Nest will not appeal to those seeking a lot of stimulation, fancy "stuff" or modern decorations - this is precisely what I love about it myself! Be sure to take the Air Tram down to the bottom, to the lake area and wide the boat! The couple who run the boat service are lovely characters and they have the cutest miniature schnauzer! The staff at Hawk's Nest are excellent and friendly people. In the general area (within about a 10 mile or so radius) I definitely recommend venturing out to Fayetteville - awesome, artsy little river town. Some of the best dining you will find in the country is right here. Diogi's is a MUST (dog lovers, head here asap!!) as is Pies& Pints. Tudor's Biscuit World is a WV breakfast staple. Also, check out Three Rivers Avian Center in the general vicinity - they do wonderful work in our state rescuing and rehabbing birds of prey.

Room Tip: All are relatively similar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpkoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Level Contributor
362 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Trip with family for Mom and Dad's 50th anniversary. Mom is in wheelchair, needed ADA room which many places in area don't have. Made reservations way in advance,had to get rooms on seperate floors. On checkin, were able to get rooms together. Enjoyed supper and the free breakfast in the third floor restauratn with awesom view of gorge and the bridge. Drove down the dirt road in Anisted to the jet boat dock because we couldn't get down the two flights of stairs to the tram ticket office or the full flight of stairs at the bottom platform. There are still twelve stairs from the nature center/gift shop to the boat dock, but they are wide enough to haul a wheelchiar down one at a time. One guy caught a good sized fish while waiting on the boat. To avoid missing the boat, be aware that the times on the signs at the lodge don't match the current boat times. Ticket office opens at 11 am and first boat departs at 11:30. Final trip times are also wrong on sign, so double check.

Room Tip: Get gorge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had a great time visiting Hawks Nest. The rooms were clean and well cared for. The pool isn't heated so we didn't swim. We didn't spend the extra for the gorge view and I wouldn't waste my money on it. The forest view was fantastic. I almost rated it it good because the breakfast was so bad. One of the worst continental breakfasts I've ever eaten. They had a raisin oatmeal bread that was rotten literally, and there was nothing healthy to eat except apples.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a gorge view room. The forest view is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McConnelsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

You have wonderful views from the dining room as well as the viewing platforms, the restaurant has a very good section of food at a very decent price, most of all the breakfast is very good, they have a morning breakfast that comes with your stay but you can also purchase the deluxe breakfast for an additional $5.99 that is a bargain, more that one person can eat, the staff was all very friendly and helpful in any way, would recommend to a friend

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
23.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
20.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Property: Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawks Nest State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing