We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great park, nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great park, nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was here for one day in September and I have to admit, I had fun. To start things off, I had a pretty small room with a smaller bathroom. Traveling solo, that didn't bother me although if I was traveling with someone else, that room would have felt super tight. The TV was something out of the Flintstones but what bother me more was the lack of channels. No microwave or refrigerator but that would be asking a lot, eh? But instead, I had a fantastic view of New River it was definitely pretty to look at.

The lodge comes with a tramway that take you down to New River. There you can hiked around and explored. I took a jet-boat ride that proves to be quite interesting and entertaining. The skipper of the boat proves to be skillful as colorful and I had a chance to look up to that New River Bridge from the river. That was fun! Tramway itself looks bit old but reliable. The restaurant there appears to be well staffed and the food proves to be quite tasty. The front desk staff proves to be well-mannered and professional. The hike to the overlook proves to be quite nice and the view is very good. I woke up in the morning gazing over the New River and felt pretty good about it.

The lodge does show its age and it isn't what I would called "handicapped friendly" in many areas. Although the lodge and room was pretty clean, for some reason, it didn't feel very clean. I sprayed my bathtub down with my own "scrubbing bubbles" but I thought the room could have use a good vacuuming as well.

Room Tip: If you can't move well or slightly disabled or worst, you better let them know ahead of time so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SirHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
49
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here a couple of days for a wedding and wish we had been there a little longer. The room was average old still hotel room. Don't expect any modern day amenities such as coffeemaker, hair dryer, microwave or mini fridge in the standard room. If you can get a room over looking the canyon, it is amazing to wake up to everyday. We were on the bottom floor, which we called the basement, and every morning had a little raccoon playing in the courtyard. :0)

The staff was very friendly, especially in the restaurant. The free breakfast was nothing special, but you could order from the menu for a small price.

When we get back to this area, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canyon view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! We stayed 2 nights at the lodge and had a wonderful time. Our room on the 1st floor was nice and roomy. It had a queen bed, a couch with pull out bed, a chair, a table with 4 chairs, 2 flat screen tv's, a microwave & refridgerator, and a nice big bathroom. The rooms arent real fancy, but very clean. We had racoons on our patio at night wanting in and scratching on the door. We found out that our upstairs neighbors were feeding them tho. SO DONT FEED THE ANIMALS! The view from the restaurant is breathtaking! The food & service in the restaurant was awful though. We only ate there once and then decided to go into town for other meals. The drink machines run out by afternoon and you'll have to go into town to get a drink. The park stays busy so they cant keep the machines full all the time. There is a gas station/conv. store about a mile down the road. The tram ride to the bottom of the mountain is a must! We also road the boat at the bottom and really enjoyed that! The boat takes you to see the beautiful bridge. There are gift shops, one by the lodge, and one at the bottom of mountain. There are walking trails, tennis courts, basketball courts, and a playground for the kids. We will definately visit here again!

Room Tip: The rooms on top floors have best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shana1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The lodge is in a great location,just a short drive to the New River Gorge Bridge and Adventures on the Gorge. The room was clean and we had a great view of the Gorge from our balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We needed to head into the area and there are very few places to stay along Gauley RIver. Had stayed at the Lodge years ago and thought we would try it again. Had a large corner room with a king size bed, small refrigerator, couch, flat screen tv and a great view. We were on the 4th floor and had a gauley and a forest view. Other than windows needing cleaned, the room was in good condition except for some recaulking that should be done in the bathroom tub area. Everything was clean, carpet seemed almost new, bed was comfortable but could use some better pillows. Did not use the outdoor pool but it looked very nice and had lounge chairs and a couple tables with umbrellas. Grandkids would have loved it if they had been with us. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy7799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you want to get away from it all. This a perfert get away for visiting the New River Gorge from the bottom ridge to top of the mountain. Hawks Nest has a tram that will take you down to the river for a river boat ride to take great pictures of the bridge. Also enjoying route 60 will add to the experience. Enjoy the seasonal fall view too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous views, friendly staff. The jet boat ride was amazing and the cutest little couple run it. We had a blast. We didn't stay in the lodge, so I can't speak for it, but everything else was great! I highly recommend stopping here and the boat ride is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluvdodgetrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
23.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
19.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
20.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Property: Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawks Nest State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing