We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn New River(Fayetteville)(Great Value!)
$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Summersville)
$85
$76
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Summersville)(Great Value!)
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Summersville)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
49
76
32
12
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
76
32
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjet boatnew river gorgeforest viewelevator accessdining room was closedoutdoor poolbalconies overlookingmotorcycle tripwest virginiascreen doorgreat trailstram ridehiking trailsfree continental breakfasthawks nest state parkbed was very comfortablewaffle maker
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 170 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful state park lodge on a motorcycle trip with friends. The rooms were clean and mine had a terrific view of the gorge and the New River Bridge in the distance. The staff were very helpful. The surprising part was the excellent restaurant with delightful cooked to order selections. Best restaurant in all the WV State Parks.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This lodge has the most beautiful view from the balcony sliding glass doors. Our view was a stunning view of the New River gorge from about 800 feet above the river surface. We sat on our small balcony in the morning watching hawks and turkey vultures soaring over the gorge - absolutely peaceful and amazing location. The lodge room is on par with a medium type motel, very clean and functional, tv reception is good, standard channel selection, bathroom clean, good water pressure. A free, hot breakfast is included, and the view from the restaurant takes advantage of the absolutely perfect location of the lodge. The lodge even includes an outdoor pool - since it only opened for the season a few days before our stay, let me tell you the water was cold, but refreshing after a hike that included 800 wooden steps! If you are planning a trip to the New River gorge area, don't miss at least one night here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river gorge view. Note, there is a racoon that shows up every day (in the afternoon) looking for some food scraps from the people on balconies above. He (she) is cute and well behaved, but we probably shouldn't encourage this behavior.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I have had the lodge on my bucket list since traveling to UVA in 1983. This is a lovely setting overlooking the New River gorge area. Very clean. Peaceful. Rooms are smallish, but a great place for enjoying all the area has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoiaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lot's of folks seem to like this place, and it is very well maintained, but know that the building is concrete, and was constructed in 1970, and the decor strikes me as that of a 1970's Library or school. If you don't mind the "institutional-decor", this might be a decent place to stay as it is very close to very beautiful parks, and scenery.
Best of the best eateries are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Check that you get the room with the view you want.... All the view you can stand is just outside the building in nice weather.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverageNiceGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed at Hawk's Nest on several occasions in the past year. The lodge is an older, but interesting, building. There are several lounge areas throughout the lodge and its location is its greatest asset. Some updating of the rooms is gradually taking place. Most of the rooms are somewhat small, but the space is adequate. During all of our stays we had a flat screen TV. There is Wi-Fi available in some of the public areas but not in the rooms. We recommend a canyon view room. Some of the rooms do not have elevator access and you must carry your bags up or down the stairs. If this is an issue for you, be sure to inquire about accessibility. During one stay, we had room 320 which is a canyon view room on the walk-in level. Some rooms have in-room coffee pots; others do not. Coffee is available in the main lobby in the mornings. None of the rooms we have had had hairdryers, so bring your own. The contracted restaurant's continental breakfast is pretty sparse. It consists of oatmeal, grits, hard-boiled eggs, pastries and breads and two types of cereal. There is a hot breakfast available, but the one time we ordered it, it was a microwaved plate of breakfast foods, not freshly cooked. We did not eat any other meals at the restaurant. The current vendor is quite disappointing. In the past, the breakfast food at the lodge was quite good. Overall, for the money, Hawk's Nest is a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the West Virginia mountains. The park staff are always friendly and accommodating. All of the rooms we've had were spotlessly clean. It's a great area for hiking, rafting, rock climbing and sightseeing. Don't miss driving down the Fayette Station Road which you can access near the New River Gorge Bridge. What a treat!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have elevator access. If carrying your luggage up or down stairs is a problem for you, be sure to ask for either a room on the walk-in level or one in the section which does have elevator access.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingfoolGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews