We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Location is everything! Beautiful view! Everyone from check-in desk to waitress is very nice. The building is old. Would be an overall excellent experience if the bathrooms could be blown up and remodeled. Also food at the lodge is just average.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evardaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    71
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
60
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

you can tell this hotel is old, but it was also clean, the breakfast in the morning wasn't the best to choose from, so we just had oatmeal which was good. the view from our room and from the dining area was absolutely beautiful!

Room Tip: the higher up looking towards the gorge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A standard state park stay in a hotel - not luxury or new, but a good stay and place to sleep when you're out being adventurous during the day. View from the balcony was gorgeous and overlooked the Gorge. Breakfast in the morning was decent - an array of muffins, donuts, and coffee. Pool looked nice, but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: As for a view looking onto the Gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhlabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

All the staff was very courteous and the suite that me and my wife stayed in had a spectacular view would recommend to anyone! The tram ride added a spectacular view to the beautiful hills! And my kids absolutely loved the nature center along with the trails taking the nature hikes

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ironworker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent two nights, really enjoyed it. It's not new, it's not luxury, it's a state park lodge. Everything was clean, and the staff was very pleasant. Hope to go back someday and do more exploring around the park.
The focus of our stay was the "Bridgewalk" under the New River Gorge Bridge. Wow, that was an experience. Really, really liked it.
Back to the lodge. Our first night was a Sunday and we hadn't had dinner, so we tried the restaurant. Horrible. Service was bad, only a few tables but it was taking for EVER. They were out of the first item I ordered, so the server suggested something else, and they were out of that too. The dinners we did get, came out so overcooked they were not edible. They adjusted our bill, but we never saw anyone in charge. The second night we ate before returning to the lodge.
The morning breakfast included with stay was OK, they offer a "super breakfast" for an extra $6. Well worth it, we split it between the two of us, it was plenty.
Note to Lodge Manager. It's a good distance to restaurants in the area, so the lodge restaurant can make a huge difference in the overall experience. It needs a lot of work, especially at the prices they charge, ($16 for a "chopped sirloin steak", which was a frozen hamburger patty). It was the only negative of our visit.
We got a valley view room, which was nice. There is a small balcony, and a screen door which was really a plus.

Room Tip: I would recommend the valley view on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluepelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My family stayed here after 2 nights of camping in the rain, so we were ready for soft, dry beds, and the Lodge gave us just what we needed. We had a corner suite, which was wonderful, as it gave us great views of the forest and canyon, as well as an extra sitting area, which was nice. We ate dinner at the restaurant, which is a funny, small-town kind of place, offering just a few dishes but very willing to help us find something our boys would like, and offering a great homemade dessert that made everyone happy--and, again, with a spectacular view. The continental breakfast offered oatmeal and the like, but the bigger eaters opted for the "Super Breakfast," which was $5.99 for plenty of food. My only complaint is about the descriptions of the hiking trails on the website, and the signage on the trails themselves. We embarked on one hike only to find that, when we got to end of the trail, there was no way back to the lodge except to re-trace our footsteps or walk along the windy, dangerous route 60, which was not how it was described on the website. A worker at the gift shop called a park ranger to come pick us up, which was nice. (The ranger said he does not recommend that hike to anyone!) Another hike was described pretty well, but when I got to the bottom of the gorge, there was no signage to let me know where to go to find the next trail. I just explored and wandered around a bit, finding the dam, which was cool to see, and the tram station. The aerial tramway and jet boats are two big attractions connected to the state park and lodge; we did not do either, but we enjoyed everything else we did. We did play golf at the course 5 miles down the road; you get a free round with an overnight stay and just pay the cart fee. The course was a little shaggy and very buggy, but it was okay for our family. Picky golfers might not like it. We also went fishing down near Chimney Corner and the Cotton Hill bridge on the recommendation of that ranger who had given us the ride. My 8-year-old caught a small bass on his first cast. This is not a lively place, but it gave us a great "headquarters" from which to hike, mountain bike, fish, and see the New River Gorge bridge. There are very few restaurants in the area and nothing "flashy" to do, but it was just what this family wanted for some outdoor adventure time, in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite for amazing views and light. Higher floors probably have better views, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Quite a surprise! The building is aging and showing that age, but everything was CLEAN!! Small place, very quiet. Had a room overlooking gorge and could see New River Bridge in the distance. Staff could not have been nicer. Saw some things that needed updated, but they had been mended nicely. Everything but the carpeting was white - sheets, towels, bedspreads, shower curtain and they did not have one speck of dirt on them. No mold,mildew..nothing. The restaurant has recently changed managers and the food was average...not bad, not really good...but it was a little pricy. They have a free contential breakfast and it was above adequate. Three hot cereals, boiled eggs, cold cereal, toast, breakfast pastry, etc. They offered a huge breakfast for $5.99, which did not sound bad. Thought about asking for extra pillows, then opened the dresser and each drawer had a pillow in it! Thoughtful. Would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor with a New River Gorge view. You'll love watching the racoons a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
213 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
23.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
18.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
102 reviews
24.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Property: Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawks Nest State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in Hawks Nest State Park and offers breathtaking views of the New River and Hawks Nest Lake. The lodge offers three styles of accommodation. Standard rooms offer a choice of woodland or gorge views. Corner suites provide a seating area and balcony overlooking the canyon with a picture window facing the forest. The deluxe suite offers two rooms, two balconies facing the forest and front of the lodge and a fireplace for cozy relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing