We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited menu and surly hostess”

Hawks Nest Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Ansted
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Lodge restaurant in state park.
Boston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Limited menu and surly hostess”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

First, I will compliment our waitress because she was very sweet and without her this review would be a one star. We got to the lodge a little before 8 pm and after driving most of the day we didn't feel up to looking for somewhere else to eat. The lady at registration told us that the restaurant was open until 9, so we went straight up. The hostess looked at us like, oh no, now we have to serve these people and can't get out of here early. She waved her hand in the direction of the dining room and sat "sit anywhere." There were a couple of other guests dining but there were plenty of open tables. The food was ok. I had rice with my chicken and I think it was Minute Rice, which I do sometimes use at home but you don't expect with a $15 dinner. The chicken was grilled and it was ok but had sort of a vinegary marinade that was weird. When we went to pay, the surly hostess took the bill, didn't say anything, almost as if to sigh in relief that we were finally leaving. So, if you are looking for a relaxing and scrumptious meal, you won't find it here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LolaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    14
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wise, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Romantic Candlelight Dinner”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This romantic Valentine's trip was a bust when it came to the "Romantic Candlelight Dinner" at the Hawks Nest Resturant. Getting drinks took 45 minutes after request was made to two different waitresses, the steak that was preordered to come medium came very rare and we had to track down a waitress in order to get corrected which came our WELL DONE! The baked sweet potatoe was not done and the honey buttter was YUK!
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT BECAUSE OF THE SERVICE AND THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eatoutone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston wv
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful view while eating”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stopped here on our visit in the late fall. The restaurant had a much smaller menu because of the slow season. We chose a salad since everything else was to high priced. The salad was small and pricey as well but we were famished. It was burgers fries and sandwiches basically. We took a gamble to find somewhere else to eat after bit. The view from the restaurant was wonderful. If nothing else I would go back just to grab a drink and look at that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The only good part of our meal was that we didn't get food poisoning...”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Should have known better when we called to make reservations and the front desk laughed and said that won't be necessary. First, I ordered a NY strip steak (medium), but received something like a T-bone (really a mystery as to what it was) that was well done. We also ordered white fish which came out lukewarm. My wife asked for a certain type of dressing and was told they didn't have it, only to see the couple at the table next to us receive that very dressing. Kids mac & cheese was straight out of the box and microwaved. Service was terrible. They even tried to stick in someone elses bill with ours. The only bright spot was that we didn't get food poisoning from eating here. I take that back, the live Journey album blasting out of the kitchen created a nice classic rock atmosphere which I quite enjoyed... NOT!!!

I can understand that it is difficult to run a restaurant, but if you aren't even going to serve warm food using fresh ingredients (aside from flavor, presentation, etc.), you shouldn't be managing a restaurant. Avoid this very overpriced place at all costs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus IN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Inn and ate at the restaurant for breakfast. Service was horrible. Breakfast tolerable. Don't waste your time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMooreColumbusIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawks Nest Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hawks Nest Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing