We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't Bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Mystery Hole

The Mystery Hole
WV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was a old room in the basement of building, which probably hasn't been updated in 20 years and to boot the staff were rude plus there was a long wait. They won't allow cameras/phones I think because its so awful and they don't want pics of it getting out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravelerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    13
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenup, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mystery Hole Still Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I first went to the Mystery Hole in the late 1970's while visiting relatives in Ansted, WV. I have taken friends there over the years and it is always enjoyable. The new owners are very personable and continue the traditions of Don Wilson, builder and original owner. Highly recommend at trip to the Mystery Hole!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank electriclazyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Roadside Route 60 WV attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Roadside attractions like The Mystery Hole used to define family vacations, even if you were like me and now only remember them as the places your father refused to stop. Now that we're in the front seat. I make it a point to say "yes" to number of classic tourist attractions remaining. The Mystery Hole is one of those that made us glad we did. From the crap-stuffed gift-shop entrance to the "hole" itself, it's all cheesy goodness. Even our kid appreciated it. Cheap Grizwold's would love this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JCII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Can't believe how much I enjoyed this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

So incredibly cheesy, so incredibly entertaining. I feel embarrassed to have enjoyed this as much as I did. This is classic. Part of me wants to say it's so bad it's good, but that doesn't do it justice. The people who work here are so passionate about making sure you have a good time. Simple, inexpensive, old-school fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time Warp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved this place!.... The tour guide was awesome. A handsome, young guy, about 18 - 20 - very charismatic and funny; He set the tone for a fun and lighthearted tour - I could see this being a boring or uneventful attraction with someone with less personality.
If you get a chance - DEFINITELY go see! For 40 somethings and older, take the kids or grandkids..these old, whimsical, nostalgic places are far and few between.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lilsis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mystery Hole also viewed

 

Been to The Mystery Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing