We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawks Nest Lodge
Save
You added Hawks Nest Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ansted
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Hawks Nest Lodge is run by the state parks so no luxury or trendy decor here. The rooms are clean and basic and definitely need updating. My room did not include a coffee maker or refrigerator but other members of my family got these items on a slightly higher priced room so make sure you specify you want these amenities. They did have free wi-fi and good TV options so that made up for the spartan room. Despite the deficiencies it's a worthwhile option because the views of the gorge are lovely. There are also a number of hiking trails that are easily accessible from the hotel as well as a tram and boat rides. It's a great option for a no-frills family trip in a beautiful area and it's a great option for the budget traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 259MJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
233 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The Hawks Nest Lodge is an older lodge that could use some updating. It's clean and comfortable and the staff are first rate. Parking is great but go else ware for meals. The restaurant offers fair food, but drive for a good meal. The jet boat ride is terrific.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belpre, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

stayed here 12 years ago . was nice. decided to go back . booked a room with a king bed and a view of the gorge. got there and our view was the parking lot. did not have another room. went to the restaurant, they were out of most everything on the menu. this was 4 hours before they closed. food was awful. room was very old and outdated

Room Tip: our room was very quiet on the 4th floor. just no view from ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ansted hotels

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

West Virginia state run park but clean efficient but not luxury rooms. The bed was comfortable and the view was awesome overlooking the guards down to the river. As I sat on my balcony, I could see the Hawks soaring in circles above the river which really added to my time there. By all means have dinner at the restaurant and you'll be served by the locals who are friendly yet give great service and serve comfort meals. Great location along route 60 as you head from Charleston to the new River Gorge Bridge in Fayetteville.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choochoo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel is on State Park property, actual address is Ansted (not far from Beckley). Booked room with view of the Gorge and the view with definitely worth the extra $7, spectacular view of the New River from the balcony. Nice outdoor pool and did the GSYP trail down to the river and then back up with the aerial tramway which was very nice. Rooms dated and basic but very clean. The onsite restaurant is operated by a separate owner but you go there for the free continental breakfast which is very basic (no waffles or yoghurt for example just toast,cereals, grits and oatmeal). We did have dinner there as well which was excellent (the meat loaf and prawn basket), lovely friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toulouse31470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

If you want great views and a convenient location to the air tram, jet boat ride and hiking trails, it is all right there. Sacrifice a little luxury but not cleanliness. Restaurant breakfast is horrible, the complementary one and the one that cost $5.99. Skip it and have make a different plan. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would love to go back in the fall for that gorge view!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenMarie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here with family for whitewater rafting on the Gauley and
New Rivers. The lodge is definitely not up to par with hotels in other states, but this is in the mountain districts of one of the poorest states in the union, so you can't find too much fault with it. They do a great job with what they have. Rooms can be rough-looking but they are clean and liveable. The lodge staff does a great job cleaning, this is a place where sheets are actually washed every day! The beds are very nice, and if you can forgive appearances the room will serve you well for sleeping. Bathrooms were good, water temp. and pressure were faultless, but the bathrooms are rather small and look like they could do with some renovation. They have a restaurant but it isn't that good, so dine out somewhere. Breakfast is meager but acceptable.

Room Tip: The view is fantastic, get a room with one, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaymanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
23.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
19.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
0.3 mi away
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest Lodge

Property: Hawks Nest Lodge
Address: 177 West Main St, Ansted, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ansted
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Highway 19 outside of Beckley into the mountains and Hawks Nest State Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest Hotel Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing