We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Fidalgo Drive-In

Fidalgo Drive-In
Ranked #58 of 91 Restaurants in Anacortes
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American
Description: Open everyday. Very popular with locals. We serve an all-day breakfast in addition to our menu, which is full of burger choices, fries, seafood platters, clam chowder, salads, and, of course, 17 milkshake flavors.
Restaurant details
Description: Open everyday. Very popular with locals. We serve an all-day breakfast in addition to our menu, which is full of burger choices, fries, seafood platters, clam chowder, salads, and, of course, 17 milkshake flavors.
Anacortes, WA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is an old A & W restaurant and I go in here maybe 3 or 4 times a year. The food is pretty good but what we really like are the 2-fer coupons they always have in the local Clamdigger advertising magazine. When you can buy one and get one free then it's a very attractive deal! We've gone in to have a burger special, then ordered fries and drinks and the bill was kind of shocking so now we just stick to the 2-fers. Their Diet Pepsi always tastes like root beer to me, too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelnutBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anytown, usa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Onion Rings!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place has yummy crispy onion rings. The burgers are okay, nothing special. They are old fashioned styled burgers. The menu is not as inexpensive as the local fast food restaurants but you have to try the place anyway.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandEWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOU
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Would not go to again”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

How can you mess up a milkshake? They managed! We didn't eat here, we stopped because my husband and daughter love milkshakes and they had a big sign that said they had 17 flavors...so we thought they would be 'known' for their milkshakes. My daughter and I got small milkshakes and my husband got a large...which looked like it was probably made with 3 pints of ice cream---it was so big. I threw mine away after a couple of sips. My husband drank about 1/8 of his. It just wasn't that good. We both got strawberry milkshakes and it tasted like the strawberries were the frozen slushy kind.

It did have a nice area to sit outside.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michforoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
“What a great place for lunch”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Took all the grandkids here. They were very busy, but we were helped right away. The crew was working really hard and brought extra napkins for the little ones knowing that they may need them for their root beer floats! The kids had corn dogs and chicken and we had their Oyster Dinner with their really yummy Salmon Chowder and Crab Bisque Soup! We will be back for you.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dottiep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dungeness Crab-burgers in Anacortes”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Why have a hamburger (also available) when you could have a Dungeness crab-burger? With melted cheese, lettuce, and tomato. A unique specialty of the Fidalgo Drive-In in Anacortes. Scrumptious. The crab is local and fresh; each burger is cooked to order. The perfect place to stop on the way to or from the San Juan ferries--eat in or take away. We stop here every time we're in Anacortes. This used to be an A&W, but taken over by the family 6 years ago, keeping their local own seafood specialties. (Oysters, too) Not much to look at, but they have booths inside and an outdoor patio for summer--even a view of Mt. Baker. Popular with locals--who know a good value.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RainedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fidalgo Drive-In also viewed

Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Fidalgo Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing