We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful and Quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nantucket Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nantucket Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved the Nantucket Inn in Anacortes. It is on the edge of town, so it is quiet despite being on the main commercial road through town. Be aware that some of the other lodging in the downtown area may have a lot of traffic noise and noise from bars with live music. We had the Garden Room, which overlooked beautifully landscaped grounds. Comfortable bed, and very clean. A corner room, we were able to open windows on both sides for wonderful fresh air. The room is on the west side, so can be quite warm if the sun is shining so you might want to close the blinds when you leave for the day. Our host, Matt, had thoughtfully opened the windows for our arrival. The room is a little small, but has a foyer area that opens into the toilet room and the spacious bath. We were able to stage our luggage, ice chest, and other paraphenalia in the foyer with no problem. Nice fluffy towels.
Matt's breakfasts were fabulous: delicious omlets. Matt himself is a charming dynamo, and all of his recommendations for restaurants and sights were very enjoyable. He also gave us a large trash bag to contain our leaking styrofoam ice chest (after offering to loan us one of the Inn's), let us borrow wine glasses, dishes, and flatware for picnics. Beaufiully restored old home. You must check out the gorgeous Art Deco tiles on the fireplace. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the water or mountains. Stairs are a bit steep for those with mobility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caren98221, Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return the next time you are in Anacortes!

Kindest Regards,

Matt and Caren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
54
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had planned this trip for years. I was blown away by photos, but this is a case of "what you see, is not what you get". Carpet filthy, no one to greet us, tiny room stuck in the back of the house (even though the place was empty). Topper was when the bath faucet came off in my hand and i couldn't turn the HOT water off. I was IN THE TUB. Jumped out, dressed, ran around looking for owner (no one on premises). I even went down into the lower level looking for someone (i didnt go far however because it was scary dirty). in the meantime as i was making my way back to my tiny room to try to solve the running hot water issue, ran into another guest who was concerned that the fire alarm was going off. I hadn't even noticed that new concern. Total chaos and no one to ever b found. --finally got the handle screwed back in but it was a trauma. And the other guest must have figured out the smoke alarm issue. i never received a response to several calls to the owner --not all night. Breakfast next morning was below par for a self-proclaimed chef. All in all I wanted my money back. Didn't have to ask. He offered. Don't know what is going on with this place, but hope they figure it out before others experience this kind of thing. For the price, it should have been much better! For any price, it should have been much better. seem to be in some sort of crisis.

Room Tip: If you are still brave enough to try this, Ask for other than the Garden Suite which is a postage st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TA4189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caren98221, Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Nantucket Inn. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your experience.

It is unfortunate that you were unhappy with the room you selected. You are correct that we had low occupancy that night, however we provided you with the very room you had reserved despite its size.

We apologize again for the issue you had with the tub in your room. We have had a plumber correct the problem so that no one else experiences that in the future. And unfortunately the smoke alarm battery died while you were visiting. I personally replaced the battery myself as soon as I received your phone call - not another guest. We did, as you noted, offer to give you your room for free because of your troubles.

We are extremely conscious of the security of our guests and property and as such, we lock up when we leave. We are taking measures to ensure that our guests follow the same protocol and are reviewing this with staff. This summer was unusually hot and perhaps someone propped the door open because they were hot inside.

It is not a secret that we run a catering company like many others in our industry, and apologize if it interfered with your stay.

Again, we are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience and would love to show you what our other guests rave about if you ever return to our area. It's unfortunate that out of the 9 reviews you have submitted, 6 of the establishments you visited were given one star (terrible) reviews. We hope that your travel experiences improve overall in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Caren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I can't believe I've been going to Anacortes for 20 years and have NEVER stayed at the Nantucket inn!! The inn has recently been beautifully remodeled is very comfortable! One of the owners of the Inn, Matt, provided us with exceptional service. Wonderful conversation, yummy breakfasts great recommendations for area restaurants and charter fishing trips. Definitely a must stay in Anacortes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisan406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caren98221, Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return the next time you are in Anacortes!

Kindest Regards,

Matt and Caren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Nantucket inn was the perfect spot for a relaxin couple of days. The inn was beautiful and very comfortable. The innkeeper, Matt, provided us with exceptional service. Wonderful conversation, food, and hospitality. Definitely a must stay in Anacortes!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elwilson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caren98221, Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return the next time you are in Anacortes!

Kindest Regards,

Matt and Caren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night and would recommend to others if looking for a place in Anacortes. The inn keepers were very nice. My only complaint is that it is off a main road and traffic noise was high at times, also the wood floors made a loud echo and tended to be extremely noisy in the morning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We rented the WHOLE INN! for three nights. It was wonderful!
Every two years, our small family of now 15 (10 adults, 4 youth, 1 toddler) have a family reunion for 3-4 days. One of the things we have discovered is:
1) We need a place where we can all be together. Separate accomodations even in the same hotel just doesn't give us enough face time. The large living room on the main floor and dining areas at the Inn provided exactly the right environment for our family to talk, play games, listen to music, and watch a sappy old movie together on the large Flat Screen TV.
2) We need lots of bathrooms. Indeed the Inn accomadated that in style with 3 extra bathrooms outside the 8 in the rooms.
3) We need comfortable beds that are large enough for our very tall grown sons. At the Inn, we found large rooms with King beds that allowed plenty of room for them.
4) We need to limit the climbing of stairs for us old people. Personally, an added plus at the Inn was that our bedroom was on the main floor. No stairs to climb.
5) Preparing Dinner the first night is always a hassle to avoid because we are tired from the trip to get where we are going. We chose to have our first meal together catered by Matt using his catering service that works out of the basement of the Inn. The meal was wonderful. The beef ribs with his award-winning sauce were marvelous. The portions were so large that we had plenty left over for lunch the next day. Matt turned on the Gazebo's Lights and we ate outside in the Garden. It was wonderful! We had Cheesecake and Fresh Strawberry shortcake that was out of this world good. I know. I overstuffed. Incidentally, the Gazebo proved to be a great spot for the required family photos.
6) We need to eat every meal as a family. We fixed all our own breakfasts for the rest of the stay. We were delighted that in addition to the Kitchen mentioned as being in the third floor suite (which is huge!); there is a separate kitchen on the main floor that has pots, pans, dishes, utensils, gas range and oven, microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator and freezer. Since, we had the whole Inn, we used it well; just like at home. We bought groceries at the nearby Safeway and The Market. Kite String was found at Ace Hardware. (Thanks Matt)
7) Another requirement we have is that we be close to available recreation activities without a lot of time getting there. We found that the San Juan Ferry being close worked well for our family and even provided walk-on discounts where we had 10 people traveling at once. We also spent time at nearby Deception Pass and flew Kites at Camp Casey on Whidby Island and got back in plenty of time to enjoy the evening. Some of us went Fishing for Salmon off American Camp in the San Juans and caught not only Salmon but got to watch a pod of itenerant Orca Whales as well.
8)We always need to allow some of the Family to return to work early. That has been a hassle in the past. But, Anacortes has a Airporter Shuttle that runs every evening to Seattle. That allowed our oldest daughter to be with us for 3 of the 4 days and leave a day early to return to work in Seattle. That was nice. She caught the shuttle at the Shell Station a few blocks from the Inn the last evening we were there.
9) We get tired of cooking for ourselves. Both the fact that Matt can provide breakfast as well as dinner was a consideration. Because of the ecletic appetites of some of the children, we chose to breakfast. Other meals we eat where we are. The last night, we had chowder across the street from the Inn. It was wonderful. And all we had to do was walk across the road; no big car caravan required.
The Inn was exactly what we needed. It was clean, it was spacious, it was centrally located to the activities we wanted to do. Matt was very helpful and generous. We were delighted that we chose this place for our family reunion.

Room Tip: Some rooms have queen beds; others king beds. If you are tall; be aware of that. Some rooms are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed for only one night before heading out to Orcas Island for the weekend. All I can say is we wish we had a couple more nights at the Nantucket! It's a great historical house that has a great combination of privacy (i.e. private bathrooms), and interaction with other guests (breakfast in the morning). Very comfortable beds, clean rooms. We wound up staying too long because we were enjoying ourselves, and we missed the first ferry! Even then, we sat on the beach by the docks, in great sunny weather so was not a problem. Matt was a fantastic host, gave us some history on the town and pointed us in the right direction for cruising around. The breakfast was the perfect thing to wake up to in the morning, great chef!! I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anacortes hotels
2.9 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
5.0 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantucket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantucket Inn

Property: Nantucket Inn
Address: 3402 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4228
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Nantucket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing