We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good burgers and open (for Anacortes) late!”

The Brown Lantern Ale House
Ranked #8 of 99 Restaurants in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed June 15, 2019

A late running ferry from the islands lead us to the unhappy discovery that most(?) restaurants in Anacortes seem to close at 8:30 or 9pm. An online search for “late night dining” (we're talking 8:55pm here...) led us to the Brown Lantern. What a happy accident! Discovered a very friendly tavern/restaurant (one part of the dining room is all ages) with very good burgers and great service. They won Best Tavern & Best Burger in 2019’s Best of Anacortes and I can see why. The Lamb Burger was tasty & perfectly cooked & bacon cheeseburger was deliciously messy. Interior is lots of dark wood, sort of sports bar meets old timey saloon. Excellent beer selection with lots of small brewery options. The two staff members we met were friendly, funny & welcoming. Now that we know about this place, we will head for it as a first choice when traveling thru Anacortes.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Cedars2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 327 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

My favorite, are the fish tacos!
It is a very popular place so get there early.
We like the round table when we are a group.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank bgbertil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Great service, friendly servers and GREAT food....Salads, burgers and fish were all WONDERFUL!! Not exactly on our route ...from Whidbey Island ..but definitely worth the miles!!!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gjabsama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Great food. Fun atmosphere. Small town feel. We try to go at least 1-2 times a month. Sometimes they have music as well.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank navyfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Fabulous spot with full bar and family friendly. Great food and fun atmosphere. Large with outdoor garden. The staff is fun and friendly. Plenty of TVs and music. Street parking only but worth coming as food was Delicious. Lots of memorabilia.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank dianebS2450BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Lantern Ale House also viewed

Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to The Brown Lantern Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing