We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently a great time with great service”
Review of Island Adventures

Island Adventures
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We pride ourselves as being one of the most experienced and dedicated whale-watching companies in Washington. Because of our very high success rate, Island Adventures was one of the first and only companies to guarantee whale sightings on every tour - but it's our team of highly qualified crew that will make your trip unforgettable! They boast over 100 years of combined experience in the islands, over 4100 days with the whales, and have led excursions for over 80,000 satisfied customers.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just returned from our 4th whale watch with Island Adventures, and they do an outstanding job. They treat our kids very well, and work to make sure that kids are able to get a front-row seat when we spot whales. Their prices are reasonable, and they provide a free pass for a future trip if you don't see whales.

That's never happened to us: we've seen whales (lots and lots of orcas) every time.

They do a very good job with the educational component both to and from the whale viewing.

Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the review! As a repeat guest of ours, we are honored that you keep choosing Island Adventures for whale watching. Thank you for pointing out some of the great aspects of our tours, including our kid friendly program and vessel, whale guarantee, and marine education component. We are happy to have you back so many times and if you don't already have a frequent floater card, don't forget to pick one up in the office the next time we see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 444 of 633 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

All we can say is FAN-SUPER-TASTIC. We chose this for our 13-year anniversary gift to each other and could not have had a more better time! Everything worked out MOST perfect, Mike, Tyler and Brooke were GREAT. We had several other options to choose from and something about their website really tweeked our interest. We are VERY HAPPY we chose them over the other's available. We would MOST definitely reccommend this trip to others. When and if we ever have an opportunity to do this again we will certainly do this.

Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for the review and happy anniversary! Your recommendation and enthusiasm means a lot to us and we are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. We try to make our website as honest and user friendly as possible and we encourage questions by email, phone, and facebook if they come up. Thanks again for leaving a review and we hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My sister came to visit from Colorado & we drove up from Seattle. We had a gorgeous day on the water & cruised into Canadian waters but didn't see a single whale! Luckily a few weeks later We were able to return (for free!) & saw a superpod of mammal-eating orcas! They were playing & jumping and all too soon we had to leave! We must have made up some time, because we got back 30 min early and so we headed right for home and barely got stuck in the wretched Seattle traffic! Props to naturalist Brooke and Capt Carl!

Thank AdrienneSip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your review and for joining us on another trip to find whales! It is rare that we don't see a whale on one of our tours (our success rate this year is 226 out of 230 tours with whales - 98%) so when it happens we give out fluke passes to come for free until you see a whale! It sounds like your second try was a great trip to be on. We've only seen a superpod of orcas a few times this season and a superpod of transient orcas is very special and unique. Thanks again for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Even though I was on one of three tours all year not to see a whale, I had a great time and feel it is a great value for the money. I also love the lifetime guarantee, which I intend to invoke on a trip to the area in the next couple of years. Highly recommend this company.

Thank RiderJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are so looking forward to having you back on a free trip and are excited to show you some whales! Your recommendation is very much appreciated by our office staff and boat crew. Give us a call any time you would like to go again and we will get you all signed up for another tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are going to take a whale watching cruise I would say you can't go wrong with this group. The guys on board really are into nature so you learn alot, plus the excitement in there voices when you come across a pod get's you excited. We saw a couple of other boats out there and this one by far looked the nicest. The day we went it was cold and rainy. There is not enough seating down below for everyone so if you want to sit make sure to get there early and claim a spot. The ride out takes about 1 1/2 hours and we did not see much of anything for that time, so I was very thankful I was sitting below in the warmth. The food was good and very reasonable. Unlimited coffee or soda for $4.00. I was amazed at the picnic food people brought on board. So yes you can bring food on boad but if you do not have a table, be prepared to eat in any corner you can find. The trip was 5 hours and we did see quite a few pods of Orca's. This was my idea and I'm glad I went but it is a long and kinda boring 4 hours with 1 hour of excitment watching the whales. The crew made the trip, if not for them I am sure quite a few people would have taken extensive naps.

Thank Cheri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for the review! Our naturalists and captains are extremely knowledgeable about the local wildlife and love to educate our guests as much as possible about what they are seeing.

On days that look a little rainy, we try to pay attention to the number of passengers on board to make sure that there will be room under covered areas for everyone comfortably. We do encourage everyone to move around the boat and not stay in the same spot the whole time - outside is best for the views and wildlife. We have lots of space at benches, tables, and booths both indoors and covered outdoors to eat picnic lunches at and enjoy the scenery.

Some days take a little longer than others to reach the whales, which is why we have a 5-6 hour tour. This allows us the range to be able to guarantee whales. We point out islands, mammals, seabirds, and other sights along the way to maximize the amount of wildlife seen. Thank you for recognizing the tremendous efforts and knowledge of our crew on your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Adventures also viewed

 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Island Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing