We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience 7/15/13!”
Review of Island Adventures

Island Adventures
Ranked #3 of 15 Tours in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We pride ourselves as being one of the most experienced and dedicated whale-watching companies in Washington. Because of our very high success rate, Island Adventures was one of the first and only companies to guarantee whale sightings on every tour - but it's our team of highly qualified crew that will make your trip unforgettable! They boast over 100 years of combined experience in the islands, over 4100 days with the whales, and have led excursions for over 80,000 satisfied customers.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just left from our whale watching adventure and it was amazing! We got to pass under Deception Pass and when we finally got to see the Orcas we were the only boat in the area and didn't have to share :-) We had a chance to see the Orcas interacting with some harbor seals on a rock. It was almost like they were waving at us at some points. It was a beautiful experience and def would come back to do it again. Not to mention the great staff on board, very friendly and passionate about what they do. Brooke, the North Carolinians think you rock :-) Thank you for a great tour!

Thank cheers2u4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

This trip was such an adventure! It is very rare that we are able to go under the Deception Pass bridge on our quest for whales so this was a real treat, even for the crew members on board. This area is out of range for a lot of the other whale watching boats and we are lucky that we have the range that we do with the Island Explorer 3. This particular tour was made even more fantastic due to the location (as you can see from the other reviews from this day). We are happy you were able to join us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"whale watching"
in 141 reviews
"harbor seals"
in 66 reviews
"captain carl"
in 21 reviews
"see whales"
in 50 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 57 reviews
"the galley"
in 23 reviews
"pods of orcas"
in 25 reviews
"saw orcas"
in 31 reviews
"spy hopping"
in 12 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 8 reviews
"sea world"
in 7 reviews
"port angeles"
in 12 reviews
"j pod"
in 15 reviews
"great trip"
in 34 reviews
"boat ride"
in 17 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 10 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 8 reviews
Filter

503 - 507 of 649 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Expert captain, friendly informative and enthusiastic staff!! Went on an out of the way trip and saw many different forms of wildlife, including a family of six orcas. The orcas were amazing as they hunted and frolicked in the cove. And the surrounding environment was picture perfect Olympic and Cascade mountains with pine covered trees and beautiful seas. Bring your cameras!!!

Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your tour! We love showing our guests as much wildlife as possible and each trip is different so we always have our eyes peeled for birds, animals, and whales! Thanks again for your recommendation - we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been on many whale watching trips around the world and Island Adventures is the very best from top to bottom. If you don't go on a trip with them when you are in Anacortes your are missing out. The San Juan Island are beautiful.

Thank 30,063,006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are flattered to hear that you hold us in such high regard as a seasoned whale watcher! We hope to see you again soon - if you are signed up for our newsletters keep a lookout for periodic discount codes. We sometimes send them out through the season to our repeat guests. We also have contests and giveaways on our facebook page where we put updates and photos from our tours. Have a look!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were referred to Island Adventures by the staff at the hotel - and we were thrilled! Not only did we see pods of orcas, we saw other wildlife: porpoise, harbor seals, bald eagles, turkey vultures and more! The crew were very friendly, helpful, and informative. The vessel was very clean and comfortable. The food was good. We can't find a single bad thing to say. It was an experience to remember! We highly recommend Island Adventures, and look forward to going back. We are not unrealistic in our expectation - we understand that each trip will have a different outcome. No matter what, though, we will always have the memory of an impressive, very fortunately blessed adventure on a gorgeous day, no less! Thank you - many times over Island Adventures! :)

Thank SATHALHEIMER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your review! It's so good to hear that you enjoyed the crew, boat, and wildlife. We try to make all of our trips truly memorable experiences for our guests and it makes us all proud when our efforts are recognized. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our whale watch trip was amazing. We saw many orcas, two minke whales, American eagle, harbor seals, etc. The captain was willing to stay longer in the area in order or us to have more time watching the whales. The naturalist was very knowledgeable and the first mate was great, too. I would highly recommend this company for your whale watch in the Puget Sound.

Thank Kathnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacortesWhales, Owner at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your trip! There is so much to see on all of our tours - many birds, mammals, invertebrates, and marine mammals. Each of our guests receives a free 64 page wildlife viewing guide when they board the Island Explorer 3 that highlights all of the common critters and animals in our area. It is great to use as a reference guide and many kids like to integrate the guides into their school projects.

Thank you for your recommendation and for recognizing our hard working crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Adventures also viewed

 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Island Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing