We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is an OLD hotel without AC and tiny bathrooms without counters. We stayed when they were upgrading their propert next door. They turned off all electricity and did not warn us. No elevators, no light in the pitch black stairwells and NOISY construction. No compensation given. We would NEVER have stayed here had we known. The manager failed to respond to us despite 4 phone calls and messages. Food was overpriced and poor. Service in the restaurant was poor. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaDaytripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I apologize sincerely for your experience at the Majestic. I understand that there was a miscommunication in notifying you about the power outage. Although we notified you before your whale watching excursion about the power outage, we did not expect the outage to last as long as it did. I have reached out and have left a message with you, but I have not heard back since. I feel terrible about the situation and would like to speak with you directly on resolving the situation. –Matt (360) 299-1400 ext. 111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    159
    39
    21
    14
See reviews for
117
298
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We reserved 2 nights at the Majestic and I requested a room to the back of the building after reading of noise on street in front. We were upgraded to a room in the new addition which has only been open a couple of weeks. It is beautiful and has a fun deck on top of the building with a bar and open kitchen with hamburgers and such. Wonderful views in all directions. The staff is most helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are best, due to traffic and a couple of late night bars with music acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jriley7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We’re glad that you were able to enjoy the brand new rooms and the beautiful rooftop bar. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were lucky to stay in room 603 in the new building of the Majestic Inn in Anacortes. The room was beautiful with crown molding even in the bathroom. We had a charming kitchen with a French press coffee maker, fresh ground coffee, beautiful gas fireplace with timer, and a very comfy king size bed with beautiful bedding. The bathroom was very nice with soft towels and comfy bathrobes. The room was huge with a full size couch, desk, flat screen TV with DVD player, bar stools in kitchen area. Our window looked out on grass area and we could look across to buildings across the street. The room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was also extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We’re incredibly happy that you enjoy the new expansion – specifically the new Grande Suites! We worked on delivering what guests asked for, and you highlighted the fruits of our labor. Thank you for being the first to review the new building, and we’ll be sure to reserve a Grande Suite for your next trip to Anacortes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Majestic Inn & Spa is an upscale hotel for a cute little waterfront town. For our wedding, we booked the bridal suite and held our reception in the Grand Room following a ceremony on the beautiful beach at Deception Pass. The hotel staff were very eager to make sure everything went smoothly and they went above and beyond with attention to detail and making sure our guests were well cared for. The history on the hotel was fascinating. I'm happy for them that they are expanding. Their new rooms will have air conditioning, needed in the hotter months.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We’re honored to have had your special day at the Majestic Inn, and that everything exceeded your expectations. Thank you for letting us share your day, and we hope to have you as a guest for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, CT
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I came here as part of a 2-night stop over before venturing onto Vancouver Island. We went on a whale watch and relaxed before continuing on our holiday. The staff are wonderful, our room was large and a wonderful bed. The rooms have been repainted etc. We had booked our stay in the new wing however it was not open when we arrived. They grind their own coffee and will bring it to your room to make coffee in a French press any time day or night. The Inn smells of coffee and it takes a while to adjust to the smell however once you do all is great. It can get noisy as the Inn is right on Commercial Ave., however it should not deter you from staying in this very pleasant Inn. My husband can see us returning.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room not directly on Commercial but it may be tight. Also, there is no AC so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We’re glad that you will return to the Majestic Inn and Spa. We love our coffee in the Pacific Northwest, and we’re happy to share our love with guests. The new wing is now open, and we’d be happy to take your reservation for your next trip to Anacortes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely large room (2 beds for 3 of us) in this hotel as we wanted to be near the ferry to head to Orcas Island the next morning. We had a choice of several restaurants in the area and in the hotel which made it very easy after a long day of travel. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0binh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
The Majestic Inn is centrally located in the heart of downtown Anacortes, and we’re happy that you were able to enjoy that. Thank you for the review, and we’ll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Springs, Nevada, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I went for some much needed time away. The decor, cleanliness and overall atmosphere of the Majestic will not disappoint. We loved the little room up top of the main building that has a wonderful view of the town and all the shops. The staff was super friendly and gave us ideas of where we could go the next day to experience some of the area's attractions. The Romance package was well worth it. The wine and chocolates were a great way to end the night. While there we did noticed other couples and families and we will visit again with the kid's. This is a great place for any kind of getaway and we would highly recommenced you give them a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We’re delighted that the hotel was romantic, and that you found the staff helpful. Whether you’re embarking on a romantic getaway or visiting with children, the Majestic Inn is the perfect vacation destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacortes
3.2 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
389 reviews
6.0 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
361 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
143 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Inn and Spa

Property: Majestic Inn and Spa
Address: 419 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-1518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#1 Business Hotel in Anacortes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully restored Majestic Inn and Spa is a place where history meets luxury. In all its 1800s grandeur, our unique boutique hotel will truly make you feel majestic. Enjoy our exquisitely appointed guest rooms, the award-winning Apothecary Spa, elegant event spaces and the seasonally fresh menus at our 5th Street Bistro and Bar. We are located in the heart of downtown Anacortes, WA. Visit us for relaxation, adventure, a special occasion, a meeting or corporate event, or on your way to the San Juan Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing