We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired Hotel, Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel, Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We choose this hotel during our 2-day stay in Anacortes for a whale watching tour.
The good: The lady behind the desk was friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located conveniently close to the Orca watching departure harbor and the commercial main street. Yet it is nicely quiet, also at night. Just a block up the road is an organic super market and a few blocks further away a Safeway.
The not so good: We had what the hotel calls a "villa". It's up a floor of stairs and has two bedrooms, a living room / kitchenette, but only one bathroom. Also just one toilet inside the single bathroom. This may create minor conflicts. The beds were good, but the carpet was worn and the walls stained. Never managed to get the TV working. (Perhaps that's not such a drawback...)
Parking for the upstairs rooms is limited and results in longish walks with your luggage.
The rooms come with breakfast, but this breakfast is very limited and of pretty average quality.
For a one night stay the Sunrise Inn is convenient and will do nicely. For longer stays with families, it may become a bit tight.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time write a review, Yes we are located close to the Whale watching and to Island Adventures. We are also in walking distance to the Cap Santé Marina. Yes we are also in walking distance to the grocery stores such The Market which is a organic store and Safeway which is a little bit more down the road, we are also in walking distance to a few restaurants. We never had a complaint about the TV here during your stay, if you call the front desk we would be more then gladly to fix the TV. The stains on the wall are from previous guest taking their luggage up the stairs. We do have parking for every room in plus a few more spots. We offer a Continental Breakfast not a full breakfast, in our newly remolded breakfast room we do have assorted bagels, yogurt, apple sauce, fruit cups, hard eggs, cereal, Coffee, Juice and a waffle maker. Our villas do have a full kitchen and living room with a gas fireplace with a full living room, yes our Villas on the second floor and need stairs to access as we do not have a elevator.

Thank you,
Eileen
Sunrise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    102
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
104
141
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Off the main strip about a block and very quiet. Small property. For the price per night, breakfast could've been a lot better: bagels, toast, cereal, coffee. Front desk staff seemed very overwhelmed at check-in with two guests waiting, but she was friendly enough.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank StacetheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a small Inn in Anacortes, we offer a Continental Breakfast and not a full breakfast. We have assorted bagels, toast, cereal, apple sauce, fruit cups, yogurt, hard eggs, Coffee, Juice and a waffle maker. Yes, we are located just a block away from the main st. We also have a sitting room so that our guest can enjoy the view of the Islands and the water. We also just recently added a new building to our Inn with a luxury setting in it, great for couples and anniversaries or for that weekend getaway.

Thank you,
Eileen
Sunrise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here the night before taking the ferry to Friday Harbor. We found the room to be very clean and updated. There is a breakfast room that offers standard continental breakfast fare. Nothing too special, but substantial enough if you want an easy breakfast.

In other cities, I would give this 3 star because it is pretty average. But in this city, its a nice clean bet for a short stay.

I would say there were two negatives:
Our particular room felt a bit more like a motel - our door opened straight to the parking lot. That made it a bit noisy in the morning as a group of motorcyclists were staying in the room around us. And it felt a bit exposed to open the curtains and have someone getting on his bike just a few feet away.
Secondly, its not particularly close to the ferry, which is on the other side of the city. It's still not a super long drive, but the city roads can unexpectedly get backed up for random reasons (like garbage pick up). So, if you plan on taking an early ferry, I look at one of the hotels right by the port.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christinamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy our deluxe queen room. I am certain that you would enjoy our Suites and Villa Unit a lot more.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The room was setup very comfortably and efficient. The breakfast was more than a " continental breakfast". The coffee was better than that found in many of the boutique coffee shops. The laundry facilities were very clean and had large machines. The staff worked hard to help us. When it looked like we were going to arrive after 11pm, they told us how they could leave us a key in the lock box -available only to us. Just a hard working staff trying to be the best! JimK

Room Tip: Quiet, convenient place. Very Little highway noise - easy access to ferries and historic areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
Thank you for the perfect review. We are always glad to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again

Thanks
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Another great stay at our favorite place Anaco Inn with new name . Become our home away from home.Rooms are very clean, staff always extremely friendly and helpful .New breakfast room is pleasant surprise and offering more than adequate. Highly recommended .

Room Tip: Great staff ,Great place!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasshoBellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed our newly remolded breakfast room along with some newly added additions. We hope to see you soon.

Thank you,
Eileen
Sunrise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Our room had an oversized jetted tub but we weren't able to fill it with the hot water, the shower ran out of hot water too. The duvet kept sliding off the bed as we slept and the filling fell down too. The bed was comfy and the people were generally nice. The breakfast was lacking, but the rooms were generally comfy and clean and the bathroom was nice as well.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mistypingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize you weren't able fill your whole tub with hot water. We are working with our contractor to get that fix. It is our new building, that we just opened this April.

Thank you,
Eileen
Sunrise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Beds, bath and room are good and clean. But just outside is a big area for stocking building supplies and there was a lot of loud noise with trucking etc late at night and early in the morning. Breakfast was way too simple for the price - just cereals and drinks, no eggs or meat of any kind, and not even oatmeal. Also it takes a lot of effort and waiting to get front desk attention, which was usually unstaffed and I had to ring the bell every time. Perhaps I was just unlucky given the many good reviews

Room Tip: Definitely visit the Mt Erie park at sunset - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad time. We also apologize that you missed the hard boiled eggs, waffles oatmeal and assorted bagels.

Thank you,
Eileen
Sunrise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anacortes hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.4 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites

Property: Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites
Address: 905 20th St, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-2504 (Formerly Anaco Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming inn on Fidalgo Island with great view and excellent location. Located in the heart of Anacortes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaco Hotel Anacortes
Anaco Motel Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing