We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ship House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What an amazing experience it was staying at The Ship House in the Captains Cabin. Clean, with a wonderful view and the cabin tastefully filled with nautical objects. We loved it and the owner was a real gent. We will come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this place, first time was in the Captain's cabin, and this time in Oar House. Both turns out to be memorable. I took the time this year to travel on my own and spend some time in the tranquility of the place and relax by lying in the hammock and watching the sunset while listening to the waves.
Occassionally the humming birds will storm across.
The owners Oggie and Betty are very friendly people, they have kept the place very clean and put in decor with their pictures that makes you feel welcome.
Breakfast is self-served, it's not hotel quality but that works for me. The breakfast galley faces the waterfront and allows an enjoyable breakfast.
There is Wifi (barely from the rooms but you can get better access from the breakfast galley), but it is supposed to be a place to getaway, so I don't mind.

Room Tip: It is a very romantic place to be, book the Captain's Cabin if you can, you get to use the hammo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OpalCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Ship House Inn is a one of a kind B&B! The scenery and views from The Ship House Inn are breath taking to say the least. From the moment we arrived the nautical theme invited us in and made us feel at home. The Inn Captain Oggie greeted us as we arrived and made us feel like family. The accommodations were neat, clean and comfortable. Anacortes is absolutely beautiful with so many things to do and see. Our stay could not have gone any better. What a memorable experience!! Cannot wait to return!!
Thank You Oggie and everyone at The Ship House Inn

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

While the nautical themed rooms are quite nice, so many other things left a poor impression. The "Continental Breakfast" now consists of some fruit, cereal and then mostly frozen foods that one may microwave or toast. To add "insult to injury", half the frozen items listed on the menu were missing. The room (The Oar House), while quaint, was clammy and damp feeling (as were the bath towels). The view and hammock in the back yard was fantastic but the need to dodge the dog poop was discovered too late (yuck!).

This is NOT on par with other B&B's at this price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Horskrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Ship House - and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in the Captain's cabin. It was clean, quiet, warm and very comfortable. The views are Amazing. Captain Kidd (Oggie) was very helpful and kind.

It is a short drive into town - we prefer to stay at a place that is away from a busy "downtown" (if you could call downtown Anacortes a busy downtown :) ) -- so the Ship House was perfect for what we enjoy on vacation; peace & quiet. And truly beautiful views.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibdinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We spent a night here in this wonderfully unique bed-and-breakfast on our anniversary. The decor was nautically themed and the view out the front window was spectacular. We had the Captain's Cabin with a large king bed - you could actually sit up in bed and see out the front window. There was even a set of binoculars there to gaze at passing boats! You couldn't have asked for nicer hosts - the captain Oggie and his wife and cook Maggie went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was homemade salmon quiche and homemade muffins. Coffee, tea and juice were available any time ... and there was also a fridge with frozen waffles and pancakes, etc... The only thing we didn't like was having to leave the cabin to walk to the Poop Deck (bathroom) but other than that the place was fantastic. A very fun and unique place. We would love to return there again in the summertime when we can sit out on the deck and enjoy a warm evening looking out at an incredible view.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindyloufromwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

If you are looking for a stay with beautiful people, fantastic food, views to die for and great accommodations, then the Ship House is a must. Firstly we were greeted as if we were family, and the 'Captain' and his 'crew' couldn't do enough for us. We were either shown, or advised, on the best views of Anacortes, and were welcomed into their home so much so that we spent little time in our room. Our room, the Oar House, was large, comfortable and self contained. We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our 3 week road trip around Washington and didn't want to leave! The Inn looks out over the bay of the San Juan Islands and boasts stunning sunrises and sunsets. Check it out, because these people have so much to give it is a gift. Thanks Captain and all the crew. Andrew and Debbie from Australia

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redsoxrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anacortes hotels
3.2 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
482 reviews
3.3 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
368 reviews
6.2 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
635 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
407 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#1 of 9 in Anacortes
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12876 Marine Dr, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-8291
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ship House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing