We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded, Noisy, Worth It”
Review of Dad's Diner

Dad's Diner
Ranked #3 of 91 Restaurants in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Vienna, VA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Crowded, Noisy, Worth It”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went for Sunday Brunch. It was very crowded, noisy, and we had to wait a long time for service and to be served. But boy was it worth it!! Food is incredibly tasty. Service is awesome. Love tis place and will go back on every visit to Anacortes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    40
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you are looking for a great breakfast or lunch look no further. Dad's is the place to be. The food and service is exceptional. The food is super fresh. They make the bacon, grind the sausage and burger meat and get breads from a local bakery.

From the moment you walk in the door you are on the radar and sitting in front of a fresh cup of coffee, juice, beer, etc... within a few moments. Rarely do you find a place that has exceptional food and service, it's usually one or the other or neither. These guys do it right!

My wife is gluten free and Dad's has her covered. You can order gluten free toast and they even have gluten free burger buns. And the burgers are really really good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Had a Great Meal With Wonderful Service”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stopped into Dad's Diner a go go while enroute to camping on Whidbey Island. It was a wonderful, clean, quirky space, with casual but attentive lunch service. The waitress offered to make anything al a carte for my 10 year old, and helpfully suggested that the all day breakfast would feed my son and I nicely. DS and I split the breakfast hash with bbq brisket, and my DH had the bacon burger. The hash was fantastic, and came with an excellent biscuit. Yum! DH thought his burger could have been a little more flavourful, but he's picky about his burgers. The burger came with thick cut fries, which we all agreed were excellent. We will definitely stop in again when in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best laid back joint to have some great food!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

What can I say, I love Dad's Diner! Its a very small restaurant in the middle of historic downtown Anacortes, but if you can wait, it is so worth it! They have been serving up some mean BBQ/Smoked beef/pork for some time in Anacortes up the road in an extended food cart. Its so good, they now have a restaurant. The staff and owner are wonderful and personable. The walls are adorned with Dads and the only menu you will find is a big chalkboard on the wall with the days items. Never a disappointment is the HASH! Though I am not a biscuits and gravy gal, MANY people rave about Dad's Diner. Give it a try, I would find it hard to believe, if you came away disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Local Hangout”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were pleased to find this great little diner in downtown historic Anacortes where they brag about the best burger and BLT! We all tried the BLT which was just wonderful and the service atmosphere was friendly and fast!! The menu is on a chalkboard in the middle wall of the diner so go over there and read up before you order. Chowder had some spice and it actually had clams in it! Hearty and yummy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blondedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dad's Diner also viewed

Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Dad's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing