We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, free breakfast, free wifi, basic, and inexpensive.”
Review of The Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marina Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We booked the hotel as just a place to stay on the way to Whistler. I was suspicious when I booked this hotel because it was so cheap. I was pleasantly surprised that it was very clean and the service friendly. We even got chocolate chip cookies upon check in. The one "con" of the hotel is that you can hear everyone around you taking a shower and flushing the toilet, but if you can sleep through that, it is a great value and we would book it again. Anacortes is much more charming than staying on I5.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 407 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed one night since we had an all day presentation the next day. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Rooms were fine. Very quiet. I like fresh air and it was not possible to open a window. Also, I was looking forward to yogurt for breakfast and all they had was Yogurt with aspartane which is not acceptable to me. From the other reviews, I thought the extended continental breakfast would have been more enticing. I would, however, stay here again. For the price, the accommodations were fine. It would have been helpful to have had a print center available. Wireless free Internet in the room was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gungab, Manager at The Marina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay. I'm sorry to hear you had a problem with the window in your room. I assure you that windows open in all of our rooms. We have a 24 hour front desk in order to resolve any issues guests may have. We look forward to having you stay again. Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would rather stay at this hotel than other big chain names. It is personable and met every need.It is an older hotel, but has been refurbished.It was close to catch the ferry to Canada as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCTNGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is a basic motel with inside corridors at the south end of the Commercial Avenue commercial strip. You will pass it on the way to downtown. It is close to several restaurants. Rooms are pleasant and the manager and desk clerks friendly and helpful. Fast free internet service and free cable TV including premium channels. Cookies at checkin. Breakfast is included and is the usual selection of breads, pastries, yogurt, cereals, and fruit. The decor is basic and it is not a luxury hotel, but it is a good place to stay. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Plenty of towels and hot water, good shower, and nice amenities. The heat/AC unit has the compressor outside and is very quiet, a plus for us. We enjoyed our stay there and can recommend it. Only slight negative was that we could hear the people upstairs from us clumping around.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The Marina Inn represents excellent value by providing good, clean and reasonable accomodations to travelers. Enjoyed our stay there. Friendly, professional service and OK continental breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Synergy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My husband and I planned our Wedding at Anthonys resturant and for all our guest to stay at the Marina Inn. We were all so pleased with this hotel, easy check in, yummy cookies, complimentary breakfast ( with fresh fruit and yogurt my favorite ) open from 6-9:30 very nice. Each room has a fridge, microwave, coffee pot and TV with free wifi. You could tell this hotel had been upgraded within the pass 6 years. The most comfortable beds- Ours had an added floral heart on the bed and chilled Champagne in the fridge with champange glasses- for us honeymooners. How sweet is that ? Yes it was nice to have our family and friends rave about the place we chose. Only 2 miles from downtown and the ferry, but enough distance to keep it quiet at night. The kids loved the park a block away, our fitness friends loved the walking trails all over. We all went to see Mt. Erie, Washington Park, Deception Pass and some late night gambling at the casino. Thank you Staff and on site Manager Pam for the wonderful time and experience. Mr. and Mrs. Sanchez

Room Tip: Let them know ahead of time if its a special event. Also if you have 10 or more rooms for added disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Living In the San Juan Islands we decided to treat ourselves to a 2 day 'holiday' in Anacortes and chose the Marina Inn to stay at since we had a "Stay 2 nights and get 50% off the 2nd night" coupon for this property. It was a poor choice and we won't repeat it.

I very reluctantly give this property an "average" 3-bubble rating and consider it to be on the lowest possible edge of "average". (My personal choice would be a 2 1/2!)

SERVICE: Nothing special ... nothing terrible. They do their job and nothing more. 3 STARS ***

VALUE: You get less overall than what you pay for. At the standard rates for the standard Queen room with 2 beds I would/should expect more. Hence: 2 STARS **

SLEEP QUALITY: One is surrounded by noise from above and to each side. The wall were obviously made of tissue paper. And then to top it all off the cleaning staff is busy with their vacuums in the hallways at 7 am sharp! Forget about a good night's sleep. 2 STARS **

CLEANLINESS: Enough just to get by ... like everything else here. 3 STARS ***

LOCATION: Like every other property in Anacortes everything is easily reached despite being located on the south end of town. FOUR STARS ****

ROOMS: The standard Queen rooms are extremely small and cramped. Bathrooms likewise. Once you bring your luggage in you are out of room and basically have to wiggle around the beds to make your way through the room. If the room size was doubled they might be tolerable. There is a really small table with basic chairs, but that is it. Don't expect to 'kick back' and relax in your room: it is not designed such luxury. (The King rooms might have more space since there is only one bed?) 2 STARS **

BREAKFAST: Plain, cold, and disappointing. But edible. 2 STARS **

GROUNDS: Probably the sole redeeming factor of the property. Well maintained and clean. 4 STARS ****

So: if what you want are the bare basics and nothing else then this is the ideal place for you. It didn't work for me though. Other properties are available in Anacortes for the same price (or just a touch more) where you can get a nice room, a restful sleep, and a real breakfast.

Unfortunately, I won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank orioncreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacortes
2.9 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
147 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Inn

Address: 3300 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anacortes
#2 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range: $78 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Marina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the San Juan Islands archipelago, The Marina Inn is conveniently located in Anacortes, WA on Fidalgo Island. The Marina Inn is close to downtown restaurants, shops and Marinas. Minutes from the ferry. Exceptionally friendly staff, remodeled rooms, comfortable beds, feather pillows, free wireless internet, complimentary expanded continental breakfast,air-conditioned rooms, cable TV, guest laundry and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marina Hotel Anacortes
Marina Hotel Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing