We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here If You Expect To Be Respected”
Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Juan Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here If You Expect To Be Respected”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I am still here (Tues) because I paid for another full week 2days ago on Sun. I'd been here the week prior also & am here as my company sent me Anacortes Wa as I work in refineries & must travel to stay working due to the econ... so cost/commute helped me pick this motel & the closer motel to work was already booked up with coworkers. When I pulled up there was not a car to be seen & I heard "shimmy" (sp?) an employee say that they were dead all week, but I was denied the 1st flr I reserved (due to tools, groc., etc.) for which no excuse or apology was given. Anyway, an extended stay or chain it is not.. it is worn around the edges for sure... peeling paint etc... but I was only looking for a place to sleep & eat after working the nightshift for 12+ hours... so my expectations were minimal & yet they failed!
They will not leave me alone during the day... entering my room while I am sleeping & when I am gone to fix a water heater that heats the room below me which the mngr Rhani says is her best room so she needs to rent it (don't I matter? I paid!)... Not every room has a water heater... the whole place is empty... I told her when I made the resv I worked nights & wanted to be undisturbed.. so why put me in a room with a crappy water heater that heats water for several rooms??? Idiots! I should have known when I asked for a Do Not Disturb sign at check in & was told they dont have them. I told them my shift hours last week & that I dont want to be disturbed to have my room cleaned in the morning or early afternoon as I am sleeping... but by 10am they are calling me every 15 min & banging on the door to come in... the mngr thought she was being real funny when she accused me of being a terrorist and asked me if "I was building something in there"... Today she barged into the room while while I was sleeping in my bed (undressed) & forced me from the room to let her worker fix the water heater again!! I was pushed out before I could take my meds (diabetes)... when I came back they were now cleaning & wouldn't leave... my belongings had been moved & rifled through including my laptop, magazines, unplugged my alarm clock, & touched my medications... And they told me they will come back in my room again when I leave against my wishes!!! I feel totally violated!!!
I have a physically demanding job that is extremely dangerous... I have made that clear & yet they will not let me sleep in peace... I have been dragging myself in to work tired because I need more that 2hours here & 3 hours there... especially being a diabetic.
I should also mention that the Wi-Fi went out last week... first they denied there was problem & then they called back a few days later to say it was fixed... it worked for a day & has been out since. I have a young son at home & we use Skype when I travel (homework/catching up on his day) & I cant see him because they fail to provide the services they advertise are included in the room rate... And the cable TV.... it sucks too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank metal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    8
    7
    31
See reviews for
19
17
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My partner and I were going to Victoria for the weekend and made the last-minute decision to spend the night closer to the ferry so we wouldn't have to wake up at 4am. After finding out Mount Vernon was giving a key to the city to Glenn Beck, we opted to stay in Anacortes.

Don't kid yourself. The vast majority of this place's business is made up of people who just need a place to sleep before catching the ferry the next day. The owners know this, and you should be aware of it as well.

The room was far from what I would consider "nice." The ceiling had some water damage, the paint on the wall was cracking, and the carpet could probably stand to be replaced. But for $80 and being much closer to the ferry terminal, it was worth it. The bed was clean and there was free wifi, though the signal reliability was spotty after about 11pm. We didn't shower because we wanted to maximize the amount of sleep we got while also getting to the terminal as early as possible, so I can't really comment on the bathroom quality. There was also a stove and microwave, but we had no use for either. There's a Safeway and another local market just a few blocks away, as well as what looked like a number of diners/restaurants along the main street (the motel is just one block off the main street).

Bottom line, this place is fine. It's decently priced and in a pretty good location for catching the ferry. It's not the best motel I've ever stayed in, but it's FAR from the worst.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdogg241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Coming to Anacortes, having read the reviews on this website, I stayed away from the San Juan and booked a reservation elsewhere. However, due to problems with our reservation at another hotel, we were forced to go elsewhere. The first place we drove by was the San Juan. It looked decent enough, so we decided to have a look. Walking into the front office, we could see it was a family-run place. We asked to have a look at a room before paying, and the front desk was more than happy to share. Our first impression was that the room was HUGE. The furniture was spaced. The walls were brick, and welcome. They gave us a cool feeling for the hot summers day. The kitchenette was there, but we had no use for it. There was nothing spectacular about the room. It was just a basic clean room, so we took it.

Our stay was eventless, other than my daughters walking across the street to the movie theater to watch Harry Potter. It is in downtown Anacortes, so the lack of a restaurant or continental breakfast was made up by its proximity to great affordable dining. The brewery was only 2 blocks away, with the Rock Fish Grill next door. We enjoyed breakfast at Calico Cupboard. Both restaurants were recommended by the friendly staff. The greatest joy of our trip was discovering the guest multi-purpose room. It has laundry facilities, which would be perfect, for families on road trips, and any clothes mishap for businesspeople, and an ice machine, perfect during the hot weather. The vending machine, in addition to cola's, also had orange juice, complimented with the free coffee in our room, and free reliable wifi was perfect after a long day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jess2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

It's just disgusting: the furniture (worm out/ fatty), the blanket (with several big marks of blood etc. ...) etc. etc. ... Staying just one night here (just to catch the ferry to Vancouver Island in the morning) > was 1 night to much. We prefered our sleeping bags even the linen was clean. And: it's not a question of the stuff cleans here - they apparently did a good job. It's a question of the owner (not to replace the very old disgusting stuff...). The price is really bold for what you get for!
Read reviews - they are correct.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiggiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anacortes hotels

tadb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The beds are old, doors don't close, walls are thin. Read reviews before you book. They are correct.

  • Liked — They had mints in the check-in lobby.
  • Disliked — the noise leve.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranijee, Owner at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2008
At the time of this visitors stay, the beds are all under two years old. The walls between each room are made of concrete.

If the customer had notified us at the time of their stay that the beds were uncomfortable, we would have offered him another room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison hot springs, B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Had a great stay, managment was excellant and looked after all my needs. will return for another visit soon.

  • Liked — secutity
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bradweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Rooms are nice, reasonable size, clean, good condition with new kitchenettes, WiFi and HBOs, and the price is quite reasonable. New paint job outside and landscaping. Good location as well, just a few miles from the ferry terminal.

  • Liked — WiFi
  • Disliked — No Frills
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank S3stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anacortes hotels
1.5 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
6.0 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Property: San Juan Motel
Address: 1103 6th St, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-1719
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Juan Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Anacortes, exactly 3.5 miles from San Juan/Sidney B.C. Ferry. Situated near a variety of restaurants, this quiet motel is great for short-term and long-term guests. Rooms offer King or Queen-sized beds and brand new Stainless Steel Kitchenettes. All rooms include Satellite TV + 4 HBOs, WiFi, In Room Courtesy Coffee and Free Local calls. Amenities also include, Non-Smoking and Smoking Rooms, Daily Maid Service, Ice Machine and Laundry Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing